Skip to main content
Shedeur Sanders of the Colorado Buffaloes rushes for a touchdown as we look at the early 2024 college football lines.
Shedeur Sanders of the Colorado Buffaloes rushes for a touchdown in the second quarter against the USC Trojans. Dustin Bradford/Getty Images/AFP.

While the college football season is still several months away, it's never too early to get in on the action. We look at the early 2024 college football odds and lines based on the best college football odds and determine which bets are worth making right away.

The 2024 college football season figures to be as interesting as ever after a busy coaching cycle. Three of the four teams that made the CFP last year will have new head coaches, while plenty more rosters went through some serious overhaul with the transfer portal.

To top it off, the College Football Playoff is expanding to 12 teams this season. While that decision will make regular-season games less important, it does open the door for more national championship odds long-shots.

Our best sports betting apps have capitalized on the excitement by releasing early college football lines for several marquee matchups in 2024. We have sifted through these odds to determine the best early bets, mainly to gain some closing line value.

Here's our look at the early college football odds and lines for 2024 season (odds via our best college football betting sites).

Early 2024 college football odds & lines

MatchupDateFavoriteUnderdog
Florida State vs. Georgia TechAug. 24, 2024FSU -12.5GT +12.5
North Dakota State vs. ColoradoAug. 31, 2024CU -8.5 (-108)NDSU +8.5 (-112)
Notre Dame vs. Texas A&MAug. 31, 2024A&M -1.5ND +1.5
Clemson vs. GeorgiaAug. 31, 2024UGA -12.5CLEM +12.5
LSU vs. USCSept. 1, 2024LSU -6USC +6
Texas vs. MichiganSept. 7, 2024UT -2.5 (-115)UM +2.5 (-105)
Georgia vs. AlabamaSept. 28, 2024UGA -3.5 (-115)BAMA +3.5 (-105)
Michigan vs. WashingtonOct. 5, 2024UM -11.5 (-115)WASH +11.5 (-105)
Texas vs. OklahomaOct. 12, 2024UT -10.5OU +10.5
Ohio State vs. OregonOct. 12, 2024ORE -1.5 (-102)OSU +1.5 (-120)
Georgia vs. TexasOct. 19, 2024UGA -1.5 (-104)UT +1.5 (-118)
Georgia vs. MississippiNov. 9, 2024UGA -3.5MISS +3.5
Alabama vs. LSUNov. 9, 2024LSU -2.5BAMA +2.5
Michigan vs. Ohio StateNov. 30, 2024OSU -6.5 (-122)UM +.65 (+100)

CFB games we're looking to bet early

Colorado -8.5 vs. NDSU ⭐⭐⭐

best odds: -108 via FanDuel

As explained in our Colorado win total odds, the market might underrate this team after a poor finish last year. The Buffaloes only notched one win after a 3-0 start to the 2023 season, but it's easy to forget this team had won just one game the previous season. We expect the Buffs to make a significant jump in Deion Sanders' second season at the helm.

For one, quarterback Shedeur Sanders is back after opting out of the NFL Draft. He has serious Heisman odds potential after throwing for 3,230 yards and 27 touchdowns a season ago. There is no shortage of offensive weapons at his disposal, including two-way star Travis Hunter.

Colorado is returning to the Big 12 this season, but a game against North Dakota State is a reasonable opener compared to its matchup with TCU in Week 1 last year. The Bison finished as the No. 2 team in the FCS, according to SP+ final rankings. Colorado should win this game by double-digits.

Not intended for use in MA
Affiliate Disclosure: Sportsbook Review may receive advertising commissions for visits to a sportsbook

Oklahoma +10.5 vs. Texas ⭐⭐⭐

best odds: -110 via FanDuel

This line feels like an overreaction to Texas being back after notching a Big 12 title and CFP berth last season. Only four points separated these teams on a neutral field last year when Oklahoma secured a 34-30 victory as a 4-point underdog.

The Longhorns will likely have more immediate success in the SEC, but the Sooners are certainly a competent program. Quarterback Dillon Gabriel might have transferred to Oregon, but Jackson Arnold has plenty of pedigree and might have even put pressure on Gabriel in a QB battle during fall camp.

Speaking of which, Texas has its own potential QB battle between Quinn Ewers and Arch Manning. The former was the team's signal-caller all last season, but Manning might be more of a factor this year after redshirting as a freshman.

With this game in Cotton Bowl Stadium, we like the idea of catching a full 10.5-point spread with an Oklahoma team that has won five of the last six meetings against Texas.

Oregon ML vs. Ohio State ⭐⭐⭐⭐

best odds: -106 via FanDuel

In our college football championship picks and predictions, we made the case for betting on Oregon to win the national title. Dan Lanning is building something special, so he turned down the opportunity to coach at Alabama to continue leading the Ducks.

Oregon heads to the Big Ten this season and should immediately be among the top teams in the conference. A home matchup with Ohio State will be a good litmus test, as the Buckeyes have won five of the last 10 league titles.

No team has won the offseason quite like Ohio State, thanks to its additions via the transfer portal. But it's fair to question this team's upside with Will Howard at quarterback, considering he was often criticized for his play with Kansas State. The same concerns aren't there for Oregon, which brought in Gabriel and Dante Moore (UCLA) to replace Bo Nix.

The market is sleeping on the Ducks and overrating the Buckeyes. Take advantage of these reduced moneyline odds on the home team.

College football odds pages

Here are our best college football betting sites:

(21+. Gambling Problem? Call 1-800-GAMBLER)
* Bonuses not applicable in Ontario.

Related pages