Skip to main content
Marcus Sasser #0 of the Houston Cougars shoots as we look at the top March Madness MVP odds
Marcus Sasser #0 of the Houston Cougars shoots against K.D. Johnson #0 of the Auburn Tigers during the second half in the second round of the NCAA Men's Basketball Tournament at Legacy Arena at the BJCC on March 18, 2023 in Birmingham, Alabama. Photo by Alex Slitz/Getty Images via AFP.

March Madness moves into the Sweet 16 this week, meaning the race for March Madness MVP heats up. Below, we look at the March Madness MVP odds based on input from the best March Madness betting sites.

As with most major team sports championships, the NCAA Tournament's Most Outstanding Player award is an apt way to reward the one player on the title-winning roster who had the biggest impact on his team's success.

At first glance, there really isn't much to making an educated wager here: Examine which teams are the favorites in the Final Four odds, and identify players on those rosters who are most likely to be the difference makers. But the NCAA Tournament rarely unfolds as planned – and judging by the list of previous MOP award winners, it's not always the top dog that gets the honor.

March Madness MVP odds

We have our first look at March Madness MVP odds courtesy FanDuel Sportsbook and DraftKings Sportsbook:

Brandon MillerAlabama+370+370
Marcus SasserHouston+650+500
Jaime Jaquez Jr.UCLA+1200+1100
Drew TimmeGonzaga+1300+1500
Adama SanogoUConn+2000+1200
Marcus CarrTexas+2200+1800
Jahvon QuinerlyAlabama+2000+3000
Jarace WalkerHouston+2400+3000
Santiago VescoviTennessee+2900+2500

Odds updated Thursday, March 23 at 10:40 a.m. ET. Check out March Madness MVP picks here.

The majority of the best sportsbooks in the industry should soon follow suit.

Not all major betting sites post their March Madness MVP odds at the same time (though their March Madness odds have been up for most of the season) – so having accounts at multiple sports betting sites will increase your chances of being able to wager on this prop as early as possible.

Bookmark this article and check back often for more March Madness MVP odds.

Editor's note: Hey Massachusetts! Welcome to legal online sports betting. Check out the best sites for Massachusetts sports betting and the best Massachusetts sportsbook promos! 21+ and present in MA. Gambling Problem? Call 1-800-GAMBLER  

March Madness MVP odds analysis

Sportsbook Review puts the players first – and when it comes to the quality of March Madness MVP odds, we have exactly what you need to make the best decision on where to bet.

Check in here once a wider selection of March Madness MVP odds are available for a detailed breakdown of which sports betting sites are providing the best value to bettors – and which ones come up short.

March Madness MVP odds movement

Anyone who knows how to bet on March Madness knows that the odds picture can change from one minute to the next – and this is particularly true in the initial hours when markets are first posted.

We'll break down all significant March Madness MVP odds movement as it happens, so visit this page regularly to see how the odds are changing before making your bet.

March Madness MVP history

If it seems like March Madness MVPs only come from teams that win the championship, you would be mostly right.

While it was a far more common practice for the tournament committee to honor the best player in the competition regardless of whether his team took home the title, that trend has long since faded. Here's a look at the list of NCAA Tournament Most Outstanding Players since 2000 (the 2020 tournament was canceled due to the COVID-19 pandemic):

2022Ochai AgbajiKansas
2021Jared ButlerBaylor
2019Kyle GuyVirginia
2018Donte DiVincenzoVillanova
2017Joel Berry IINorth Carolina
2016Ryan ArciadaconoVillanova
2015Tyus JonesDuke
2014Shabazz NapierConnecticut
2013Luke HancockLouisville
2012Anthony DavisKentucky
2011Kemba WalkerConnecticut
2010Kyle SinglerDuke
2009Wayne EllingtonNorth Carolina
2008Mario ChalmersKansas
2007Corey BrewerFlorida
2006Joakim NoahFlorida
2005Sean MayNorth Carolina
2004Emeka OkaforConnecticut
2003Carmelo AnthonySyracuse
2002Juan DixonMaryland
2001Shane BattierDuke
2000Mateen CleavesMichigan State

There hasn't been an NCAA Tournament Most Outstanding Player from a non-title team since 1983, when future No. 1 pick and Pro Basketball Hall of Famer Akeem Olajuwon took home the honor for a Houston Cougars team that fell to NC State in the title game.

March Madness MVP FAQ

How is the March Madness MVP determined?

News wire agency The Associated Press chooses the tournament's Most Outstanding Player following the completion of the championship game.

How can I bet on the March Madness MVP?

Sports betting sites have menus devoted to March Madness markets; simply access these markets via your sportsbook of choice, search for "March Madness MVP" (or "Most Outstanding Player"), select the player you wish to bet on, set your stake and send it through!

Who won last year's March Madness MVP?

Ochai Agbaji was the 2022 March Madness MVP; he was listed at odds of +150 heading into the championship game.

March Madness betting

Haven't had your fill of March Madness betting content? Check out some of our other NCAA Tournament offerings here:

Here are our best March Madness betting sites:

(21+. Gambling Problem? Call 1-800-GAMBLER)
* Bonuses not applicable in Ontario.

Related pages