So Dez Bryant makes a catch and takes 3 steps before hitting the ground.. now it isnt

Collapse
X
 
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts
  • playersonly69
    SBR Posting Legend
    • 01-04-08
    • 12827

    #1
    So Dez Bryant makes a catch and takes 3 steps before hitting the ground.. now it isnt
    So after 3 steps and getting touched by the opponent he goes to the ground and it isn't a catch??? penetrating bullshit
  • Petey Wheatstraw
    SBR MVP
    • 05-09-12
    • 1038

    #2
    Very penetrating bullshit.
    Comment
    • tony_come
      SBR Posting Legend
      • 03-31-10
      • 21695

      #3
      Agree
      Comment
      • DiggityDaggityDo
        SBR Aristocracy
        • 11-30-08
        • 81450

        #4
        What happened?

        Did they lose?
        Comment
        • frostno98
          SBR Hall of Famer
          • 09-11-07
          • 9769

          #5
          Yeah that was a catch. That rule only applies when you haven't made a move and went straight to the ground.
          Comment
          • JJJ
            SBR MVP
            • 05-03-11
            • 2610

            #6
            your a little late on this one
            Originally posted by playersonly69
            So after 3 steps and getting touched by the opponent he goes to the ground and it isn't a catch??? penetrating bullshit
            Comment
            • Booya711
              BARRELED IN @ SBR!
              • 12-20-11
              • 27329

              #7
              There was NFL yesterday?
              Comment
              • TheMoneyShot
                BARRELED IN @ SBR!
                • 02-14-07
                • 28672

                #8
                Been watching this catch over and over on replay... I blame Dez Bryant... he leaped too early. If he's such a bad ass receiver... he should of timed his jump better... never would of stumbled... and everything would of been fine. Would of walked right into the end zone.
                Comment
                • MoMoneyMoVaughn
                  SBR Posting Legend
                  • 05-08-14
                  • 14988

                  #9
                  Just the universe balancing out that Pass Interference blunder last week.
                  Comment
                  • Petey Wheatstraw
                    SBR MVP
                    • 05-09-12
                    • 1038

                    #10
                    Green Bay's next then, holding the hot potato. F 'em.
                    Comment
                    • trytrytry
                      SBR Posting Legend
                      • 03-13-06
                      • 23650

                      #11
                      been upset with cowboys since drew PEarson cheated on push off against Nate Wright.. too bad cowgirls...I can die peacefully now..
                      Comment
                      • Ghenghis Kahn
                        SBR Posting Legend
                        • 01-02-12
                        • 19734

                        #12
                        whether it was a catch or not, KARMA IS A FUKKING BITCH!!!

                        not just in football but in life. remember that...
                        Comment
                        • TwoWays
                          SBR Posting Legend
                          • 03-24-10
                          • 13145

                          #13
                          Dez Bryant grabbing too much attention. The blame should be on romo and his end of the half blowup. Guy ended up creating a 6 point swing for the packers. That margin is the game. Romo = choke
                          Comment
                          • Ted Sheckler
                            SBR MVP
                            • 01-08-14
                            • 1936

                            #14
                            Any vids of play you're talking about?
                            Comment
                            • playersonly69
                              SBR Posting Legend
                              • 01-04-08
                              • 12827

                              #15
                              There is not a video of the catch, just take my word for it
                              Comment
                              • sourtwist
                                SBR Hall of Famer
                                • 11-10-12
                                • 9364

                                #16
                                Originally posted by TheMoneyShot
                                Been watching this catch over and over on replay... I blame Dez Bryant... he leaped too early. If he's such a bad ass receiver... he should of timed his jump better... never would of stumbled... and everything would of been fine. Would of walked right into the end zone.
                                SHOULD HAVE

                                WOULD HAVE

                                C'mon money
                                Comment
                                • Petey Wheatstraw
                                  SBR MVP
                                  • 05-09-12
                                  • 1038

                                  #17
                                  Cowboys 6 rings.

                                  As most as any.

                                  fya
                                  Comment
                                  • boeing power
                                    SBR Hall of Famer
                                    • 03-23-10
                                    • 9698

                                    #18
                                    Comment
                                    • Dirty Sanchez
                                      SBR Posting Legend
                                      • 03-01-10
                                      • 16031

                                      #19
                                      ....
                                      Comment
                                      • Chi_archie
                                        SBR Aristocracy
                                        • 07-22-08
                                        • 63172

                                        #20
                                        rule has been around awhile
                                        Comment
                                        • degeneratedog
                                          Restricted User
                                          • 01-04-15
                                          • 3

                                          #21
                                          Originally posted by Petey Wheatstraw
                                          Green Bay's next then, holding the hot potato. F 'em.
                                          Simultaneous catch call at end of game again?
                                          Comment
                                          • pavyracer
                                            SBR Aristocracy
                                            • 04-12-07
                                            • 82839

                                            #22
                                            Ball can't hit the ground unless hand is under the ball. His hand was not under the ball.
                                            Comment
                                            • Petey Wheatstraw
                                              SBR MVP
                                              • 05-09-12
                                              • 1038

                                              #23
                                              [QUOTE=Chi_archie;23387803]rule has been around awhile



                                              But it was in the end zone SFB.
                                              Comment
                                              • Chi_archie
                                                SBR Aristocracy
                                                • 07-22-08
                                                • 63172

                                                #24
                                                Originally posted by Petey Wheatstraw
                                                But it was in the end zone SFB.

                                                and?
                                                Comment
                                                • Thor4140
                                                  SBR Posting Legend
                                                  • 02-09-08
                                                  • 22296

                                                  #25
                                                  Originally posted by Ghenghis Kahn
                                                  whether it was a catch or not, KARMA IS A FUKKING BITCH!!!

                                                  not just in football but in life. remember that...
                                                  One time i was at the Bank's drive thru in my old lady's Mercedes. She was the passenger. I got my money and was overpaid 300 dollars. I go back around and back thru the drive thru and tell the young teller that she gave me 300 to much. She was so thankful. I leave and cut the corner to sharp and ruin my girls rim. Set me back 300. Is it possible i have reverse karma? Or maybe Karma is just a bunch of bullshit?
                                                  Comment
                                                  • d2bets
                                                    BARRELED IN @ SBR!
                                                    • 08-10-05
                                                    • 39995

                                                    #26
                                                    Originally posted by Chi_archie
                                                    and?
                                                    And so there is no football move to be made in the endzone. There is when the ball is caught at the 5 yard line. Polar opposites.
                                                    Comment
                                                    • Chi_archie
                                                      SBR Aristocracy
                                                      • 07-22-08
                                                      • 63172

                                                      #27
                                                      http://static.nfl.com/static/content...ass_Fumble.pdf

                                                      N.F.L. Rule 8, Section 1, Article 3, Item 1: Going to the ground.If a player goes to the ground in the act of catching a pass (with or without contact by an opponent), he must maintain control of the ball after he touches the ground, whether in the field of play or the end zone. If he loses control of the ball, and the ball touches the ground before he regains control, the pass is incomplete. If he regains control prior to the ball touching the ground, the pass is complete.
                                                      Comment
                                                      • Brooks
                                                        SBR Wise Guy
                                                        • 08-24-05
                                                        • 866

                                                        #28
                                                        Originally posted by Chi_archie
                                                        http://static.nfl.com/static/content...ass_Fumble.pdf

                                                        N.F.L. Rule 8, Section 1, Article 3, Item 1: Going to the ground.If a player goes to the ground in the act of catching a pass (with or without contact by an opponent), he must maintain control of the ball after he touches the ground, whether in the field of play or the end zone. If he loses control of the ball, and the ball touches the ground before he regains control, the pass is incomplete. If he regains control prior to the ball touching the ground, the pass is complete.

                                                        thanks for the rule. nothing to do with bryants catch yesterday tho
                                                        Comment
                                                        • Chi_archie
                                                          SBR Aristocracy
                                                          • 07-22-08
                                                          • 63172

                                                          #29
                                                          he went to ground and didn't maintain control when ball touched ground..... simple


                                                          not a great rule 100% of time but thats what it is
                                                          Comment
                                                          • d2bets
                                                            BARRELED IN @ SBR!
                                                            • 08-10-05
                                                            • 39995

                                                            #30
                                                            Originally posted by Chi_archie
                                                            he went to ground and didn't maintain control when ball touched ground..... simple


                                                            not a great rule 100% of time but thats what it is
                                                            You are missing the key phrase that this is all about, which is "if a player goes to the ground IN THE ACT OF CATCHING A PASS..." That is what we are debating. I'm saying that he caught the pass, had clear control, stepped with right foot, stepped with left foot, tucked ball under left wrist, stepped right foot again, then reached left arm with ball toward goal line. He had already caught the pass and then did all of that before going to the ground. That s not "in the act of". Going to ground in the act was always intended to cover leaps and dives, not this situation. And it doesn't IMHO. But the meaning of "in the act of" is sufficiently ambiguous for you to further your position that it was all part of the same act. And I will disagree. Capish?
                                                            Comment
                                                            • Chi_archie
                                                              SBR Aristocracy
                                                              • 07-22-08
                                                              • 63172

                                                              #31
                                                              well
                                                              Comment
                                                              • opie1988
                                                                SBR Posting Legend
                                                                • 09-12-10
                                                                • 23429

                                                                #32
                                                                Archie....I understand it's a rule. And no amount if arguing is gonna change things.

                                                                But the fact that yankee jew prikk jerkoff Mike Perieira has an opinion on it doesn't mean a motherfukkin thing.

                                                                He's a Cowboy hater.
                                                                Comment
                                                                • The Kraken
                                                                  BARRELED IN @ SBR!
                                                                  • 12-25-11
                                                                  • 28918

                                                                  #33
                                                                  It was an obvious catch, really no debate. Anyone saying it wasn't is either a hater or a troll

                                                                  Dallas was obviously robbed by the rules
                                                                  Comment
                                                                  • trevor123698
                                                                    SBR MVP
                                                                    • 12-26-09
                                                                    • 1071

                                                                    #34
                                                                    Originally posted by Ghenghis Kahn
                                                                    whether it was a catch or not, KARMA IS A FUKKING BITCH!!!

                                                                    not just in football but in life. remember that...
                                                                    Karma doesn't exist fool
                                                                    Comment
                                                                    • bigtymer56
                                                                      SBR MVP
                                                                      • 07-31-12
                                                                      • 4742

                                                                      #35
                                                                      Originally posted by TheMoneyShot
                                                                      Been watching this catch over and over on replay... I blame Dez Bryant... he leaped too early. If he's such a bad ass receiver... he should of timed his jump better... never would of stumbled... and everything would of been fine. Would of walked right into the end zone.
                                                                      Lmao....you cant be serious.
                                                                      Comment
                                                                      Search
                                                                      Collapse
                                                                      SBR Contests
                                                                      Collapse
                                                                      Top-Rated US Sportsbooks
                                                                      Collapse
                                                                      Working...