Who the eff is this ref??? Nd/xavier

Collapse
X
 
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts
  • RL75
    SBR Wise Guy
    • 04-03-11
    • 693

    #36
    Well if that's the case (about the ball needing to hit the rim) then the call was technically right. But it's technically right to call it every single time it happens in every game and we know that's not the case. It's also technically right to call a foul when a guy gets hammered at the end of a game (like NC State last week) and they swallow the whistles in those situations more often than not.

    Just seems to me like that guy couldn't wait to make a call - and then when you compound it with the intentional foul call + the backboard call it really makes you wonder.
    Comment
    • Frisco
      SBR Hall of Famer
      • 02-27-12
      • 6138

      #37
      I really just want to see the video again to see if there is a delay between the shot going in and him calling the violation. He could have easily just let it count, gave a warning, and let them play.
      Comment
      • Illusivecone
        SBR Wise Guy
        • 11-08-08
        • 771

        #38
        Originally posted by Cuse0323
        Well, it is his job to look for the violation which clearly happened.
        Says the guy with the Syracuse lean, face it you only agree because it benefited your team in a prior circumstance.
        Comment
        • Cuse0323
          BARRELED IN @ SBR!
          • 12-09-09
          • 30169

          #39
          Originally posted by Frisco
          I really just want to see the video again to see if there is a delay between the shot going in and him calling the violation. He could have easily just let it count, gave a warning, and let them play.
          That's how they should do it...you committed a violation but I'm gonna give you a warning because it's a big game. There's no reason for the guard to be crashing the boards there and he gets an unfair advantage getting past the arc before the shot hits the rim. It's a rule for a reason.
          Comment
          • officepoolguy
            SBR Sharp
            • 07-19-10
            • 384

            #40
            I believe that the rule states that if you are outside the 3pt line you must wait till the ball HITS the rim before crossing the line. The refs were right on the call just like they were right on the call in the Syracuse game. It was the right call in both games.
            Comment
            • RL75
              SBR Wise Guy
              • 04-03-11
              • 693

              #41
              I went back and looked at the free throw that Xavier missed just before this play. The xavier dude was in the arc before the ball hit the rim on that one too.
              Comment
              • Frisco
                SBR Hall of Famer
                • 02-27-12
                • 6138

                #42
                Originally posted by Cuse0323
                That's how they should do it...you committed a violation but I'm gonna give you a warning because it's a big game. There's no reason for the guard to be crashing the boards there and he gets an unfair advantage getting past the arc before the shot hits the rim. It's a rule for a reason.
                But at the same time it didn't effect the play at all so if there was a delay between the made FT and him calling it then it could have been handled in a much better way.
                Comment
                • Frisco
                  SBR Hall of Famer
                  • 02-27-12
                  • 6138

                  #43
                  Originally posted by RL75
                  I went back and looked at the free throw that Xavier missed just before this play. The xavier dude was in the arc before the ball hit the rim on that one too.
                  Would be interesting to see how many lane violations actually occurred in the game.
                  Comment
                  • jizay
                    SBR Wise Guy
                    • 08-07-09
                    • 975

                    #44
                    Originally posted by RL75
                    Well if that's the case (about the ball needing to hit the rim) then the call was technically right. But it's technically right to call it every single time it happens in every game and we know that's not the case.
                    I don't see this happening all the time in games. It's very rare because most players know this rule. People flying in from outside the arc would be very hard to box out; that's why the rule is in place. Kid came in way early - it was just a total brainfart.
                    Comment
                    • jizay
                      SBR Wise Guy
                      • 08-07-09
                      • 975

                      #45
                      Originally posted by Frisco
                      Would be interesting to see how many lane violations actually occurred in the game.
                      Of this nature? I would say the average is zero.
                      Comment
                      • face
                        SBR Posting Legend
                        • 01-31-11
                        • 14740

                        #46
                        Originally posted by Frisco

                        Yea i was actually interested in seeing if he could hit both of them in that situation. What a shame
                        yea i wanted to see who would win, i didn't even have a bet. refs ruined the game with some nerdy little schoolbook bs
                        Comment
                        • Cuse0323
                          BARRELED IN @ SBR!
                          • 12-09-09
                          • 30169

                          #47
                          Originally posted by Frisco
                          But at the same time it didn't effect the play at all so if there was a delay between the made FT and him calling it then it could have been handled in a much better way.
                          But if he misses the free throw and Grant flies in for the put back, it's unfair. That refs job is to look for lane violations, that's it. He doesn't care about the result.
                          Comment
                          • RL75
                            SBR Wise Guy
                            • 04-03-11
                            • 693

                            #48
                            Originally posted by jizay
                            I don't see this happening all the time in games. It's very rare because most players know this rule. People flying in from outside the arc would be very hard to box out; that's why the rule is in place. Kid came in way early - it was just a total brainfart.
                            It literally happened on the free throw by Xavier 5 seconds earlier..

                            Click image for larger version

Name:	IMAG0221.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	30.3 KB
ID:	29113385
                            Comment
                            • Frisco
                              SBR Hall of Famer
                              • 02-27-12
                              • 6138

                              #49
                              Originally posted by face
                              yea i wanted to see who would win, i didn't even have a bet. refs ruined the game with some nerdy little schoolbook bs
                              Yea i had $$ on Xavier but was just excited to see a dramatic ending. Got the wrong kind of drama tho
                              Comment
                              • Cuse0323
                                BARRELED IN @ SBR!
                                • 12-09-09
                                • 30169

                                #50
                                Originally posted by RL75
                                It literally happened on the free throw by Xavier 5 seconds earlier..

                                [ATTACH]40047[/ATTACH]
                                Dude, he missed the FT so you don't call the violation. Do some of guys think before you speak? Simple basketball 101, learn it.
                                Comment
                                • isotopes
                                  SBR Wise Guy
                                  • 12-04-08
                                  • 654

                                  #51
                                  That wasn't the worst call, what about the foul on nd on the Xavier def rebound where the xavier player kicked the nd player out of the way. The refs have been really bad in the tourney, they decided this game.
                                  Comment
                                  • jizay
                                    SBR Wise Guy
                                    • 08-07-09
                                    • 975

                                    #52
                                    Originally posted by RL75
                                    It literally happened on the free throw by Xavier 5 seconds earlier..
                                    I didn't see the whole play, but it looks in your picture like the player inside the arc is standing completely still. Did he line up there? Edit: Anyway, that was a missed FT apparently, so nothing to take off the board.
                                    Comment
                                    • Frisco
                                      SBR Hall of Famer
                                      • 02-27-12
                                      • 6138

                                      #53
                                      Originally posted by RL75
                                      It literally happened on the free throw by Xavier 5 seconds earlier..

                                      [ATTACH]40047[/ATTACH]
                                      Watch the follow the rules no matter what guys try saying because he didn't run all the way to the basket it doesn't matter. Dude is obviously inside the arc.
                                      Comment
                                      • onlooker
                                        BARRELED IN @ SBR!
                                        • 08-10-05
                                        • 36572

                                        #54


                                        Comment
                                        • RL75
                                          SBR Wise Guy
                                          • 04-03-11
                                          • 693

                                          #55
                                          Originally posted by Cuse0323
                                          Dude, he missed the FT so you don't call the violation. Do some of guys think before you speak? Simple basketball 101, learn it.
                                          Well if that's the case then why did they call the violation yesterday on Asheville against your Syracuse team?
                                          Comment
                                          • Frisco
                                            SBR Hall of Famer
                                            • 02-27-12
                                            • 6138

                                            #56
                                            Originally posted by jizay
                                            I didn't see the whole play, but it looks in your picture like the player inside the arc is standing completely still. Did he line up there? Edit: Anyway, that was a missed FT apparently, so nothing to take off the board.
                                            do you see players line up a foot behind the FT shooter a lot?? lol
                                            Comment
                                            • RL75
                                              SBR Wise Guy
                                              • 04-03-11
                                              • 693

                                              #57
                                              Originally posted by jizay
                                              I didn't see the whole play, but it looks in your picture like the player inside the arc is standing completely still. Did he line up there? Edit: Anyway, that was a missed FT apparently, so nothing to take off the board.
                                              He was behind, he took a step or 2 in after he released the ball.
                                              Comment
                                              • Illusivecone
                                                SBR Wise Guy
                                                • 11-08-08
                                                • 771

                                                #58
                                                Originally posted by RL75
                                                Well if that's the case then why did they call the violation yesterday on Asheville against your Syracuse team?
                                                Comment
                                                • Cuse0323
                                                  BARRELED IN @ SBR!
                                                  • 12-09-09
                                                  • 30169

                                                  #59
                                                  Originally posted by RL75
                                                  Well if that's the case then why did they call the violation yesterday on Asheville against your Syracuse team?
                                                  Are you serious? Think it out...Xavier's player was shooting and missed, his teammate committed the violation so you don't call it because they missed. In the Syracuse game, the defensive player committed the violation while the other team was shooting the FT therefor you call it. It's not rocket science.
                                                  Comment
                                                  • jizay
                                                    SBR Wise Guy
                                                    • 08-07-09
                                                    • 975

                                                    #60
                                                    Originally posted by RL75
                                                    Well if that's the case then why did they call the violation yesterday on Asheville against your Syracuse team?
                                                    Because it was the *other* team that violated the lane on a miss, not the shooting team. You are really, really reaching now.
                                                    Comment
                                                    • jizay
                                                      SBR Wise Guy
                                                      • 08-07-09
                                                      • 975

                                                      #61
                                                      Originally posted by Frisco
                                                      do you see players line up a foot behind the FT shooter a lot?? lol
                                                      OK, dumb question by me.
                                                      Comment
                                                      • Cuse0323
                                                        BARRELED IN @ SBR!
                                                        • 12-09-09
                                                        • 30169

                                                        #62
                                                        Originally posted by jizay
                                                        Because it was the *other* team that violated the lane on a miss, not the shooting team. You are really, really reaching now.
                                                        Someone with a brain that works.
                                                        Comment
                                                        • gwills
                                                          SBR Wise Guy
                                                          • 10-22-11
                                                          • 948

                                                          #63
                                                          This can be argued about for days. One side will say "just let them play, ticky-tac" and the other will be objective and say "its the rule, rules are rules good call"

                                                          That does not take into account one CRUCIAL factor, and what Sir Charles said is right. In an instance like this, I honestly believe all ticky tack calls should be ripped out of the rulebook. You cannot RUIN a game like that, you just can't, and you don't need evidence or reason to back that up. You just CANT because of what it does to the game. Let Atkins take his 2nd free throw, let them decide who wins in OT. Pitiful...
                                                          Comment
                                                          Search
                                                          Collapse
                                                          SBR Contests
                                                          Collapse
                                                          Top-Rated US Sportsbooks
                                                          Collapse
                                                          Working...