OMG a game ends on interference

Collapse
X
 
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts
  • pinnacle420
    SBR Hall of Famer
    • 10-01-12
    • 6254

    #36
    MLB: the new NFL
    Comment
    • zooom
      SBR Sharp
      • 09-02-13
      • 345

      #37
      rev up them pressure cookers!!
      Comment
      • boeing power
        SBR Hall of Famer
        • 03-23-10
        • 9698

        #38
        It was the right call,

        fukin guy thought he was in wwe with that fukin takedown.
        Comment
        • sbrhedge
          SBR MVP
          • 01-18-11
          • 1354

          #39
          Actually there were two really bad plays before that.

          First, Craig was so late running to third on an infield play to the plate. It's a force moveup with the goahead run that guarantees him 3rd base.

          Saltalamacchia was waiting to tag out Molina at home, and the play was going in really slow motion. Craig was almost at 3rd when Saltalamacchia made the throw, and he had no chance of getting Craig out. by the time the ball was near Middlebrooks at 3rd, Craig's left leg and arm were right at 3rd base. THAT was the real problem that cascaded into the Cards win.
          Comment
          • SplitAces
            SBR Sharp
            • 09-22-12
            • 434

            #40
            Boston fan and bet Boston too.
            He did trip him and it is obstruction.
            Buy why is Salty throwing it and why is Middlebooks staying on the base instead of moving his fing feet and catching the ball?
            Comment
            • BarkingToad
              SBR Hall of Famer
              • 08-31-08
              • 5913

              #41
              Originally posted by ChalkyDog

              That is a shit way to lose. Is it because he slightly lifted his leg?
              Middlebrook 1st trip attempt he only slightly lifted his leg. The 2nd attempt was more blatant when Craig got going. Who tries getting up kicking their legs backward when facing flat on the ground?
              Comment
              • oldscho0led
                SBR MVP
                • 01-18-11
                • 1407

                #42
                What a way to lose...especially with the rally they made.
                Comment
                • d2bets
                  BARRELED IN @ SBR!
                  • 08-10-05
                  • 39995

                  #43
                  Originally posted by Kaabee
                  Rule 7.06(a) [Type A Obstruction]
                  Criteria: Play must be attempted on obstructed runner at the moment obstruction is called.
                  Criteria 2: All instances of batter-runner obstruction before he reaches first base, regardless of whether or not there is a play being made on him at the instance of obstruction.
                  Execution: Ball is immediately dead and penalties imposed.
                  Penalty, All Runners: Umpire's discretion, to bases "they would have reached...if there had been no obstruction."
                  Penalty, Obstructed Runner: Mandatory minimum of a one-base award (awarded from last base legally touched at the time of obstruction). May be awarded additional bases.

                  Rule 7.06(b) [Type B Obstruction]
                  Criteria: No play is being attempted on the obstructed runner at the moment of obstruction.
                  Execution: Ball is live, play proceeds until no further action is possible. Penalties imposed after play.
                  Penalty, All Runners: Umpire's discretion, imposition of penalties to "nullify the act of obstruction."
                  Risk: Because the ball is live throughout Type B Obstruction, an obstructed runner may be declared out if he runs past the base he would have been awarded under Type B's penalty.
                  No matter what, they screwed up. Under Type B obstruction, the play is supposed to proceed. But the umpires has clearly signaled already and home plate ump didn't even make a call. The discretion should be exercised after the play based on whether in the ump's discretion the player would have been safe. Clearly he had already decided though.
                  Comment
                  • d2bets
                    BARRELED IN @ SBR!
                    • 08-10-05
                    • 39995

                    #44
                    Has anyone noted that the runner actually placed his hands first on the 3rd baseman, apparently to try to hold himself up and propel himself forward, even though he wasn't near the base. Is that legal?
                    Comment
                    • bubblebuttluv
                      SBR Hall of Famer
                      • 11-13-12
                      • 5179

                      #45
                      Originally posted by zooom
                      rev up them pressure cookers!!
                      brave.
                      Comment
                      • bubblebuttluv
                        SBR Hall of Famer
                        • 11-13-12
                        • 5179

                        #46
                        Originally posted by d2bets
                        Has anyone noted that the runner actually placed his hands first on the 3rd baseman, apparently to try to hold himself up and propel himself forward, even though he wasn't near the base. Is that legal?
                        I don't know if anyone knows what is legal or illegal in baseball anymore.

                        Baseball is wild now.
                        Comment
                        • ACoochy
                          SBR Posting Legend
                          • 08-19-09
                          • 13949

                          #47
                          Originally posted by Cuse0323
                          Fitting end to a terribly umped game. No consistency behind the plate and now that garbage. What is Middlebrooks suppose to do there
                          For starters keep his legs down...

                          You saw them on replay. Guy had them raised. Whether it was intentional or not is not the point.

                          They were obstructing the runner. The end
                          Comment
                          • d2bets
                            BARRELED IN @ SBR!
                            • 08-10-05
                            • 39995

                            #48
                            Log into Facebook to start sharing and connecting with your friends, family, and people you know.


                            Who really interfered?
                            Comment
                            • importmoon
                              SBR MVP
                              • 04-22-11
                              • 1140

                              #49
                              Originally posted by onacloud
                              final play

                              good call
                              Comment
                              • boeing power
                                SBR Hall of Famer
                                • 03-23-10
                                • 9698

                                #50
                                Originally posted by d2bets
                                Has anyone noted that the runner actually placed his hands first on the 3rd baseman, apparently to try to hold himself up and propel himself forward, even though he wasn't near the base. Is that legal?
                                You're from Boston or bet on boston?
                                Comment
                                • d2bets
                                  BARRELED IN @ SBR!
                                  • 08-10-05
                                  • 39995

                                  #51
                                  Originally posted by boeing power
                                  You're from Boston or bet on boston?
                                  Neither.
                                  Comment
                                  • d2bets
                                    BARRELED IN @ SBR!
                                    • 08-10-05
                                    • 39995

                                    #52
                                    Also, take a look at the direction the runner started in when he tripped over his feet. Looked like he was headed to the mound. Runner was lost. If he had headed the right way he might not trip.
                                    Comment
                                    • boeing power
                                      SBR Hall of Famer
                                      • 03-23-10
                                      • 9698

                                      #53
                                      Originally posted by d2bets
                                      Neither.
                                      ya right, 100% right call.
                                      Comment
                                      • ttwarrior1
                                        BARRELED IN @ SBR!
                                        • 06-23-09
                                        • 28464

                                        #54
                                        that is a no call at Best... if the fielder had been on his feet and refused to get out of the way or on his back and kicked up to trip the runner then yes obstruction would be called. There is no way you can make a game deciding call on a guy on his stomach that was watching the ball and had his hands on the ground about to push up until he felt contact... no way you can call that ...


                                        and no im not a cardinal hater or a sox fan, being unbiased
                                        Comment
                                        • boeing power
                                          SBR Hall of Famer
                                          • 03-23-10
                                          • 9698

                                          #55
                                          Originally posted by ttwarrior1
                                          that is a no call at Best... if the fielder had been on his feet and refused to get out of the way or on his back and kicked up to trip the runner then yes obstruction would be called. There is no way you can make a game deciding call on a guy on his stomach that was watching the ball and had his hands on the ground about to push up until he felt contact... no way you can call that ...


                                          and no im not a cardinal hater or a sox fan, being unbiased
                                          You got downs, so nobody cares.
                                          Comment
                                          • ThaTopMoron
                                            BARRELED IN @ SBR!
                                            • 04-30-10
                                            • 27020

                                            #56
                                            all in on Cards to win the series now for you juice heads

                                            Beltran gets one
                                            Comment
                                            • d2bets
                                              BARRELED IN @ SBR!
                                              • 08-10-05
                                              • 39995

                                              #57
                                              You could also easily argue he lifted his feet to get out of the baseline to let the runner through. The runner was not near the baseline and was not heading in the right direction. How can a guy on the ground predict that? Does the runner have no responsibility to avoid tripping over feet when he's not where he should be?
                                              Comment
                                              • pinnacle420
                                                SBR Hall of Famer
                                                • 10-01-12
                                                • 6254

                                                #58
                                                Originally posted by boeing power
                                                You got downs, so nobody cares.
                                                Hahahahahahahaha buried
                                                Comment
                                                • ttwarrior1
                                                  BARRELED IN @ SBR!
                                                  • 06-23-09
                                                  • 28464

                                                  #59
                                                  yeh he really buried me there, rolleyes, just proved my point on what type of guy he is, if he even is a guy, more like gay
                                                  Comment
                                                  • d2bets
                                                    BARRELED IN @ SBR!
                                                    • 08-10-05
                                                    • 39995

                                                    #60
                                                    Why did the HP umpire signal safe at home? Is he actually saying he was safe. Obstruction you just raise your hands in the air. Look at Rule B he should have made the actual call and then the penalty is imposed after the play. Umps don't know the rules.
                                                    Comment
                                                    • Deuce
                                                      BARRELED IN @ SBR!
                                                      • 01-12-08
                                                      • 29843

                                                      #61


                                                      Comment
                                                      • d2bets
                                                        BARRELED IN @ SBR!
                                                        • 08-10-05
                                                        • 39995

                                                        #62
                                                        Originally posted by Deuce


                                                        How did Joyce even see it seeing as he was looking away? Does he have a 3rd eye in his ear?
                                                        Comment
                                                        • crustyme
                                                          SBR Posting Legend
                                                          • 09-29-10
                                                          • 16896

                                                          #63
                                                          Originally posted by d2bets
                                                          Why did the HP umpire signal safe at home? Is he actually saying he was safe. Obstruction you just raise your hands in the air. Look at Rule B he should have made the actual call and then the penalty is imposed after the play. Umps don't know the rules.
                                                          ump pointed at 3b twice to acknowledge the interference call before signaling safe.

                                                          it was 100% interference.
                                                          Comment
                                                          • lakerboy
                                                            SBR Aristocracy
                                                            • 04-02-09
                                                            • 94379

                                                            #64
                                                            It was a bad call. Cards were getting all the close pitches around the zone all night. Typical .
                                                            Comment
                                                            • d2bets
                                                              BARRELED IN @ SBR!
                                                              • 08-10-05
                                                              • 39995

                                                              #65
                                                              Originally posted by crustyme
                                                              ump pointed at 3b twice to acknowledge the interference call before signaling safe.

                                                              it was 100% interference.
                                                              Oh I get that, but look at the rule. Penalty is imposed AFTER the play concludes.

                                                              Execution: Ball is live, play proceeds until no further action is possible. Penalties imposed after play.
                                                              Comment
                                                              • crustyme
                                                                SBR Posting Legend
                                                                • 09-29-10
                                                                • 16896

                                                                #66
                                                                stop with the damn conspiracy theories and watch the gif onacloud posted... joyce clearly saw the trip.



                                                                Comment
                                                                • crustyme
                                                                  SBR Posting Legend
                                                                  • 09-29-10
                                                                  • 16896

                                                                  #67
                                                                  Originally posted by lakerboy
                                                                  It was a bad call. Cards were getting all the close pitches around the zone all night. Typical .

                                                                  Comment
                                                                  • smitch124
                                                                    SBR Posting Legend
                                                                    • 05-19-08
                                                                    • 12566

                                                                    #68
                                                                    The Cards should get the run for such an ill advised throw. What was he thinking?
                                                                    Comment
                                                                    • Cuse0323
                                                                      BARRELED IN @ SBR!
                                                                      • 12-09-09
                                                                      • 30169

                                                                      #69

                                                                      He was certainly obstructing him. From running outside the base path.
                                                                      Comment
                                                                      • boeing power
                                                                        SBR Hall of Famer
                                                                        • 03-23-10
                                                                        • 9698

                                                                        #70
                                                                        Originally posted by Cuse0323

                                                                        He was certainly obstructing him. From running outside the base path.
                                                                        Wow you're a fuking retard.
                                                                        Comment
                                                                        Search
                                                                        Collapse
                                                                        SBR Contests
                                                                        Collapse
                                                                        Top-Rated US Sportsbooks
                                                                        Collapse
                                                                        Working...