Unknown User
    Update your status
    Unknown User's Avatar Become A Pro!
    Betpoints: 190

What closing lines to use as benchmark?

I'm new to sportsbetting and trying to develop my methods. I want to measure whether my bets are winning but don't want to rely on measuring ROI as it will take a long time to achieve sufficient sample size. I've learned about the method of comparing odds taken to closing lines. I use oddsportal.com average closing line because that's convenient with the bookkeeping.

I have a few specific questions about this method:

1. What would be a good sample size using the "beating closing line method" to assess whether I am betting in a profitable way?

2. By what approximate margin should I beat the oddsportal closing line average to be able to bet break even over the long term?
    (I realize the oddsportal closing line average is not as strong as hard to beat as the best available closing line)

I posted the same questions in the newbie forum but although it got 600+ views there were no replies, so I figured I should try in in the think tank.

Maargs
    Maargs's Avatar Become A Pro!
    Betpoints: 12

Gonna get back to you with detailed response later on

SportsMushroom
    SportsMushroom's Avatar Become A Pro!
    Betpoints: 6839

do not use oddsportal average odds, it is not accurate at all because its an average of lines from mostly recreational books with stale lines and 40 cent vig

best use pinnacle closing odds, they are the most efficient in shaping their lines due to the massive amounts of money they take on each event and the fact that most professional gamblers play there, so their closing lines are as efficient as possible

considering that pinnacle has a 1.5-2% theoretical hold, I am assuming that if you can beat their closing line by 2% you should at least break even in the long run

I dont know what a decent sample size is, but it probably should be in the thousands

gui_m_p
    gui_m_p's Avatar Become A Pro!