How is that not a TD in Chicago?

Collapse
X
 
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts
  • DrStale
    SBR Hall of Famer
    • 12-07-08
    • 9692

    #36
    Originally posted by Bluehorseshoe

    No they didn't. He caught the ball, went to the ground and was getting up. They forced the rule in that situation like a square peg going into a round hole.

    It's a notch behind the Galaraga call. (Poor Detroit fans.)
    Why do people keep saying this when the NFL's top official said it was the correct call? How do you know more about the rule than he does?
    Originally posted by Dark Horse
    If with religion you mean belief system, your belief system is your religion. Again, it matters not what it is. You believe in it, you are loyal to it, would defend it, and yet have no proof of it, other than that, at one point or another, you chose to believe in it. Self-hypnosis. What if there were a snapping of fingers that broke the hypnosis?
    Comment
    • dmtrader
      SBR MVP
      • 09-26-09
      • 1320

      #37
      Originally posted by Bluehorseshoe
      No they didn't. He caught the ball, went to the ground and was getting up. They forced the rule in that situation like a square peg going into a round hole.

      It's a notch behind the Galaraga call. (Poor Detroit fans.)
      I agree. They tried to force the rule where there was obviously a catch. If he bobbled, or somehow didn't have possession when the ball touched the ground, I believe the continuation rule would have come into effect.
      Comment
      • Illusion
        Restricted User
        • 08-09-05
        • 25166

        #38
        I'm a Bears fan and even I will admit Detroit got hosed.
        Comment
        • Bluehorseshoe
          SBR Posting Legend
          • 07-13-06
          • 15057

          #39
          Originally posted by jgray
          The bolded part is where you are wrong. The ball touched the ground and he lost it. It was a while after the initial catch, but he must maintain possession all the way THROUGH the ground. He did not. I could be convinced it's a bad rule, though.
          That is not what happened. When did he lose control??? After he held it for a td. Two steps and control. What would you like?

          Comment
          • d2bets
            BARRELED IN @ SBR!
            • 08-10-05
            • 39847

            #40
            Originally posted by jgray
            The bolded part is where you are wrong. The ball touched the ground and he lost it. It was a while after the initial catch, but he must maintain possession all the way THROUGH the ground. He did not. I could be convinced it's a bad rule, though.
            Spot on. They made the proper call based on a flawed rule. Simple as that.
            Comment
            • Bluehorseshoe
              SBR Posting Legend
              • 07-13-06
              • 15057

              #41
              Originally posted by d2bets
              Spot on. They made the proper call based on a flawed rule. Simple as that.
              It's not. A ref could call a holding penalty whenever he wants. Every offensive lineman is forced to grab an opponents jersey when a play starts. It's up to the ref to decide when it's excessive. Some idiot ref could decide after a half a second it's holding and still be within the rule.
              Comment
              • d2bets
                BARRELED IN @ SBR!
                • 08-10-05
                • 39847

                #42
                Originally posted by Bluehorseshoe
                It's not. A ref could call a holding penalty whenever he wants. Every offensive lineman is forced to grab an opponents jersey when a play starts. It's up to the ref to decide when it's excessive. Some idiot ref could decide after a half a second it's holding and still be within the rule.
                This isn't a holding call. This is a very clear look at the play in light of the rules. The rule needs to be changed. But the rule is very clear that you have to maintain the ball through the play. He lost the ball while on the ground. By the letter of the law, it is not a catch. They should just simply change the rule to make it a catch like anywhere else on the field. If that exact play had been a sideline play, it is a catch by the rules. Two feet with possession. But the rule in the endzone is different. Why? I don't see any goods reason. The refs got it right by the book and it highlights a flaw in the rulebook. But you really can't blame the refs for following the rulebook.
                Comment
                • FLO31
                  SBR Wise Guy
                  • 02-19-10
                  • 972

                  #43
                  I had a prop play that Megatron would catch a TD... We were robbed!
                  Comment
                  • homerbush
                    SBR MVP
                    • 11-17-08
                    • 2317

                    #44
                    I was on lions ml and am still convinced that lions would miss two point conversion to go up 3 and bears would win on a field goal at the end.
                    Comment
                    • Hammew
                      SBR MVP
                      • 10-27-09
                      • 2882

                      #45
                      Fukk the continuation and the process, that was BS and cost me on the ML. TD all the way. The only continuation and process is the continuation of the NFL to process bad calls.
                      Comment
                      • big joe 1212
                        SBR Posting Legend
                        • 06-01-08
                        • 19380

                        #46
                        NFL needs to check itself!
                        Comment
                        • homerbush
                          SBR MVP
                          • 11-17-08
                          • 2317

                          #47
                          I feel like NFL refs cannot go one week (16 games) without controversy.
                          Comment
                          • Hammew
                            SBR MVP
                            • 10-27-09
                            • 2882

                            #48
                            Originally posted by homerbush
                            I feel like NFL refs cannot go one week (16 games) without controversy.


                            Sometimes I think I may be naive for thinking officials are unbias or not bought off. But as time goes on it seems like calls keep getting worse in every sport.
                            Comment
                            • Robber
                              SBR Hall of Famer
                              • 10-21-09
                              • 6432

                              #49
                              letter of the law
                              Comment
                              • homerbush
                                SBR MVP
                                • 11-17-08
                                • 2317

                                #50
                                Originally posted by Hammew
                                Sometimes I think I may be naive for thinking officials are unbias or not bought off. But as time goes on it seems like calls keep getting worse in every sport.
                                They really do. I think about now in all sports versus even 10 years ago. Just keeps getting worse.
                                Comment
                                • Wade Dwayne
                                  SBR Wise Guy
                                  • 01-07-10
                                  • 907

                                  #51
                                  Wasnt he down when his arse hit the ground ? Meaning the play is complete.
                                  Comment
                                  • d2bets
                                    BARRELED IN @ SBR!
                                    • 08-10-05
                                    • 39847

                                    #52
                                    Same thing happened last year Oak vs. SD. Same "process" call. Bad rule. But that is the rule. Maybe they'll change it now. Two feet with posession ought to be enough.

                                    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GvGEL2DxPEg
                                    Comment
                                    • d2bets
                                      BARRELED IN @ SBR!
                                      • 08-10-05
                                      • 39847

                                      #53
                                      Originally posted by Wade Dwayne
                                      Wasnt he down when his arse hit the ground ? Meaning the play is complete.
                                      No. Look at the next post. Same thing happened to Oakland last year. Gotta keep possession through rolling on the ground.
                                      Comment
                                      • firedawg
                                        BARRELED IN @ SBR!
                                        • 10-08-08
                                        • 39230

                                        #54
                                        that was the worse call ive seen in years......
                                        Comment
                                        • Sox2010
                                          Restricted User
                                          • 04-09-10
                                          • 51

                                          #55
                                          Hate the rule not the refs that applied the rule. I do have a question for everyone: If he had made that play on the 20, and then ran after the play, would it have counted as a catch, fumble, then him regaining the ball or would it have been ruled incomplete? I'm assuming it would be ruled incomplete but just want to check myself.
                                          Comment
                                          • Bluehorseshoe
                                            SBR Posting Legend
                                            • 07-13-06
                                            • 15057

                                            #56
                                            Originally posted by Sox2010
                                            Hate the rule not the refs that applied the rule. I do have a question for everyone: If he had made that play on the 20, and then ran after the play, would it have counted as a catch, fumble, then him regaining the ball or would it have been ruled incomplete? I'm assuming it would be ruled incomplete but just want to check myself.
                                            A fumble.
                                            Comment
                                            • d2bets
                                              BARRELED IN @ SBR!
                                              • 08-10-05
                                              • 39847

                                              #57
                                              Originally posted by Sox2010
                                              Hate the rule not the refs that applied the rule. I do have a question for everyone: If he had made that play on the 20, and then ran after the play, would it have counted as a catch, fumble, then him regaining the ball or would it have been ruled incomplete? I'm assuming it would be ruled incomplete but just want to check myself.
                                              Anywhere but the endzone that is a completion. Different rule applies to the endzone. Why, you ask? I have no friggin clue.
                                              Comment
                                              • JayTrotter
                                                SBR Sharp
                                                • 03-27-10
                                                • 320

                                                #58
                                                The inconsistency is apparent. If you have to "complete" the catch, why don't you have to "complete" the dive when a running back jumps over into the end zone and loses possession of the football.

                                                Answer: if you have possession of the ball and break the plane of the end zone, it is a touchdown. When Calvin was on his back in the end zone, that should have been the end of the play. The continuation was not in the spirit of the rule. The rule was intended to make sure players catching the ball and falling "completed the catch." There is inconsistency in this ruling, since there is a very real thought that calvin had already "completed" the catch..
                                                Comment
                                                • Goat Milk
                                                  BARRELED IN @ SBR!
                                                  • 03-24-10
                                                  • 25850

                                                  #59
                                                  horrible call. And brock landers says "at least the Lions covered"

                                                  It's not about gamblin you fukk that was the difference between a W and a L
                                                  Cause Sleep is the Cousin of Death
                                                  Comment
                                                  • newguy
                                                    SBR Hall of Famer
                                                    • 12-27-09
                                                    • 6100

                                                    #60
                                                    I just read this whole line of conversation. First - the call was right. It was right when they made the call on the field and it was right after they reviewed it. As others have said - if you don't like the call then you need to take it up with the NFL - but it was the right call. Now for the question that I had when I saw it live at the game, and again after watching the multiple replays. Why did Johnson try and catch that with one hand? He had PLENTY of time to bring that ball into his body which would have basically ensured it was a TD. He was trying to make a highlight reel catch and it cost Lions the game!!

                                                    If you want to be mad at anyone - how about him?
                                                    Comment
                                                    • t-bone
                                                      SBR MVP
                                                      • 03-18-08
                                                      • 3732

                                                      #61
                                                      a running back can smoke the pilon with the ball with his body out of bounds but this play is not called a touchdown.........

                                                      this league along with its commercial breaks is getting out of hand.
                                                      Comment
                                                      • JohnGalt2341
                                                        SBR Hall of Famer
                                                        • 12-31-09
                                                        • 9125

                                                        #62
                                                        Since I had Chicago I thought it was a GREAT call! Otherwise it would have been one of the worst calls ever!
                                                        Comment
                                                        • pavyracer
                                                          SBR Aristocracy
                                                          • 04-12-07
                                                          • 82666

                                                          #63
                                                          These refs should be happy they are in the NFL and not in Colombian soccer league because they would have probably been killed for such an obvious bad call.

                                                          It's pretty simple. You catch the ball with both feet down in the end zone it's a touchdown. You don't need to fly with the ball back to Detroit to be one.
                                                          Comment
                                                          • Mac4Lyfe
                                                            SBR Aristocracy
                                                            • 01-04-09
                                                            • 48805

                                                            #64
                                                            Originally posted by d2bets
                                                            Same thing happened last year Oak vs. SD. Same "process" call. Bad rule. But that is the rule. Maybe they'll change it now. Two feet with posession ought to be enough.

                                                            http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GvGEL2DxPEg
                                                            Linky no worky but I presume you were mentioning the incomplete pass on a sure TD catch by Louis Murphy. That call and the one today are both BS. I understand the rule but it needs to change. It's bull shit. Johnson caught the ball and made a football move. He caught with 1 foot then did a hop step with 2 feet then fell to the ground on his butt all in control of the ball THEN rolled over and put the ball on the ground. Horrible rule that needs tweaking.
                                                            Comment
                                                            • Mr Windy City
                                                              Restricted User
                                                              • 12-27-09
                                                              • 5018

                                                              #65
                                                              that man caught the ball, took two steps, his knee and hand went down on the ground with the ball and then he let it go. I was thrilled my Bears got the win, but that was the worst call I have ever seen. If that's not a touchdown then what do you have to do? Tuck it in your shirt for a few seconds? That was a joke and all this rule changing and saftey reasons for penalties is changing the integrity of what the NFL used to be.
                                                              Comment
                                                              • jgray
                                                                SBR MVP
                                                                • 09-06-09
                                                                • 3599

                                                                #66
                                                                Originally posted by Bluehorseshoe
                                                                That is not what happened. When did he lose control??? After he held it for a td. Two steps and control. What would you like?
                                                                Ironically, the spot where he lost the ball is frozen in the video you posted...
                                                                Comment
                                                                • DrStale
                                                                  SBR Hall of Famer
                                                                  • 12-07-08
                                                                  • 9692

                                                                  #67
                                                                  The level of ignorance in this thread is astounding. How can people still say it was a bad call? They followed the rulebook and the head of NFL officiating stated that it was the correct call and people still blame the refs. Be angry with the rule but it was the correct call.
                                                                  Originally posted by Dark Horse
                                                                  If with religion you mean belief system, your belief system is your religion. Again, it matters not what it is. You believe in it, you are loyal to it, would defend it, and yet have no proof of it, other than that, at one point or another, you chose to believe in it. Self-hypnosis. What if there were a snapping of fingers that broke the hypnosis?
                                                                  Comment
                                                                  • blueghost
                                                                    SBR MVP
                                                                    • 09-11-09
                                                                    • 1715

                                                                    #68
                                                                    Lions was robbed

                                                                    what the hell is a catch what a rip off two hands on the ball two feet on the ground and his buttt and not a catch what bull
                                                                    Comment
                                                                    • firedawg
                                                                      BARRELED IN @ SBR!
                                                                      • 10-08-08
                                                                      • 39230

                                                                      #69
                                                                      yes they was
                                                                      Comment
                                                                      • ProfaneReality
                                                                        SBR Hall of Famer
                                                                        • 04-14-09
                                                                        • 7607

                                                                        #70
                                                                        you were robbed of basic English skills
                                                                        Comment
                                                                        Search
                                                                        Collapse
                                                                        SBR Contests
                                                                        Collapse
                                                                        Top-Rated US Sportsbooks
                                                                        Collapse
                                                                        Working...