Player heaves it high from 3/4 quart at 1 second, then buzzer sounds, then it bounces at the free throw line and bounces up and in the basket.
Would that count?
d2bets
BARRELED IN @ SBR!
08-10-05
39995
#2
Nobody knows?
Comment
TwoWays
SBR Posting Legend
03-24-10
13145
#3
As long as it is released befor light going off
Comment
TwoWays
SBR Posting Legend
03-24-10
13145
#4
But it can't hit the floor. No way.
Comment
d2bets
BARRELED IN @ SBR!
08-10-05
39995
#5
As long as it is released befor light going off
But it can't hit the floor. No way.
......well which is it?
Comment
d2bets
BARRELED IN @ SBR!
08-10-05
39995
#6
Normally the ball could bounce off floor and in for a bucket, just not sure if the buzzer matters here.
Comment
existential
SBR MVP
07-21-14
2963
#7
i've always wondered this as well, but can't find a clear answer in the rule book
Comment
TwoWays
SBR Posting Legend
03-24-10
13145
#8
No way. Then wouldn't it be considered goaltending if a guy grabs the ball as it bounces
Comment
d2bets
BARRELED IN @ SBR!
08-10-05
39995
#9
Originally posted by TwoWays
No way. Then wouldn't it be considered goaltending if a guy grabs the ball as it bounces
Actually that was going to be my followup question.
But if this happened and it actually went in, does it count?
Comment
existential
SBR MVP
07-21-14
2963
#10
Originally posted by TwoWays
No way. Then wouldn't it be considered goaltending if a guy grabs the ball as it bounces
it certainly wouldn't be considered goaltending if touched after it bounced, but that doesn't necessarily mean that if it wasn't touched and then went in, that it wouldn't count.
Comment
d2bets
BARRELED IN @ SBR!
08-10-05
39995
#11
Originally posted by existential
it certainly wouldn't be considered goaltending if touched after it bounced, but that doesn't necessarily mean that if it wasn't touched and then went in, that it wouldn't count.
If it would count....what about a plyer from the opposing team that comes off the bench after the buzzer but while the ball is in the air to grab the ball after it bounces. Infraction?
Comment
Bigbill365
SBR MVP
06-22-12
4572
#12
If someone bounces a ball in off the ground it does count BUT it is not a field goal its actually considered a loose ball therefore it wouldnt be goal tending its the same this if a ball bounces of a rim in the air and a player fouls the other its called a loose ball foul.flight of the ball until it becomes deadis what they look for.There is no rule that states that a ball that bounces off the backbored then the ground and then the hoop but they use the "In Flight" as the rule.
Comment
existential
SBR MVP
07-21-14
2963
#13
Originally posted by d2bets
If it would count....what about a plyer from the opposing team that comes off the bench after the buzzer but while the ball is in the air to grab the ball after it bounces. Infraction?
if i had to guess, that would almost certainly be an infraction, as that would involve a non-active player touching the ball that would still technically be considered "live".
as for the original question, found this which appears to confirm it'd count..
Yesterday on TrueHoop we debated the legality of a buzzer-beating shot that leaves the hands of the shooter before the buzzer, but hits the floor after the end of the period, and then bounces in.
Comment
d2bets
BARRELED IN @ SBR!
08-10-05
39995
#14
Originally posted by existential
if i had to guess, that would almost certainly be an infraction, as that would involve a non-active player touching the ball that would still technically be considered "live".
as for the original question, found this which appears to confirm it'd count..
I asked this originally because I saw this happen last week at the end of the Bulls game in Orlando. Gasol got a rebound off a missed FT and heaved it high toward the basket. As it traveled I was wondering to see if it might bounce up but it never had a chance because a guy from Orlando's bench came on the floor to celebrate and grabbed it right after the bounce. No one said a word.
Comment
existential
SBR MVP
07-21-14
2963
#15
here's a full-court bouncer that went in, but was not a true buzzer beater.. there were still a few seconds left on the clock after it went in.
according to an article about this, had the buzzer already sounded before the ball bounced, her shot would not have counted. but is Rant Sports right about that? maybe. but then what about that NBA source from TrueHoop?
So how was it ruled? The shot counted. It was actually lucky for Olson that she released the ball a little sooner than she needed to. If the buzzer had gone off before the ball bounced on the floor, then the basket would not have counted.
RantSports is a dynamic sports media platform covering all major sports in the U.S., from the NFL and NBA to MLB, NHL, and college athletics. With a team of passionate journalists and analysts, RantSports delivers up-to-the-minute news, in-depth analysis, and expert opinions on the biggest stories in the sports world.…
Comment
Chi_archie
SBR Aristocracy
07-22-08
63172
#16
Does it count as a 3 or a two ?
Comment
d2bets
BARRELED IN @ SBR!
08-10-05
39995
#17
If the buzzer had gone off before the ball bounced on the floor, then the basket would not have counted.
Ohhhhhh, now that's interesting. That changes things.
Comment
existential
SBR MVP
07-21-14
2963
#18
According to the National Federation of State High School Associations, the shot counts for only two points; even though Olson shot it from well-beyond the three-point line, the eventual bounce at the other end of the court established it officially as a shot inside the arc.
Ohhhhhh, now that's interesting. That changes things.
Not necessarily. Keep in mind that was girls high school with their own league rules. Whereas we saw how the NBA responded to TrueHoop about the same scenario.
Though I'd love to see an NBA Finals game be decided this way and cause chaos