Belk Bowl- Virginia Tech vs Arkansas in game thread

Collapse
X
 
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts
  • JayDr3am
    SBR Posting Legend
    • 05-06-14
    • 18260

    #106
    IS V TECH 2h EVEN A QUESTION OR DOES RAZORBACKS ROLL
    Comment
    • YoungGambler
      SBR MVP
      • 09-15-14
      • 1744

      #107
      Originally posted by BigDofBA
      That's what I'm wondering. I have the over. Why don't the get the ball at the spot of the fumble?

      They just restarted the drive? WTF

      wait....this is true. Before the review they were in VT territory
      Comment
      • rizespor
        SBR MVP
        • 06-21-16
        • 1900

        #108
        Originally posted by ans61201
        I'm honestly more mind boggled by the spot then the fumble.....and the fumble was one of the worst calls I've ever seen
        There was a penalty... But it was after the kick. It's almost like they enforced the penalty from where they punted
        Comment
        • JayDr3am
          SBR Posting Legend
          • 05-06-14
          • 18260

          #109
          lol dont know why that was caps
          Comment
          • Cuse0323
            BARRELED IN @ SBR!
            • 12-09-09
            • 30169

            #110
            Well, this crew will be fired. Oh wait, they can fck up at their job, and still have it.
            Comment
            • krk1030
              SBR Posting Legend
              • 08-13-08
              • 17610

              #111
              Why thw fukk did i not just play ark.

              Tech cant even get 1 td to hit the over. Losers
              Comment
              • Fred The Hammer
                SBR Posting Legend
                • 08-13-13
                • 11582

                #112
                Jesus....the 5-7 bowl teams could roll Va Tech tonite. They can't do shit
                Comment
                • ans61201
                  SBR MVP
                  • 10-11-15
                  • 3661

                  #113
                  Originally posted by YoungGambler
                  wait....this is true. Before the review they were in VT territory


                  Yes. Recap. Punt from ark 20. To 50. Fumble to Vtech 38. Blown dead at 36. Holding penalty on Vtech. Fumble awarded to ark. And they start the drive on their own 18? What in the actual penetrate
                  Comment
                  • rizespor
                    SBR MVP
                    • 06-21-16
                    • 1900

                    #114
                    24-24 ot
                    Comment
                    • Fred The Hammer
                      SBR Posting Legend
                      • 08-13-13
                      • 11582

                      #115
                      They awarded possession from a ball rolling around on the ground and then moved the spot like 30-40 yards.....that's the weirdest shit I've ever seen
                      Comment
                      • ans61201
                        SBR MVP
                        • 10-11-15
                        • 3661

                        #116
                        Originally posted by JayDr3am
                        IS V TECH 2h EVEN A QUESTION OR DOES RAZORBACKS ROLL
                        Vtech seems to obvious. Scared of teams down this much in a bowl that doesn't matter. You'll know in the first two possessions. If they get a stop and score they will pull this within 10 before finish. Or they will quit and it'll be a route
                        Comment
                        • BigDofBA
                          SBR Posting Legend
                          • 09-30-09
                          • 19313

                          #117
                          I think Biliema intimidated the refs and got them to totally penetrate up the call.

                          Va. Tech recovered the ball at their 26 yard line.

                          How Arkansas retained possession AND RESTARTED THEIR DRIVE AT THEIR OWN 30 is beyond me.

                          Even if you penetrate up the call, shouldn't Arkansas get the ball where he fumble occurred?

                          WTF just happened. It seems like the refs screw up 3-4 things on one play.
                          Comment
                          • rizespor
                            SBR MVP
                            • 06-21-16
                            • 1900

                            #118
                            Originally posted by Fred The Hammer
                            They awarded possession from a ball rolling around on the ground and then moved the spot like 30-40 yards.....that's the weirdest shit I've ever seen
                            basically sums it up
                            Comment
                            • Cuse0323
                              BARRELED IN @ SBR!
                              • 12-09-09
                              • 30169

                              #119
                              So confused. It doesn't help that Dan Patrick is senile. They didn't even mention how the field completely flipped. Weirdest shit I've ever seen.
                              Comment
                              • Eddy Munny
                                SBR Posting Legend
                                • 08-13-13
                                • 15768

                                #120
                                As far as I can tell, there was a holding penalty on V. Tech during the punt play.... Once it was determined that the Hokies actually recovered the ball (initially ruled Ark) then Razorbacks obviously accepted the penalty that gave them a new set of downs from where they punted plus the penalty yardage.

                                So in other words, the refs got it right... Hokies recovered, but the penalty negated the play and gave Arkansas a first down. The television crew was lost as to what actually happened.
                                Comment
                                • Fred The Hammer
                                  SBR Posting Legend
                                  • 08-13-13
                                  • 11582

                                  #121
                                  Originally posted by BigDofBA
                                  I think Biliema intimidated the refs and got them to totally penetrate up the call.

                                  Va. Tech recovered the ball at their 26 yard line.

                                  How Arkansas retained possession AND RESTARTED THEIR DRIVE AT THEIR OWN 30 is beyond me.

                                  Even if you penetrate up the call, shouldn't Arkansas get the ball where he fumble occurred?

                                  WTF just happened. It seems like the refs screw up 3-4 things on one play.

                                  I want to say they thought Va Tech got screwed but Bielema was technically right about the whistle so they invented a makeup phantom spot & moved the ball 40-50 yards...lol

                                  Why not just call holding 2-3 times in a row on Ark instead?
                                  Comment
                                  • kingdom
                                    SBR Posting Legend
                                    • 07-25-10
                                    • 10099

                                    #122
                                    espn put the stat up. arkansas this season +63 pts 1H, -62 2H. pretty good indicator of the way the second half should go. i'm taking tech and giving the 6.5
                                    Comment
                                    • Bluehorseshoe
                                      SBR Posting Legend
                                      • 07-13-06
                                      • 15004

                                      #123
                                      But they ran two plays in V Tech territory and then was brought back to their own part of the field. It's crazy.

                                      They stopped what they were doing during the commercial and made believe it didn't happen.
                                      Comment
                                      • johnnyvegas13
                                        BARRELED IN @ SBR!
                                        • 05-21-15
                                        • 27897

                                        #124
                                        Originally posted by JayDr3am
                                        IS V TECH 2h EVEN A QUESTION OR DOES RAZORBACKS ROLL

                                        i took arky and under 2nd half
                                        Comment
                                        • rizespor
                                          SBR MVP
                                          • 06-21-16
                                          • 1900

                                          #125
                                          Originally posted by Eddy Munny
                                          As far as I can tell, there was a holding penalty on V. Tech during the punt play.... Once it was determined that the Hokies actually recovered the ball (initially ruled Ark) then Razorbacks obviously accepted the penalty that gave them a new set of downs from where they punted plus the penalty yardage.

                                          So in other words, the refs got it right... Hokies recovered, but the penalty negated the play and gave Arkansas a first down. The television crew was lost as to what actually happened.
                                          That's what it seemed like... But wasn't the penalty during the kick? So tech should retain possession and spot foul
                                          Comment
                                          • JayDr3am
                                            SBR Posting Legend
                                            • 05-06-14
                                            • 18260

                                            #126
                                            Bielema just guaranteed to win the second half....
                                            Comment
                                            • kingdom
                                              SBR Posting Legend
                                              • 07-25-10
                                              • 10099

                                              #127
                                              Originally posted by Cuse0323
                                              So confused. It doesn't help that Dan Patrick is senile. They didn't even mention how the field completely flipped. Weirdest shit I've ever seen.
                                              lol to pot vs. kettle
                                              Comment
                                              • Fred The Hammer
                                                SBR Posting Legend
                                                • 08-13-13
                                                • 11582

                                                #128
                                                Bottom line....lesson to be learned here fellas. FAKE IT TIL YOU MAKE IT. The head official should've been loud and got fat boy off the fkn field and made the call right or wrong. Signal which side is doing what and move on. Instead they sat there and mumbled like a bunch of pussies
                                                Comment
                                                • BigDofBA
                                                  SBR Posting Legend
                                                  • 09-30-09
                                                  • 19313

                                                  #129
                                                  Originally posted by Eddy Munny
                                                  As far as I can tell, there was a holding penalty on V. Tech during the punt play.... Once it was determined that the Hokies actually recovered the ball (initially ruled Ark) then Razorbacks obviously accepted the penalty that gave them a new set of downs from where they punted plus the penalty yardage.

                                                  So in other words, the refs got it right... Hokies recovered, but the penalty negated the play and gave Arkansas a first down. The television crew was lost as to what actually happened.
                                                  So if team A punts to team B and Team B has a holding call, Team A gets the ball back from where they punted?

                                                  That's not right at all. Team A retains possession and the ball is moved back 10 yards.

                                                  I don't understand how an inadvertent whistle after Arkansas punted, gives the ball back to Arkansas from where they punted.

                                                  Arkansas punted it away and never regained possession.

                                                  BTW, the announces suck. Robert Smith was trying to argue Arkansas didn't score a TD on a play they reviewed earlier.....you could clearly see it was a TD when they put the replay on the screen and froze it. Morons....
                                                  Comment
                                                  • Cuse0323
                                                    BARRELED IN @ SBR!
                                                    • 12-09-09
                                                    • 30169

                                                    #130
                                                    Originally posted by kingdom
                                                    lol to pot vs. kettle
                                                    I assume you're saying that I'm senile, because I said Dan. Not in a very articulate way, but you may be right.
                                                    Comment
                                                    • Eddy Munny
                                                      SBR Posting Legend
                                                      • 08-13-13
                                                      • 15768

                                                      #131
                                                      Originally posted by rizespor
                                                      That's what it seemed like... But wasn't the penalty during the kick? So tech should retain possession and spot foul
                                                      Not necessarily... if it's on the return, that's one thing, but I believe the penalty that occurred was enforced before VT gained possession, thus resulting in a new set of downs for the Arkansas offense.

                                                      Obviously, Bielema initially declined the penalty because he thought he'd recovered a muffed punt. Upon review, he did not and accepted the penalty.
                                                      Comment
                                                      • johnnyvegas13
                                                        BARRELED IN @ SBR!
                                                        • 05-21-15
                                                        • 27897

                                                        #132
                                                        Originally posted by JayDr3am
                                                        Bielema just guaranteed to win the second half....
                                                        really ?

                                                        in that case ill wet my beak w 2nd half moneyline
                                                        Comment
                                                        • Bluehorseshoe
                                                          SBR Posting Legend
                                                          • 07-13-06
                                                          • 15004

                                                          #133
                                                          Originally posted by BigDofBA
                                                          BTW, the announces suck. Robert Smith was trying to argue Arkansas didn't score a TD on a play they reviewed earlier.....you could clearly see it was a TD when they put the replay on the screen and froze it. Morons....

                                                          He was also claiming Vtech had to go for for it on 4th down at midfield when it was a 17 pt game. lol
                                                          Comment
                                                          • Eddy Munny
                                                            SBR Posting Legend
                                                            • 08-13-13
                                                            • 15768

                                                            #134
                                                            Originally posted by BigDofBA
                                                            So if team A punts to team B and Team B has a holding call, Team A gets the ball back from where they punted?

                                                            That's not right at all. Team A retains possession and the ball is moved back 10 yards.

                                                            I don't understand how an inadvertent whistle after Arkansas punted, gives the ball back to Arkansas from where they punted.

                                                            Arkansas punted it away and never regained possession.

                                                            BTW, the announces suck. Robert Smith was trying to argue Arkansas didn't score a TD on a play they reviewed earlier.....you could clearly see it was a TD when they put the replay on the screen and froze it. Morons....

                                                            The hold wasn't on the return.... it was probably at the line of scrimmage, or on a gunner, while the ball was in the air.

                                                            Basically, it's the same as defensive holding on a WR, but just so happened to be called on a punt play... but a new set of downs nonetheless.
                                                            Comment
                                                            • Cuse0323
                                                              BARRELED IN @ SBR!
                                                              • 12-09-09
                                                              • 30169

                                                              #135
                                                              Originally posted by Eddy Munny
                                                              The hold wasn't on the return.... it was probably at the line of scrimmage while the ball was in the air.
                                                              It still should be from the end of the spot. But, I have no clue at this point. Something ridiculous happened.
                                                              Comment
                                                              • rizespor
                                                                SBR MVP
                                                                • 06-21-16
                                                                • 1900

                                                                #136
                                                                Originally posted by Eddy Munny
                                                                Not necessarily... if it's on the return, that's one thing, but I believe the penalty that occurred was enforced before VT gained possession, thus resulting in a new set of downs for the Arkansas offense.

                                                                Obviously, Bielema initially declined the penalty because he thought he'd recovered a muffed punt. Upon review, he did not and accepted the penalty.
                                                                I'm not sure that's right.. I had to have seen holding/block in the back penalties during punts before the receiving team actually catches the punts... Right?

                                                                I mean it seems so strange thinking about it but..
                                                                Comment
                                                                • kingdom
                                                                  SBR Posting Legend
                                                                  • 07-25-10
                                                                  • 10099

                                                                  #137
                                                                  Originally posted by johnnyvegas13
                                                                  i took arky and under 2nd half
                                                                  thats not how these bowl games work
                                                                  Comment
                                                                  • BigDofBA
                                                                    SBR Posting Legend
                                                                    • 09-30-09
                                                                    • 19313

                                                                    #138
                                                                    Originally posted by Eddy Munny
                                                                    The hold wasn't on the return.... it was probably at the line of scrimmage, or on a gunner, while the ball was in the air.

                                                                    Basically, it's the same as defensive holding on a WR, but just so happened to be called on a punt play... but a new set of downs nonetheless.
                                                                    Do we know that? That's a totally different thing then and the announcers were clueless.

                                                                    I think these dumbass announcers are confusing me.
                                                                    Comment
                                                                    • Fred The Hammer
                                                                      SBR Posting Legend
                                                                      • 08-13-13
                                                                      • 11582

                                                                      #139
                                                                      Okie State ML +130.....Yes Please





                                                                      HE'S A MAN.....HE'S 40


                                                                      Anyone confident enough to rock a Billy Ray Cyrus/Davy Crockett mullet in 2016 will get my $$
                                                                      Comment
                                                                      • ans61201
                                                                        SBR MVP
                                                                        • 10-11-15
                                                                        • 3661

                                                                        #140
                                                                        Originally posted by Eddy Munny
                                                                        As far as I can tell, there was a holding penalty on V. Tech during the punt play.... Once it was determined that the Hokies actually recovered the ball (initially ruled Ark) then Razorbacks obviously accepted the penalty that gave them a new set of downs from where they punted plus the penalty yardage.

                                                                        So in other words, the refs got it right... Hokies recovered, but the penalty negated the play and gave Arkansas a first down. The television crew was lost as to what actually happened.


                                                                        Except a holding penarly on a speical special teams return is just added to the end of the run as a 10 yard losss. So no that wouldn't explain the screw up
                                                                        Comment
                                                                        Search
                                                                        Collapse
                                                                        SBR Contests
                                                                        Collapse
                                                                        Top-Rated US Sportsbooks
                                                                        Collapse
                                                                        Working...