Balk question

Collapse
X
 
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts
  • rck2nds
    SBR Rookie
    • 04-26-07
    • 3

    #1
    Balk question
    When a runner is on third and the third baseman is down the line (protecting against the bunt) and the pitcher throws to the third baseman (who is not at the base) is it a balk?
  • cincy_1
    SBR High Roller
    • 01-10-06
    • 107

    #2
    Originally posted by rck2nds
    When a runner is on third and the third baseman is down the line (protecting against the bunt) and the pitcher throws to the third baseman (who is not at the base) is it a balk?
    Once he steps off, he can throw it anywhere, I think.
    Comment
    • KC
      SBR MVP
      • 04-12-07
      • 1613

      #3
      cincy is correct
      Comment
      • tacomax
        SBR Hall of Famer
        • 08-10-05
        • 9619

        #4
        Originally posted by rck2nds
        When a runner is on third and the third baseman is down the line (protecting against the bunt) and the pitcher throws to the third baseman (who is not at the base) is it a balk?
        I'm going to say yes, but this is purely based on the fact that I think it would be called a balk if it happened at 1st base. I once saw a match where the pitcher threw to the guy on first base for a pick-off but the first baseman was not at his base and was called a balk.

        Odd thing about balks - they're like some ancient art form. Quite often when one happens on a televised baseball match, the commentators haven't got a clue on why it occurred.
        Originally posted by pags11
        SBR would never get rid of me...ever...
        Originally posted by BuddyBear
        I'd probably most likely chose Pags to jack off too.
        Originally posted by curious
        taco is not a troll, he is a bubonic plague bacteria.
        Comment
        • RickySteve
          Restricted User
          • 01-31-06
          • 3415

          #5
          He didn't say the pitcher stepped off the rubber.
          Comment
          • BAUS
            SBR MVP
            • 08-10-05
            • 2191

            #6
            It depends if the pitcher is in the windup or the stretch.

            BAUS
            Comment
            • rck2nds
              SBR Rookie
              • 04-26-07
              • 3

              #7
              more info

              Assume the pitcher does everything correct and within the rules............if he throws to a player not with in "tagging" distance of the bag, is it a balk????
              Comment
              • cobra_king
                SBR MVP
                • 08-07-06
                • 2491

                #8
                The answer to this is yes.

                Part of Rule 8.05 (c) states.

                A pitcher is to step DIRECTLY TOWARD A BASE before throwing to that base but does not require him to throw (except to first base only) because he steps.

                Therefore if the 3rd baseman is playing well in and the pitcher throws the ball to him nowhere near the base it would be a balk.
                Comment
                • tacomax
                  SBR Hall of Famer
                  • 08-10-05
                  • 9619

                  #9
                  Originally posted by rck2nds
                  Assume the pitcher does everything correct and within the rules............if he throws to a player not with in "tagging" distance of the bag, is it a balk????
                  That was the assumption I made. Since I think that's a balk at 1st base, I'd say it's a balk at 3rd base as well.

                  Incidentally, do you know the right answer?
                  Originally posted by pags11
                  SBR would never get rid of me...ever...
                  Originally posted by BuddyBear
                  I'd probably most likely chose Pags to jack off too.
                  Originally posted by curious
                  taco is not a troll, he is a bubonic plague bacteria.
                  Comment
                  • homedog
                    SBR Sharp
                    • 09-08-05
                    • 260

                    #10
                    Originally posted by cobra_king
                    The answer to this is yes.

                    Part of Rule 8.05 (c) states.

                    A pitcher is to step DIRECTLY TOWARD A BASE before throwing to that base but does not require him to throw (except to first base only) because he steps.

                    Therefore if the 3rd baseman is playing well in and the pitcher throws the ball to him nowhere near the base it would be a balk.
                    If that is correct then I have learned something.

                    What happens if the pitcher steps off the rubber while the runner on 1st (trying to steal 2nd) has already made his move to 2nd and gets him caught up between 1st and 2nd?

                    The pitcher is taught to run straight at him and then throw in the direction he runs.

                    Is this a balk?

                    I think not.
                    Comment
                    • cobra_king
                      SBR MVP
                      • 08-07-06
                      • 2491

                      #11
                      The rule quoted applies while the pitcher is on the rubber and hasn't stepped off it.
                      Comment
                      • rck2nds
                        SBR Rookie
                        • 04-26-07
                        • 3

                        #12
                        Response

                        I have always thought it to be a balk, although I've not been able to find a clear definition of this. I agree the rule can be interpretted that the pitcher, from the rubber must step directly at the base and throw to that base. If he steps off, he is then considered a fielder and can run at the base runner or throw to another fielder in any position. But he must step off the rubber first.

                        I've seen umpires at the high school level call this both ways, much like the foul tip / live ball ruling.
                        Comment
                        • Willie Bee
                          SBR Posting Legend
                          • 02-14-06
                          • 15726

                          #13
                          Originally posted by rck2nds
                          I've seen umpires at the high school level call this both ways, much like the foul tip / live ball ruling.
                          The foul tip/live ball one is something a lot of people don't know about.

                          We don't have balks in Little League where I umpire, just illegal pitches. And yet I'll hear it several times a season from the stands, some parent will holler out balk even though it's just not possible at that level.

                          I recall there were a couple of managers, believe Tommy LaPasta was one of them, in the 80s who argued about the "throw to the bag" bit because of the way Keith Hernandez played first base. Hernandez would not get right on or in front of the bag like most first sackers, instead drifting off in front of the runner, almost matching the runner's lead. Often a pitcher's pickoff throw would be fielded by Hernandez several feet off the base. But since Hernandez was in swiping/tagging range of the runner, this was ruled ok.
                          Comment
                          Search
                          Collapse
                          SBR Contests
                          Collapse
                          Top-Rated US Sportsbooks
                          Collapse
                          Working...