Yet another interesting call involving a Lions game

Collapse
X
 
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts
  • unde0087
    BARRELED IN @ SBR!
    • 03-27-08
    • 28956

    #1
    Yet another interesting call involving a Lions game
    I am not sure how they overturned that
  • d2bets
    BARRELED IN @ SBR!
    • 08-10-05
    • 39995

    #2
    Completely absurd. Speechless. Let's see how they justify this later. Process of the catch? Became a runner? Football move?

    Nobody understands the damn rules. But that sure looked like an interception.
    Comment
    • unde0087
      BARRELED IN @ SBR!
      • 03-27-08
      • 28956

      #3
      Ya, it's getting rediculous. I just can't believe it always seems to involve the Lions
      Comment
      • TwoWays
        SBR Posting Legend
        • 03-24-10
        • 13145

        #4
        Who do u blame. No name to guys in New York calling reversing it. Clearly an interception.
        Comment
        • d2bets
          BARRELED IN @ SBR!
          • 08-10-05
          • 39995

          #5
          I guess they must have said he fully caught the ball in the field of play, became a runner before reaching endzone and then crossed the plane. But don't you have to have possession and then make a football move before you become a runner? No way he did that. He crossed endzone before both feet even came down. Therefore, he has to finish catch which he most clearly did not as it was immediately jarred loose.
          Comment
          • TwoWays
            SBR Posting Legend
            • 03-24-10
            • 13145

            #6
            There's no justification to reverse it. He's not a runner. He didn't complete process of catch. He didn't make a football move. They have no reason to overturn that.
            Comment
            • rm18
              SBR Posting Legend
              • 09-20-05
              • 22291

              #7
              Golden Tate
              Comment
              • icecapper
                SBR Wise Guy
                • 09-29-09
                • 788

                #8
                This call is hilarious. Honestly the shittiest league all in all. Thank goodness for fantasy/gambling.
                Comment
                • unde0087
                  BARRELED IN @ SBR!
                  • 03-27-08
                  • 28956

                  #9
                  Love how the ref doesn't explain knowing when he reverses the call it will be talked about all week
                  Comment
                  • CanuckG
                    SBR Posting Legend
                    • 12-23-10
                    • 21978

                    #10
                    Blandino just explained it on NFL REDZONE. Makes sense. Still hate it though.
                    Comment
                    • d2bets
                      BARRELED IN @ SBR!
                      • 08-10-05
                      • 39995

                      #11
                      Originally posted by CanuckG
                      Blandino just explained it on NFL REDZONE. Makes sense. Still hate it though.
                      aaaaaaand what is the explanation. Pereira disagrees.
                      Comment
                      • Roadtrip635
                        SBR Hall of Famer
                        • 12-07-10
                        • 6129

                        #12
                        I guess rule these plays according to who they have money on, cuz it surely isn't based on consistency.
                        Comment
                        • TwoWays
                          SBR Posting Legend
                          • 03-24-10
                          • 13145

                          #13
                          Only blandino agrees with the reverse call. Everyone else including former nfl refs disagrees with him.
                          Comment
                          • d2bets
                            BARRELED IN @ SBR!
                            • 08-10-05
                            • 39995

                            #14
                            100% wrong. Take a look. He did not get two feet down until the ball broke the plane. Therefore, he did not catch the ball before the endzone. When the ball is caught (or attempted to catch) in the endzone, then the "broke the plane" rules do not apply. WE all know you must finish the process, and he clearly did not.

                            So again, I need to hear Blandino's explanation. What exactly was it???? Someone?
                            Comment
                            • CanuckG
                              SBR Posting Legend
                              • 12-23-10
                              • 21978

                              #15
                              The official source for NFL news, video highlights, fantasy football, game-day coverage, schedules, stats, scores and more.
                              Comment
                              • unde0087
                                BARRELED IN @ SBR!
                                • 03-27-08
                                • 28956

                                #16
                                Originally posted by d2bets
                                aaaaaaand what is the explanation. Pereira disagrees.
                                Exactly
                                Comment
                                • d2bets
                                  BARRELED IN @ SBR!
                                  • 08-10-05
                                  • 39995

                                  #17
                                  Hie explanation is wrong, for the reasons I stated. For that to be true, he has to become a runner outside of the endzone. So if he had not been in the endzone when both feet came down he'd be right. But go to the tape, when the second foot came down the ball was well past the plane. A catch inside the endzone has a different rule -- breaking the plane doesn't apply.

                                  Notice Balndino doesn't even address this. I think he just assumed the catch was before the endzone. He needs to look again.

                                  This is not debatable. The rule in this case is actually clear enough to know that it was not a TD.
                                  Comment
                                  • d2bets
                                    BARRELED IN @ SBR!
                                    • 08-10-05
                                    • 39995

                                    #18
                                    Let's see if I can make this even clearer:

                                    1. When the ball hit his chest, his feet were in the air. It cannot be a catch until two feet hit down. Can we all agree on that?
                                    2. Now go to the tape...stop it when the second foot comes down -- where is this ball? Is it outside of the endzone or inside the endzone? Answer: INSIDE. Right?
                                    3. OK, then. When the ball is caught INSIDE the endzone, we all know that the receiver must complete the process. He did not. Defender was in contact and the ball was jarred loose immediately.

                                    That is NOT a catch. Period. And end of story.
                                    Comment
                                    • ttwarrior1
                                      BARRELED IN @ SBR!
                                      • 06-23-09
                                      • 28460

                                      #19
                                      even detroit fans know thats not a touchdown, won't matter, bears will win
                                      Comment
                                      • ttwarrior1
                                        BARRELED IN @ SBR!
                                        • 06-23-09
                                        • 28460

                                        #20
                                        um, no, u don't need feet down to catch a ball in the endzone. Thats not the reason i don't think it should of been a td

                                        Originally posted by d2bets
                                        Let's see if I can make this even clearer:

                                        1. When the ball hit his chest, his feet were in the air. It cannot be a catch until two feet hit down. Can we all agree on that?
                                        2. Now go to the tape...stop it when the second foot comes down -- where is this ball? Is it outside of the endzone or inside the endzone? Answer: INSIDE. Right?
                                        3. OK, then. When the ball is caught INSIDE the endzone, we all know that the receiver must complete the process. He did not. Defender was in contact and the ball was jarred loose immediately.

                                        That is NOT a catch. Period. And end of story.
                                        Comment
                                        • d2bets
                                          BARRELED IN @ SBR!
                                          • 08-10-05
                                          • 39995

                                          #21
                                          Originally posted by ttwarrior1
                                          um, no, u don't need feet down to catch a ball in the endzone. Thats not the reason i don't think it should of been a td
                                          Say what? Are you suggesting that a ball can be a catch without getting 2 feet (or another body part) down? When you catch a ball airborne, it cannot be a catch until 2 feet or a body part hit down. This is not the hard part.
                                          Comment
                                          Search
                                          Collapse
                                          SBR Contests
                                          Collapse
                                          Top-Rated US Sportsbooks
                                          Collapse
                                          Working...