IS V TECH 2h EVEN A QUESTION OR DOES RAZORBACKS ROLL
Belk Bowl- Virginia Tech vs Arkansas in game thread
Collapse
X
-
JayDr3amSBR Posting Legend
- 05-06-14
- 18260
#106Comment -
YoungGamblerSBR MVP
- 09-15-14
- 1744
#107Originally posted by BigDofBAThat's what I'm wondering. I have the over. Why don't the get the ball at the spot of the fumble?
They just restarted the drive? WTF
wait....this is true. Before the review they were in VT territoryComment -
rizesporSBR MVP
- 06-21-16
- 1900
#108There was a penalty... But it was after the kick. It's almost like they enforced the penalty from where they puntedOriginally posted by ans61201I'm honestly more mind boggled by the spot then the fumble.....and the fumble was one of the worst calls I've ever seenComment -
JayDr3amSBR Posting Legend
- 05-06-14
- 18260
#109lol dont know why that was capsComment -
Cuse0323BARRELED IN @ SBR!
- 12-09-09
- 30169
#110Well, this crew will be fired. Oh wait, they can fck up at their job, and still have it.Comment -
krk1030SBR Posting Legend
- 08-13-08
- 17610
#111Why thw fukk did i not just play ark.
Tech cant even get 1 td to hit the over. LosersComment -
Fred The HammerSBR Posting Legend
- 08-13-13
- 11720
#112Jesus....the 5-7 bowl teams could roll Va Tech tonite. They can't do shitComment -
ans61201SBR MVP
- 10-11-15
- 3661
#113Originally posted by YoungGamblerwait....this is true. Before the review they were in VT territory
Yes. Recap. Punt from ark 20. To 50. Fumble to Vtech 38. Blown dead at 36. Holding penalty on Vtech. Fumble awarded to ark. And they start the drive on their own 18? What in the actual penetrateComment -
rizesporSBR MVP
- 06-21-16
- 1900
#11424-24 otComment -
Fred The HammerSBR Posting Legend
- 08-13-13
- 11720
#115They awarded possession from a ball rolling around on the ground and then moved the spot like 30-40 yards.....that's the weirdest shit I've ever seenComment -
ans61201SBR MVP
- 10-11-15
- 3661
#116Vtech seems to obvious. Scared of teams down this much in a bowl that doesn't matter. You'll know in the first two possessions. If they get a stop and score they will pull this within 10 before finish. Or they will quit and it'll be a routeOriginally posted by JayDr3amIS V TECH 2h EVEN A QUESTION OR DOES RAZORBACKS ROLLComment -
BigDofBASBR Posting Legend
- 09-30-09
- 19313
#117I think Biliema intimidated the refs and got them to totally penetrate up the call.
Va. Tech recovered the ball at their 26 yard line.
How Arkansas retained possession AND RESTARTED THEIR DRIVE AT THEIR OWN 30 is beyond me.
Even if you penetrate up the call, shouldn't Arkansas get the ball where he fumble occurred?
WTF just happened. It seems like the refs screw up 3-4 things on one play.Comment -
rizesporSBR MVP
- 06-21-16
- 1900
#118Originally posted by Fred The HammerThey awarded possession from a ball rolling around on the ground and then moved the spot like 30-40 yards.....that's the weirdest shit I've ever seen
basically sums it up
Comment -
Cuse0323BARRELED IN @ SBR!
- 12-09-09
- 30169
#119So confused. It doesn't help that Dan Patrick is senile. They didn't even mention how the field completely flipped. Weirdest shit I've ever seen.Comment -
Eddy MunnyBenched
- 08-13-13
- 15769
#120As far as I can tell, there was a holding penalty on V. Tech during the punt play.... Once it was determined that the Hokies actually recovered the ball (initially ruled Ark) then Razorbacks obviously accepted the penalty that gave them a new set of downs from where they punted plus the penalty yardage.
So in other words, the refs got it right... Hokies recovered, but the penalty negated the play and gave Arkansas a first down. The television crew was lost as to what actually happened.Comment -
Fred The HammerSBR Posting Legend
- 08-13-13
- 11720
#121Originally posted by BigDofBAI think Biliema intimidated the refs and got them to totally penetrate up the call.
Va. Tech recovered the ball at their 26 yard line.
How Arkansas retained possession AND RESTARTED THEIR DRIVE AT THEIR OWN 30 is beyond me.
Even if you penetrate up the call, shouldn't Arkansas get the ball where he fumble occurred?
WTF just happened. It seems like the refs screw up 3-4 things on one play.
I want to say they thought Va Tech got screwed but Bielema was technically right about the whistle so they invented a makeup phantom spot & moved the ball 40-50 yards...lol
Why not just call holding 2-3 times in a row on Ark instead?Comment -
kingdomSBR Posting Legend
- 07-25-10
- 10099
#122espn put the stat up. arkansas this season +63 pts 1H, -62 2H. pretty good indicator of the way the second half should go. i'm taking tech and giving the 6.5Comment -
BluehorseshoeSBR Posting Legend
- 07-13-06
- 15058
#123But they ran two plays in V Tech territory and then was brought back to their own part of the field. It's crazy.
They stopped what they were doing during the commercial and made believe it didn't happen.Comment -
johnnyvegas13BARRELED IN @ SBR!
- 05-21-15
- 27976
#124Originally posted by JayDr3amIS V TECH 2h EVEN A QUESTION OR DOES RAZORBACKS ROLL
i took arky and under 2nd halfComment -
rizesporSBR MVP
- 06-21-16
- 1900
#125That's what it seemed like... But wasn't the penalty during the kick? So tech should retain possession and spot foulOriginally posted by Eddy MunnyAs far as I can tell, there was a holding penalty on V. Tech during the punt play.... Once it was determined that the Hokies actually recovered the ball (initially ruled Ark) then Razorbacks obviously accepted the penalty that gave them a new set of downs from where they punted plus the penalty yardage.
So in other words, the refs got it right... Hokies recovered, but the penalty negated the play and gave Arkansas a first down. The television crew was lost as to what actually happened.Comment -
JayDr3amSBR Posting Legend
- 05-06-14
- 18260
#126Bielema just guaranteed to win the second half....Comment -
kingdomSBR Posting Legend
- 07-25-10
- 10099
#127lol to pot vs. kettleOriginally posted by Cuse0323So confused. It doesn't help that Dan Patrick is senile. They didn't even mention how the field completely flipped. Weirdest shit I've ever seen.Comment -
Fred The HammerSBR Posting Legend
- 08-13-13
- 11720
#128Bottom line....lesson to be learned here fellas. FAKE IT TIL YOU MAKE IT. The head official should've been loud and got fat boy off the fkn field and made the call right or wrong. Signal which side is doing what and move on. Instead they sat there and mumbled like a bunch of pussiesComment -
BigDofBASBR Posting Legend
- 09-30-09
- 19313
#129So if team A punts to team B and Team B has a holding call, Team A gets the ball back from where they punted?Originally posted by Eddy MunnyAs far as I can tell, there was a holding penalty on V. Tech during the punt play.... Once it was determined that the Hokies actually recovered the ball (initially ruled Ark) then Razorbacks obviously accepted the penalty that gave them a new set of downs from where they punted plus the penalty yardage.
So in other words, the refs got it right... Hokies recovered, but the penalty negated the play and gave Arkansas a first down. The television crew was lost as to what actually happened.
That's not right at all. Team A retains possession and the ball is moved back 10 yards.
I don't understand how an inadvertent whistle after Arkansas punted, gives the ball back to Arkansas from where they punted.
Arkansas punted it away and never regained possession.
BTW, the announces suck. Robert Smith was trying to argue Arkansas didn't score a TD on a play they reviewed earlier.....you could clearly see it was a TD when they put the replay on the screen and froze it. Morons....Comment -
Cuse0323BARRELED IN @ SBR!
- 12-09-09
- 30169
#130I assume you're saying that I'm senile, because I said Dan. Not in a very articulate way, but you may be right.Originally posted by kingdomlol to pot vs. kettleComment -
Eddy MunnyBenched
- 08-13-13
- 15769
#131Not necessarily... if it's on the return, that's one thing, but I believe the penalty that occurred was enforced before VT gained possession, thus resulting in a new set of downs for the Arkansas offense.Originally posted by rizesporThat's what it seemed like... But wasn't the penalty during the kick? So tech should retain possession and spot foul
Obviously, Bielema initially declined the penalty because he thought he'd recovered a muffed punt. Upon review, he did not and accepted the penalty.Comment -
johnnyvegas13BARRELED IN @ SBR!
- 05-21-15
- 27976
#132really ?Originally posted by JayDr3amBielema just guaranteed to win the second half....
in that case ill wet my beak w 2nd half moneylineComment -
BluehorseshoeSBR Posting Legend
- 07-13-06
- 15058
#133Originally posted by BigDofBABTW, the announces suck. Robert Smith was trying to argue Arkansas didn't score a TD on a play they reviewed earlier.....you could clearly see it was a TD when they put the replay on the screen and froze it. Morons....
He was also claiming Vtech had to go for for it on 4th down at midfield when it was a 17 pt game. lolComment -
Eddy MunnyBenched
- 08-13-13
- 15769
#134Originally posted by BigDofBASo if team A punts to team B and Team B has a holding call, Team A gets the ball back from where they punted?
That's not right at all. Team A retains possession and the ball is moved back 10 yards.
I don't understand how an inadvertent whistle after Arkansas punted, gives the ball back to Arkansas from where they punted.
Arkansas punted it away and never regained possession.
BTW, the announces suck. Robert Smith was trying to argue Arkansas didn't score a TD on a play they reviewed earlier.....you could clearly see it was a TD when they put the replay on the screen and froze it. Morons....
The hold wasn't on the return.... it was probably at the line of scrimmage, or on a gunner, while the ball was in the air.
Basically, it's the same as defensive holding on a WR, but just so happened to be called on a punt play... but a new set of downs nonetheless.Comment -
Cuse0323BARRELED IN @ SBR!
- 12-09-09
- 30169
#135It still should be from the end of the spot. But, I have no clue at this point. Something ridiculous happened.Originally posted by Eddy MunnyThe hold wasn't on the return.... it was probably at the line of scrimmage while the ball was in the air.Comment -
rizesporSBR MVP
- 06-21-16
- 1900
#136I'm not sure that's right.. I had to have seen holding/block in the back penalties during punts before the receiving team actually catches the punts... Right?Originally posted by Eddy MunnyNot necessarily... if it's on the return, that's one thing, but I believe the penalty that occurred was enforced before VT gained possession, thus resulting in a new set of downs for the Arkansas offense.
Obviously, Bielema initially declined the penalty because he thought he'd recovered a muffed punt. Upon review, he did not and accepted the penalty.
I mean it seems so strange thinking about it but..Comment -
kingdomSBR Posting Legend
- 07-25-10
- 10099
#137thats not how these bowl games workOriginally posted by johnnyvegas13i took arky and under 2nd halfComment -
BigDofBASBR Posting Legend
- 09-30-09
- 19313
#138Do we know that? That's a totally different thing then and the announcers were clueless.Originally posted by Eddy MunnyThe hold wasn't on the return.... it was probably at the line of scrimmage, or on a gunner, while the ball was in the air.
Basically, it's the same as defensive holding on a WR, but just so happened to be called on a punt play... but a new set of downs nonetheless.
I think these dumbass announcers are confusing me.Comment -
Fred The HammerSBR Posting Legend
- 08-13-13
- 11720
#139Okie State ML +130.....Yes Please

HE'S A MAN.....HE'S 40
Anyone confident enough to rock a Billy Ray Cyrus/Davy Crockett mullet in 2016 will get my $$Comment -
ans61201SBR MVP
- 10-11-15
- 3661
#140Originally posted by Eddy MunnyAs far as I can tell, there was a holding penalty on V. Tech during the punt play.... Once it was determined that the Hokies actually recovered the ball (initially ruled Ark) then Razorbacks obviously accepted the penalty that gave them a new set of downs from where they punted plus the penalty yardage.
So in other words, the refs got it right... Hokies recovered, but the penalty negated the play and gave Arkansas a first down. The television crew was lost as to what actually happened.
Except a holding penarly on a speical special teams return is just added to the end of the run as a 10 yard losss. So no that wouldn't explain the screw upComment
Search
Collapse
SBR Contests
Collapse
Top-Rated US Sportsbooks
Collapse
#1 BetMGM
4.8/5 BetMGM Bonus Code
#2 FanDuel
4.8/5 FanDuel Promo Code
#3 Caesars
4.8/5 Caesars Promo Code
#4 DraftKings
4.7/5 DraftKings Promo Code
#5 Fanatics
#6 bet365
4.7/5 bet365 Bonus Code
#7 Hard Rock
4.1/5 Hard Rock Bet Promo Code
#8 BetRivers
4.1/5 BetRivers Bonus Code
