Lafontaine12
    Lafontaine12's Avatar Become A Pro!
    Betpoints: 583

+EV

Hi there. I'm rather new to betting. And think I finally got the handle on +EV. My question is should I be betting every game that has positive EV, no matter how small the edge is? If I believe that a team has .5% edge should I be betting that? Or only when I believe a team has 1-10% edge.

RangeFinder
    RangeFinder's Avatar Become A Pro!
    Betpoints: 2697

My suggestion is to have a buffer zone for room for error. Remember, when crunching numbers for sports it is speculative. I personally need a 10% edge from my numbers compared to the books. That being said, I make anywhere form 3-5% of money I put through during the course of a year. So, as you ca see, there are errors that occur during the process. In a perfect world, I'd like to make that 10% long term but that is just not reality.

jjgold
    jjgold's Avatar Become A Pro!
    Betpoints: 10

Range Finder so your saying you make 5% a year from sportsbetting?

RangeFinder

Quote Originally Posted by jjgold View Post
    Range Finder so your saying you make 5% a year from sportsbetting?
    5% is a good year. Some years 3%. It fluctuates.

Vastey
    Vastey's Avatar Become A Pro!
    Betpoints: 1596

Quote Originally Posted by RangeFinder View Post
    5% is a good year. Some years 3%. It fluctuates.
    Do you mean ROI or % of start bank?

RangeFinder

Quote Originally Posted by Vastey View Post
    Do you mean ROI or % of start bank?
    ROI

jjgold

That is terrible actually for high risk

go put 100k in diverse mutual funds with very little long term risk

Heck banks give 1.5% if you shop around

Unless I am missing something 3% is horrific

The Kraken
    The Kraken's Avatar Become A Pro!
    Betpoints: 532

Yes, bet every game you have an edge. If not, you're leaving money on the table.