Professor-MJ
    Professor-MJ's Avatar Become A Pro!
    Betpoints: 103

In-depth analysis of nba pregame betting line movements

Hello everyone, this is my first post on SBR! I've been posting on other websites about my NBA daily projections based on several statistical models I developed over the years. I'm a statistics university professor from Canada, and today I hope to give you some insight about the following question:

Is there evidence of pregame betting line movements having an effect on which team is going to win the game (in the NBA)?

I own a dataset which contains information about all games from the last 14 NBA seasons. I analyzed all games for which data was available on the opening & closing betting lines.

A fictitious bet was placed on the team in favor of which the line moved during the day. For example, assume the opening line has Team A favored to win the game by 5.5 points over Team B. If the closing line went higher, for instance 6.5, I would make a virtual bet on Team A at -6.5. On the other hand, if the closing line went lower, for instance 5.0, I would bet on Team B at +5.0. Notice that I am betting the CLOSING line (which is natural since we are studying whether we should place bets according to how the line moved during the day).

Let’s have a look at the results, where the first column indicates how much the line moved (absolute value of closing line – opening line):

Line movement Bets won Bets lost Ties Win %
    0.5 1631 1673 38 49.4%
    1 1131 1159 47 49.4%
    1.5 664 669 12 49.8%
    2 324 347 10 48.3%
    2.5 229 210 6 52.2%
    3 122 124 6 49.6%
    3.5 49 65 2 43.0%
    4 37 52 2 41.6%
    4.5 29 24 1 54.7%
    5 12 19 1 38.7%
    5.5 9 6 0 60.0%
    6 10 6 0 62.5%
    6.5 7 7 0 50.0%
    7 5 4 0 55.6%
    7.5 5 2 0 71.4%
    8+ 20 16 2 55.6%
    TOTAL 4284 4383 127 49.4%