The Refs have no idea how to determine "control of the ball" in the endzone.

Collapse
X
 
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts
  • Bluehorseshoe
    SBR Posting Legend
    • 07-13-06
    • 15058

    #1
    The Refs have no idea how to determine "control of the ball" in the endzone.
    I agree with what the refs just called in the Lions game, but Mike Pereria (who use to be a ref and now works for Fox Sports) calls it completely the other way. It's a crap shoot every time how they're going to call it.
  • d2bets
    BARRELED IN @ SBR!
    • 08-10-05
    • 39847

    #2
    He never had possession, let alone a football move. Complete joke. Refs can call whatever they want because there is no coherent rule.
    Comment
    • Bluehorseshoe
      SBR Posting Legend
      • 07-13-06
      • 15058

      #3
      Originally posted by d2bets
      He never had possession, let alone a football move. Complete joke. Refs can call whatever they want because there is no coherent rule.
      Here's the problem.......I thought he did. To me, it looked like he had control and took two steps. It could go either way every time.
      Comment
      • d2bets
        BARRELED IN @ SBR!
        • 08-10-05
        • 39847

        #4
        Originally posted by Bluehorseshoe
        Here's the problem.......I thought he did. To me, it looked like he had control and took two steps. It could go either way every time.
        Not BEFORE he reached the endzone. When you do this in the endzone then you must complete the process. In no way did he become a runner before touching the plane. They blew it. Let's see if and how league tries to justify this after.
        Comment
        • dfish
          SBR MVP
          • 12-17-10
          • 2730

          #5


          If a player is attempting to possess a live loose ball (forward pass or punt or fumble) while going to the ground, he must maintain control of this ball until the momentum that is causing him to fall is stopped. Until his momentum has stopped, he is not a ball carrier with possession.


          Comment
          • d2bets
            BARRELED IN @ SBR!
            • 08-10-05
            • 39847

            #6
            The only way it would be different is if he made the catch before reaching the endzone. IN that case, he becomes a runner and breaking the plan rule applies. But it is 100% clear that when his feet came down the ball was in the endzone. Therefore, it is a catch inside the endzone and he must finish the process. He didn't. The replays refs blew the call.
            Comment
            • TheMoneyShot
              BARRELED IN @ SBR!
              • 02-14-07
              • 28690

              #7
              Crazy plays lately. Coin flip calls. Shouldn't be that way... but it's happening.
              Comment
              • The Kraken
                BARRELED IN @ SBR!
                • 12-25-11
                • 29085

                #8
                The question really is, who is everyone betting on

                That clearly decides if he had control or not
                Comment
                Search
                Collapse
                SBR Contests
                Collapse
                Top-Rated US Sportsbooks
                Collapse
                Working...