misteve
    misteve's Avatar Become A Pro!

moving lines???

Okay, probably many different views here. But I'd like to know your thoughts:

If you have a college football team that starts at, say +10 right away, then moves to +9, then +8 and finally +7 right before the game, what does that tell you? Which way do you tend to lean in this example?

I'm pretty new to this and appreciate any feedback.
    Thanks
    misteve

darkghost
    darkghost's Avatar Become A Pro!
    Betpoints: 10547

I'm sure this is too general a scenario for you to get the answer you're looking for. Generally I like line moves toward the dog, but I'd never bet a dog at +7 that started at +10. you're just losing too much value. I'd figure I just missed the boat on that particular game. Either get on the dog at +10/+8 or bet the favorite at -7. BTW if you were referring to a particular game, which one?
    Last edited by darkghost; 11-08-05 at 12:17 AM. Reason: adding question

Senator7
    Senator7's Avatar Become A Pro!

I will deal with a half point move against my team. I will not deal with a full point move. Obviously, moves off of key numbers are a different story, but these are my general guidelines. I would advise playing favorites on Monday or Tuesday before the public kills the value. I don't play most of my underdogs until Friday unless its a rare instance where the public may take the value from the underdog (Kansas City Chiefs this week). I don't like putting in plays on gameday because its too hard to judge where the line is going to be. The line is much more consistent and reliable during the week. Hope this helps.

bigboydan
    bigboydan's Avatar Become A Pro!

if your gonna wait til game time and the line just drops like a rock all week. it's not a good idea unless, other factors come into play like. there could also be injuries or, weather conditions that might help move that line. i've seen lines get taken down and put back up at a lower price before.