what a fck job

Collapse
X
 
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts
  • d2bets
    BARRELED IN @ SBR!
    • 08-10-05
    • 39995

    #36
    Originally posted by face
    yes I know briguy, but if you watch the play he takes 3 solid steps, I think the ball is allowed to pop out after that, and then it's a fumble, that's what I'm saying.
    Actually it wouldn't be a fumble in this case because he was DOWN (elbow and forearm) before the ball came out).
    Comment
    • face
      SBR Posting Legend
      • 01-31-11
      • 14740

      #37
      well, it's a judgment call, I'm moving on. I thought he had control of it for 2 steps, but what are you gonna do?
      Comment
      • BriGuy
        SBR MVP
        • 12-06-11
        • 1556

        #38
        Originally posted by face
        yes I know briguy, but if you watch the play he takes 3 solid steps, I think the ball is allowed to pop out after that, and then it's a fumble, that's what I'm saying.
        No he doesn't take 3 sold steps. He is airborne when he catches the ball. He lands first on his left foot. Sorry but that's not considered a step. He then goes to his right foot so we can call that one step. Then he goes down without his feet touching the ground again until after rolling over and having lost possession.

        NFL rules say in such a situation you have to complete the process for it to be ruled a completion. Here are a few angles showing my take on what happened is true.

        Comment
        • d2bets
          BARRELED IN @ SBR!
          • 08-10-05
          • 39995

          #39
          Originally posted by BriGuy
          Except he didn't take 2 steps. He took 1 step and fell to the ground. The rules say you have to complete the process of the catch and he didn't.

          And I say this as someone who bet on the over and wanted Dallas to score.
          See, and that's where reasonable minds are going to differ. To me, he took 2.5 steps and then reached out to get it over the goal line but the ball hit the ground (after his elbow/arm) before it reached the goal line. It's not one of these playes where the receiver dove to catch or jumped high and went straight down to the ground. That is what this rule it intended for. On a leap/dive and fall. Here, he leaped, but he came down with two feet and then another couple steps forward plus a stretch.

          I am becoming even more convinced that they made the wrong call.
          Comment
          • sumtingwong
            SBR High Roller
            • 11-25-14
            • 136

            #40
            Karma
            Comment
            • Auto Donk
              SBR Aristocracy
              • 09-03-13
              • 43558

              #41
              FACE has it right..... everyone pretty much agrees he took THREE mother f'n steps........ and he was trying to extend the ball into the end fck'n zone..... dumbass shoulda just kept it close and taken the ball at the one instead of goin for the t.d. .... but he never dreamed those dumbfcks they call refs would say he didn't make a clean catch.......... as i said...... it's a f'n fck job!
              Comment
              • BriGuy
                SBR MVP
                • 12-06-11
                • 1556

                #42
                Originally posted by d2bets
                Actually it wouldn't be a fumble in this case because he was DOWN (elbow and forearm) before the ball came out).
                True story: When I first saw it I thought it should have been a touchdown since I didn't think he caught the ball until he rolled over and was on his back in the end zone. You're not considered down by contact if you're still juggling the ball.

                But then I saw the reverse angle that not only did he juggle the ball, but it also kissed the ground while he was doing so. I knew it would be no catch.
                Comment
                • Auto Donk
                  SBR Aristocracy
                  • 09-03-13
                  • 43558

                  #43
                  Originally posted by d2bets
                  See, and that's where reasonable minds are going to differ. To me, he took 2.5 steps and then reached out to get it over the goal line but the ball hit the ground (after his elbow/arm) before it reached the goal line. It's not one of these playes where the receiver dove to catch or jumped high and went straight down to the ground. That is what this rule it intended for. On a leap/dive and fall. Here, he leaped, but he came down with two feet and then another couple steps forward plus a stretch.

                  I am becoming even more convinced that they made the wrong call.
                  very well put.........

                  i guess ol gay boy rodgers can go home happy and let his little trainer give it to him up the ass to celebrate being given the win.....
                  Comment
                  • BriGuy
                    SBR MVP
                    • 12-06-11
                    • 1556

                    #44
                    Originally posted by Auto Donk
                    FACE has it right..... everyone pretty much agrees he took THREE mother f'n steps........
                    The only people that agree on that are people who haven't looked at the replay. He takes one step.

                    Comment
                    • d2bets
                      BARRELED IN @ SBR!
                      • 08-10-05
                      • 39995

                      #45
                      Originally posted by BriGuy
                      True story: When I first saw it I thought it should have been a touchdown since I didn't think he caught the ball until he rolled over and was on his back in the end zone. You're not considered down by contact if you're still juggling the ball.

                      But then I saw the reverse angle that not only did he juggle the ball, but it also kissed the ground while he was doing so. I knew it would be no catch.
                      Nope. There was no "juggling" until the ball tocuhed the ground, which happened after he had control and after his elbow/forearm had touched down. So no, that's not juggling.
                      Comment
                      • Gonz312
                        SBR MVP
                        • 01-22-11
                        • 1467

                        #46
                        Originally posted by d2bets
                        See, and that's where reasonable minds are going to differ. To me, he took 2.5 steps and then reached out to get it over the goal line but the ball hit the ground (after his elbow/arm) before it reached the goal line. It's not one of these playes where the receiver dove to catch or jumped high and went straight down to the ground. That is what this rule it intended for. On a leap/dive and fall. Here, he leaped, but he came down with two feet and then another couple steps forward plus a stretch.

                        I am becoming even more convinced that they made the wrong call.
                        Youre considering possesion at the height of the catch but the ball isnt clearly possesed until it moves over to his left hand. It is even at his right bicep at one point.
                        Comment
                        • BriGuy
                          SBR MVP
                          • 12-06-11
                          • 1556

                          #47
                          Originally posted by d2bets
                          Nope. There was no "juggling" until the ball tocuhed the ground,
                          Exactly. And the rules of the NFL say you have to complete the process of the catch all the way through hitting the ground.

                          The ground can't cause a fumble but it sure as heck can cause an incompletion.
                          Comment
                          • Auto Donk
                            SBR Aristocracy
                            • 09-03-13
                            • 43558

                            #48
                            wait til u see the film shot from the angle of the pylon..... ie, right in the corner of the endzone..... the ball doesn't even hit the mother fn ground in any sense of causing him to lose control of it......
                            Comment
                            • daneblazer
                              BARRELED IN @ SBR!
                              • 09-14-08
                              • 27861

                              #49
                              Dez Bryant secured 3-of-4 targets for 38 yards in the Cowboys' Divisional Round loss to the Packers.
                              Rather than shadow Dez with a specific cornerback, the Packers "played sides" on the perimeter. Bryant still wasn't targeted heavily in a dink-and-dunk attack. His first catch came late in the second quarter, gaining eight on a quick screen out of the slot. Because Green Bay used so much zone, Tony Romo predominately worked around the line of scrimmage, moving the chains with Jason Witten and Cole Beasley. Bryant did draw a long PI flag on Tramon Williams in the third quarter, and ripped off a 20-yard chunk play later in that frame. Due to the NFL's ridiculous and essentially inexplicable "Calvin Johnson Rule," Dez was stripped of a physically dominant 31-yard jump-ball catch on fourth down late in the fourth quarter. Bryant is scheduled for 2015 free agency, though there's no chance the Cowboys let him get away. He turned 26 two months ago and is arguably the best receiver in the game. Short of a long-term extension, Dez will be franchise tagged.
                              Comment
                              • EaglesPhan36
                                SBR Aristocracy
                                • 12-06-06
                                • 71662

                                #50
                                Who cares, right or wrong, they deserved it after last week. Karma.
                                Comment
                                • Double Bogey
                                  SBR MVP
                                  • 07-24-10
                                  • 1465

                                  #51
                                  According to the rule book, it's not a catch. I don't agree with the rule book, but can't argue the official ruling based on the rule book.

                                  Hopefully that will be looked at this off season. Clearly not a f\*\*k job though, at least not by the officials.
                                  Comment
                                  • BriGuy
                                    SBR MVP
                                    • 12-06-11
                                    • 1556

                                    #52
                                    Originally posted by Auto Donk
                                    wait til u see the film shot from the angle of the pylon..... ie, right in the corner of the endzone..... the ball doesn't even hit the mother fn ground in any sense of causing him to lose control of it......
                                    It absolutely clearly 100% hits the ground. I understand reasonable people can disagree on what constitutes a "football move" and whether or not it should have been ruled a completion based on what happened, but the ball most certainly touches the ground.
                                    Comment
                                    • k13
                                      SBR Posting Legend
                                      • 07-16-10
                                      • 18104

                                      #53
                                      If it was a Packer it be a TD....
                                      Comment
                                      • Petey Wheatstraw
                                        SBR MVP
                                        • 05-09-12
                                        • 1038

                                        #54
                                        Originally posted by EaglesPhan36
                                        Who cares, right or wrong, they deserved it after last week. Karma.
                                        And Eagles deserve what they have. No rings ever. Karma
                                        Comment
                                        • EaglesPhan36
                                          SBR Aristocracy
                                          • 12-06-06
                                          • 71662

                                          #55
                                          LoL gee never EVER get that from Cowboys fans. You guys need some new material. I get that from Cowboys fans after Eagles games when they lose by 30.
                                          Comment
                                          • BriGuy
                                            SBR MVP
                                            • 12-06-11
                                            • 1556

                                            #56
                                            Originally posted by Double Bogey
                                            Hopefully that will be looked at this off season.
                                            I think that is part of the problem. Everytime something like this happens, especially in a big game, they tweak the rulebook to address it. All that does is serve to make the rule even more complicated and set us up for going through the whole thing all over again next time something like this happens. We have the Bert Emmanuel rule. We have the Calvin Johnson rule. They tweak it here, they tweak it there, and all it does is create more controversy, not less.
                                            Comment
                                            • MoneyLineDawg
                                              SBR Posting Legend
                                              • 01-01-09
                                              • 13253

                                              #57
                                              Another tuck rule IMO.....horrible rule when using common sense to determine the correct call

                                              He catches the ball and has control with atleast 2 feet down and falls to the ground while a defender touches him incidentally....play should be dead there

                                              the ball becomes free as he extends toward the goal line and after he hits the ground

                                              So dumb
                                              Comment
                                              • Deuce
                                                BARRELED IN @ SBR!
                                                • 01-12-08
                                                • 29843

                                                #58
                                                Karma

                                                Tell that mutt to hold on to the ball instead of trying to be a Fukkin hero.
                                                Comment
                                                • MoneyLineDawg
                                                  SBR Posting Legend
                                                  • 01-01-09
                                                  • 13253

                                                  #59
                                                  Calvin Johnson caught that ball too against the Bears...no "rule" or BS explanation by Goodells henchmen will convince me otherwise

                                                  NFL run by lawyer types what a Shame
                                                  Comment
                                                  • The Giant
                                                    SBR Posting Legend
                                                    • 01-21-12
                                                    • 21480

                                                    #60
                                                    I just hope Dez Bryant doesn't beat his mother after this.
                                                    Comment
                                                    • Petey Wheatstraw
                                                      SBR MVP
                                                      • 05-09-12
                                                      • 1038

                                                      #61
                                                      Comment
                                                      • meader99
                                                        SBR MVP
                                                        • 10-30-10
                                                        • 4223

                                                        #62
                                                        Originally posted by d2bets
                                                        Nope. There was no "juggling" until the ball tocuhed the ground, which happened after he had control and after his elbow/forearm had touched down. So no, that's not juggling.
                                                        Who cares if his elbow/forearm is down? That has NOTHING to do with the process of the catch. You can hate the rule, but the it was called to the letter of the law/rule.
                                                        Comment
                                                        • d2bets
                                                          BARRELED IN @ SBR!
                                                          • 08-10-05
                                                          • 39995

                                                          #63
                                                          Originally posted by BriGuy
                                                          It absolutely clearly 100% hits the ground. I understand reasonable people can disagree on what constitutes a "football move" and whether or not it should have been ruled a completion based on what happened, but the ball most certainly touches the ground.
                                                          Agreed. But read my comment in the other thread. This was a catch. After catching with clear possession, he touches right, left, right, then stretchout all covering more than 5 yards. This is not one of those cases where the receiver leaps or dives to catch and it comes out when he falls on the leap or dive. No. It's not. THREE feet touched down after the catch. Come on. That's just wrong. 100%.
                                                          Comment
                                                          • d2bets
                                                            BARRELED IN @ SBR!
                                                            • 08-10-05
                                                            • 39995

                                                            #64
                                                            Originally posted by meader99
                                                            Who cares if his elbow/forearm is down? That has NOTHING to do with the process of the catch. You can hate the rule, but the it was called to the letter of the law/rule.
                                                            My point in that comment was that juggling is not an issue. The elbow down is not the key. The key is that after catching with clear possession, he touches feet right, then left, then right again, then stretchout all covering more than 5 yards. This is not one of those cases where the receiver leaps or dives to catch and it comes out when he falls on the leap or dive. No. It's not. THREE feet touched down AFTER the catch. Come on. How can right, left, right, stretch covering over 5 yards not be a football move? They blew it.
                                                            Comment
                                                            • BrickJames
                                                              SBR Hall of Famer
                                                              • 05-05-11
                                                              • 9749

                                                              #65
                                                              Originally posted by DiggityDaggityDo
                                                              Donker, why you hating on J-Lo?

                                                              Donker can you imagine being up in that ass? I can.
                                                              Oh god, I know! When she said that you could see her toned thighs and almost get a little peek at her sn@tch! I would suck a fart out of her ass for sure!
                                                              Comment
                                                              • k13
                                                                SBR Posting Legend
                                                                • 07-16-10
                                                                • 18104

                                                                #66
                                                                Packers will lose next week so who cares...
                                                                Comment
                                                                • Dirty Sanchez
                                                                  SBR Posting Legend
                                                                  • 03-01-10
                                                                  • 16031

                                                                  #67
                                                                  Comment
                                                                  • Double Bogey
                                                                    SBR MVP
                                                                    • 07-24-10
                                                                    • 1465

                                                                    #68
                                                                    Originally posted by d2bets
                                                                    Agreed. But read my comment in the other thread. This was a catch. After catching with clear possession, he touches right, left, right, then stretchout all covering more than 5 yards. This is not one of those cases where the receiver leaps or dives to catch and it comes out when he falls on the leap or dive. No. It's not. THREE feet touched down after the catch. Come on. That's just wrong. 100%.
                                                                    I'm pretty sure Calvin Johnson had 3 feet down when he let the ball go. Based on the rule book, it's not a catch. I agree with you that it should be a catch, but following the rule book, it's not.
                                                                    Comment
                                                                    • lakerboy
                                                                      SBR Aristocracy
                                                                      • 04-02-09
                                                                      • 94379

                                                                      #69
                                                                      Originally posted by k13
                                                                      If it was a Packer it be a TD....

                                                                      Comment
                                                                      • cburland10
                                                                        SBR Wise Guy
                                                                        • 11-26-13
                                                                        • 801

                                                                        #70
                                                                        Either way, packers would have marched down and kicked a field goal.
                                                                        Comment
                                                                        Search
                                                                        Collapse
                                                                        SBR Contests
                                                                        Collapse
                                                                        Top-Rated US Sportsbooks
                                                                        Collapse
                                                                        Working...