Skip to main content
Quinn Hughes #43 of the Vancouver Canucks shoots as we look at the top 2024 Norris Trophy odds
Quinn Hughes #43 of the Vancouver Canucks shoots against the Washington Capitals at Capital One Arena. Photo by Patrick Smith/Getty Images via AFP.

Quinn Hughes pulled away as the consensus favorite to win the 2024 Norris Trophy odds among our best sports betting sites based on the latest NHL odds as the season wound down. 

Our best sportsbooks finished in lockstep, listing Vancouver Canucks defenseman Quinn Hughes as the consensus favorite to win the 2024 James Norris Trophy.  While the award is supposed to be for the league's best defenseman, it's widely known that it is doled out to the NHL's best offensive defenseman. 

Hughes was the favorite for most of the season, and his odds remained pretty steady over the end of the season. He closed as short as -588 at BetMGM, with our other sites listing him between -500 and -550. 

Only Cale Makar had any chance of overcoming the deficit. Makar, the 2021-22 Norris winner, was the second favorite most of the season.

Here’s an analysis of the 2024 Norris Trophy odds across our best NHL betting sites at the conclusion of the regular season.

Norris Trophy odds 2024 

(Norris Trophy odds updated as of April 3, **Caesars odds as of March 29)

Quinn Hughes-500 -550-588-500 
Cale Makar+450 +450 +350+400
Roman Josi+1800 πŸ”₯+1900+2000+2000 
Evan Bouchard+2500 πŸ”₯+5000+5000+5000
Noah Dobson+5000 +5000 +5000+5000 
Miro Heiskanen+5000 πŸ”₯N/A+10000 β„️+6600
Victor Hedman+5000 +5000+5000+5000 β„️
Charlie McAvoy+7500 πŸ”₯+10000 +10000+10000 
Josh Morrissey+7500 +9500 +10000+7500
Adam Fox+7500 πŸ”₯+9500 +8000+10000 

Norris Trophy favorites

Quinn Hughes (-588 via BetMGM)

For years, the Norris Trophy has been skewed toward the league's best offensive defenseman. Hughes led all blueliners with 92 points (17g, 75a), two points ahead of Makar (although he played five more games).

His defensive stats are somewhat lacking - he certainly doesn't block many shots or lay many hits. But that hasn't been what this award is typically about, and his odds have shortened as the oddsmakers believe the point production is enough to get it done. 

The 24-year-old has the most even-strength points (54) of all defensemen, is second in power-play points (38), and is fourth with a +38. The highest plus/minus of the last four Norris Trophy winners was Makar, with +48 in 2022, and while Hughes finished short of that, he did have the best plus/minus of any Norris contender.

Hughes had two helpers on March 5, becoming just the fourth blueliner in NHL history to record three straight 60-assist seasons, joining Ray Bourque, Bobby Orr, and Paul Coffey. 

Cale Makar (+350 via BetMGM)

Makar finished just two points behind Hughes atop the defense scoring chart. As the season wrapped up, BetMGM offered odds of +350, an implied win probability of 22.22%. 

The disparity is probably too large for the former Norris Trophy winner. 

Roman Josi (+2000 via BetMGM)

Josi has returned from oblivion, ascending the Norris Trophy odds leaderboard faster than Connor McDavid accumulates assists. As of March 6, Josi had moved from +7500 to +1600 at bet365. However, he did slip a little as the season wrapped up.

Nonetheless, his rise back to prominence was awe-inspiring, as he finished with 85 points in 82 games, good for third among d-men.

2024 Norris Trophy opening odds

Cale Makar+225
Adam Fox+600
Rasmus Dahlin+800
Quinn Hughes+1000
Miro Heiskanen+1100
Charlie McAvoy+1400
Dougie Hamilton+1600
Erik Karlsson+1600
Roman Josi +1800
Josh Morrissey+2000
Victor Hedman+2200
John Carlson+3500
Moritz Seider+3500
Evan Bouchard+4000
Jakob Chychrun+4000
Brandon Montour+6600
Brent Burns+6600
Devon Toews+6600
Luke Hughes+6600
Owen Power+6600

Recent Norris Trophy winners

2022-23Erik KarlssonSan Jose Sharks+8000
2021-22Cale MakarColorado Avalanche+400
2020-21Adam FoxNew York Rangers+3500
2019-20Roman JosiNashville Predators+1600
2018-19Mark GiordanoCalgary FlamesN/A
2017-18Victor HedmanTampa Bay Lightning+650
2016-17Brent BurnsSan Jose Sharks+700
2015-16Drew DoughtyLos Angeles Kings+500
2014-15Erik KarlssonSan Jose Sharks+400
2013-14Duncan KeithChicago Blackhawks+1200

NHL betting odds pages

Norris Trophy FAQ

Who is the Norris Trophy favorite?

Vancouver Canucks defenseman Quinn Hughes closed as the massive favorite for the 2023-24 Norris Trophy, with his odds trading as short as -588. 

Who won the Norris Trophy last year?

Former San Jose Sharks defenseman Erik Karlsson (now with the Pittsburgh Penguins) won the Norris Trophy for the 2022-23 season, finishing ahead of Adam Fox of the New York Rangers and Cale Makar of the Colorado Avalanche.

When will the Norris Trophy be decided?

Votes from the Professional Hockey Writers' Association must be filed before the Stanley Cup playoffs begin. The end of the 2023-24 regular season is Thursday, April 18.

Here are our best NHL betting sites:

(21+. Gambling Problem? Call 1-800-GAMBLER)
* Bonuses not applicable in Ontario.

Related pages