Since I know there's a secret DeClercq fan club here. And I think this might be the move that puts the Bulls over the top this year

DeClercq giving it a last shot
Published September 17, 2006

After 18 months of rehab on a bad right knee, Andrew DeClercq wants to give his career one final chance.

DeClercq, a 10-year NBA veteran who last played in the NBA with the Orlando Magic in the 2004-05 season, will spend this week working out in Chicago, hoping to impress the Bulls enough to be invited to their training camp next month.

He has no contract, no promises, no guarantees of anything but a chance to show whether his knee is good enough to play again.

"I'm going after it as if I'm a rookie again,'' DeClercq said after a recent workout at RDV Sportsplex. "I'll give it everything I've got left and see if that's good enough. At this point, people don't know.''

DeClercq is a former Florida Gator from Clearwater who spent five seasons playing center with the Magic. Although he always was a little undersized and offensively challenged, he compensated with his smarts, hustle and a workmanlike approach.

He hardly was considered a starter, yet he started 140 games for the Magic. Every summer, they tried to replace him, but every fall he was back in the lineup -- until a bum knee finally knocked him down. He played just eight games during the 2004-05 season, his last one in February.

At the end of that season, he had two microfracture surgeries on his right knee, sending him into a semi-retirement state. Although he became more active at church, he wasn't active again on a basketball court until this summer, when he started working out regularly at UCF.

With the Magic's permission, he has been working out lately at RDV Sportsplex. At age 33, he still believes he can be an effective center, considering the lack of effective centers in today's NBA.