if a pitch is inside the strike zone, but the catcher dropped it. is it a ball?

Collapse
X
 
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts
  • pico
    BARRELED IN @ SBR!
    • 04-05-07
    • 27321

    #1
    if a pitch is inside the strike zone, but the catcher dropped it. is it a ball?
    or a strike?
  • mathdotcom
    SBR Posting Legend
    • 03-24-08
    • 11689

    #2
    no
    Comment
    • ryanXL977
      SBR Posting Legend
      • 02-24-08
      • 20615

      #3
      Originally posted by pico
      or a strike?

      a ball doesnt have to be caught to be a strike.
      Comment
      • Brock Landers
        SBR Aristocracy
        • 06-30-08
        • 45359

        #4
        are you kidding?

        the only time it matters if the catcher catches the ball is on a dropped 3rd strike with a base unoccupied, then they have to tag the runner or throw it to 1st
        Comment
        • pavyracer
          SBR Aristocracy
          • 04-12-07
          • 82812

          #5
          Brock is correct. If strike 3 is dropped then the runner has to be tagged to get the out.
          Comment
          • ryanXL977
            SBR Posting Legend
            • 02-24-08
            • 20615

            #6
            only if there is a runner on first
            Comment
            • pavyracer
              SBR Aristocracy
              • 04-12-07
              • 82812

              #7
              Comment
              • Nicky Santoro
                SBR Posting Legend
                • 04-08-08
                • 16103

                #8
                Originally posted by Brock Landers
                are you kidding?

                the only time it matters if the catcher catches the ball is on a dropped 3rd strike with a base unoccupied, then they have to tag the runner or throw it to 1st
                unless there's 2 outs.. if there's 2 down and 1st base is occupied, then they still have to throw it to 1st.
                Comment
                • mtneer1212
                  SBR MVP
                  • 06-22-08
                  • 4993

                  #9
                  Originally posted by Nicky Santoro
                  unless there's 2 outs.. if there's 2 down and 1st base is occupied, then they still have to throw it to 1st.
                  Not neccesarily..... they can actually get a force a base - if the bases are loaded with two out, a dropped third strike does not have to be thrown to first -- the catcher could throw to any base or tag home for the force.
                  Comment
                  • Chi_archie
                    SBR Aristocracy
                    • 07-22-08
                    • 63167

                    #10
                    word...
                    Comment
                    • Nicky Santoro
                      SBR Posting Legend
                      • 04-08-08
                      • 16103

                      #11
                      Originally posted by mtneer1212
                      Not neccesarily..... they can actually get a force a base - if the bases are loaded with two out, a dropped third strike does not have to be thrown to first -- the catcher could throw to any base or tag home for the force.
                      of course, ONLY if bases are loaded and 2 outs can he touch the plate.. if they are juiced and it was less than 2 outs, then batter is automatically out and no throw to 1st is necessary.
                      Comment
                      • Masu485
                        SBR Hall of Famer
                        • 08-14-08
                        • 7700

                        #12
                        wait... then why can't catcher's just drop every 3rd strike when bases are loaded, and just get a force out at home?
                        Comment
                        • Chi_archie
                          SBR Aristocracy
                          • 07-22-08
                          • 63167

                          #13
                          ? he'd already have the 3rd out by catching it...... why drop it and look like a douche?
                          Comment
                          • reno cool
                            SBR MVP
                            • 07-02-08
                            • 3567

                            #14
                            now if its a foul tip on strike 3 and he catches its an but not on strike 2. right?
                            bird bird da bird's da word
                            Comment
                            • reno cool
                              SBR MVP
                              • 07-02-08
                              • 3567

                              #15
                              If a ball hits the batter and gos to the backstop how far can runners advance?
                              bird bird da bird's da word
                              Comment
                              • Willie Bee
                                SBR Posting Legend
                                • 02-14-06
                                • 15726

                                #16
                                Originally posted by reno cool
                                now if its a foul tip on strike 3 and he catches its an but not on strike 2. right?
                                Right. Has to be some arc or altitude on foul balls before the third strike to count as an out.

                                If a ball hits the batter and gos to the backstop how far can runners advance?
                                One base. Ball is dead once it hits the batter.
                                Comment
                                • pico
                                  BARRELED IN @ SBR!
                                  • 04-05-07
                                  • 27321

                                  #17
                                  let's say base is loaded bottom of the 9th. a wild pitch hit the batter in the head and he is dead. is the game suspended? or they have a pinch runner walk to 1st for the winner?
                                  Comment
                                  • Mudcat
                                    Restricted User
                                    • 07-21-05
                                    • 9287

                                    #18
                                    I believe the official rule is to have two teammates drag the dead guy by his ears to first base.
                                    Comment
                                    • AgainstAllOdds
                                      SBR Hall of Famer
                                      • 02-24-08
                                      • 6053

                                      #19
                                      Originally posted by Mudcat
                                      I believe the official rule is to have two teammates drag the dead guy by his ears to first base.

                                      Originally posted by SBR_John
                                      AAO = good dude. Buying you a drink in Vegas buddy.
                                      Comment
                                      • Nicky Santoro
                                        SBR Posting Legend
                                        • 04-08-08
                                        • 16103

                                        #20
                                        Originally posted by reno cool
                                        If a ball hits the batter and gos to the backstop how far can runners advance?
                                        dead ball. runners advance only 1 base and batter takes his base.
                                        Comment
                                        • Vesuvius
                                          SBR MVP
                                          • 02-19-08
                                          • 3886

                                          #21
                                          ACTUALLY, in MLB, MOST of the time, if the ball is in the strike zone, and the catcher drops it, the ump will call a ball. I'm not saying all the time but a good amount of the time this happens. Announcers talk about this sometimes too.

                                          I also had personal experience of this in high school baseball even though it wasn't as strict.
                                          Comment
                                          • Matt Rain
                                            SBR Hall of Famer
                                            • 02-13-07
                                            • 5001

                                            #22
                                            Originally posted by Mudcat
                                            I believe the official rule is to have two teammates drag the dead guy by his ears to first base.
                                            Comment
                                            • Willie Bee
                                              SBR Posting Legend
                                              • 02-14-06
                                              • 15726

                                              #23
                                              Originally posted by pico
                                              let's say base is loaded bottom of the 9th. a wild pitch hit the batter in the head and he is dead. is the game suspended? or they have a pinch runner walk to 1st for the winner?
                                              Yes, if that happened a pinch runner could be employed to complete the play. Even if he is not dead but otherwise incapable of completing the trek to first, a runner can be inserted.
                                              Comment
                                              • Shark79
                                                SBR Posting Legend
                                                • 11-19-07
                                                • 11211

                                                #24
                                                Thats why Willie is our Manager.

                                                Man my team rocks !!
                                                Comment
                                                • Shark79
                                                  SBR Posting Legend
                                                  • 11-19-07
                                                  • 11211

                                                  #25
                                                  Originally posted by pico
                                                  let's say base is loaded bottom of the 9th. a wild pitch hit the batter in the head and he is dead. is the game suspended? or they have a pinch runner walk to 1st for the winner?


                                                  They stick the bat up his @ss .. if he doesnt react, then he is pushed with the bat all the way to first base.
                                                  Comment
                                                  • BTTNext
                                                    SBR Sharp
                                                    • 04-06-09
                                                    • 355

                                                    #26
                                                    That's some great stuff. I never even realized that a pitcher can get 3+ strikeouts in an inning. Unreal.
                                                    Comment
                                                    • Willie Bee
                                                      SBR Posting Legend
                                                      • 02-14-06
                                                      • 15726

                                                      #27


                                                      Here's another one for y'all that is often missed by the 'average fan.' Let's say a batter squares around as if to bunt like the photo above. The barrel of the bat could even be a little more out. The batter just holds the pose and the pitch comes in wide of the plate. Ball or strike?
                                                      Comment
                                                      • Shark79
                                                        SBR Posting Legend
                                                        • 11-19-07
                                                        • 11211

                                                        #28
                                                        If he stays in same position ... I say strike.
                                                        Comment
                                                        • louisvillekid
                                                          SBR Hall of Famer
                                                          • 08-14-07
                                                          • 9262

                                                          #29
                                                          i think you have to pull the bat back or at least twist your body back or drop your hind leg back or something, i think if you just hold that position as if to bunt you get called for a strike.
                                                          Comment
                                                          • pico
                                                            BARRELED IN @ SBR!
                                                            • 04-05-07
                                                            • 27321

                                                            #30
                                                            Originally posted by Vesuvius
                                                            ACTUALLY, in MLB, MOST of the time, if the ball is in the strike zone, and the catcher drops it, the ump will call a ball. I'm not saying all the time but a good amount of the time this happens. Announcers talk about this sometimes too.

                                                            I also had personal experience of this in high school baseball even though it wasn't as strict.
                                                            finally, a smart response. if you watch enough baseball, you'll realize it is almost 50/50 for ball or strike depends on the umpire.

                                                            stop reading wikipedia and watch some real games.
                                                            Comment
                                                            • Willie Bee
                                                              SBR Posting Legend
                                                              • 02-14-06
                                                              • 15726

                                                              #31
                                                              Nope, it's a ball. Batter has to OFFER at the pitch. Freezing in that position with their bat just out over the plate a little does not constitute offering at the pitch.


                                                              Here's an explanation and then some on the question Pico had regarding a batter killed or injured by a pitch:
                                                              Base running assistance

                                                              Have a read of rule 5.10, which states: If an accident to a runner is such as to prevent him from proceeding to a base to which he is entitled, as on a home run hit out of the playing field, or an award of one or more bases, a substitute runner shall be permitted to complete the play.

                                                              This can result in some interesting base running scenarios. You may recall the Red Sox Blue Jays game on September 14, 2005 where, with Gabe Kapler on first, Tony Graffanino homered. While rounding second base Kapler ruptured his achillies tendon. Although he tried to get up he couldn’t continue. Graffanino correctly remained 10 feet or so behind Kapler knowing that if he passed him the home run would be struck from the record, Kapler would be out and Graffanino would have to stay on second. After a five minute delay Boston Manager, Terry Francona invoked rule 5.10 to put in a substitute runner, Alejandro Machado, for Kapler. The home run was completed and Boston scored two runs.

                                                              An interesting variation would have been if Graffanino had been injured and a pinch runner had scored his run. Would Graffanino have been credited with the home run? The rules aren’t clear so answers on a postcard please.

                                                              Incidentally, the rules would have also allowed Graffanino to give Kapler direct assistance. In the above instance there is nothing in the rules to prevent Graffanino from pushing or lifting Kapler around the bases himself.
                                                              Comment
                                                              • Mudcat
                                                                Restricted User
                                                                • 07-21-05
                                                                • 9287

                                                                #32
                                                                Originally posted by Willie Bee


                                                                Here's another one for y'all that is often missed by the 'average fan.' Let's say a batter squares around as if to bunt like the photo above. The barrel of the bat could even be a little more out. The batter just holds the pose and the pitch comes in wide of the plate. Ball or strike?

                                                                I'll say ball.

                                                                Although much like umpires having an instinct to call a pitch in the strike zone which a catcher drops a ball, I suspect some umpires would have an instinct to call this a strike even though that may not be the letter of the rule.

                                                                Or maybe I'm just totally wrong. But I'm saying ball.

                                                                I await the official word.
                                                                Comment
                                                                • Mudcat
                                                                  Restricted User
                                                                  • 07-21-05
                                                                  • 9287

                                                                  #33
                                                                  I typed my response (which was, like, totally correct) before Willie posted that.

                                                                  I swear on my mama's eyes.
                                                                  Comment
                                                                  • Shark79
                                                                    SBR Posting Legend
                                                                    • 11-19-07
                                                                    • 11211

                                                                    #34
                                                                    Mudcat ... cheating is not an option ... Willie answered before you did.
                                                                    Comment
                                                                    • louisvillekid
                                                                      SBR Hall of Famer
                                                                      • 08-14-07
                                                                      • 9262

                                                                      #35
                                                                      mudcat, WB's post probably went trough at 12:48 and 59 seconds and your post came through at 12:49 and 5 seconds. So you gonna need to hit that quote button and type like Lou and get yourself a badazz puter and internet connection before we believe you.
                                                                      Comment
                                                                      SBR Contests
                                                                      Collapse
                                                                      Top-Rated US Sportsbooks
                                                                      Collapse
                                                                      Working...