a4u2fear
    TEASE IT
    a4u2fear's Avatar Become A Pro!
    Betpoints: 35459

Nailing the job interview

Thought I could provide some of my tips for nailing a job interview. Sometimes getting the interview is the hardest part, but when you get it, you have to get the offer.

I'm an engineer so I'm usually in high demand so it may bias things a bit, but I've been on plenty of interviews with 10-15 other people and gotten the offer. In fact, since graduating in 2007 with a bachelor's, I've gotten an offer on 9 out of the 10 interviews I went on. The only non-offer was right out of school and the interview was very technical.

So, here's some tips

1) Do NOT talk poorly of any of your old jobs. If you only worked somewhere for a little while and quite because you hated it, they will likely ask why you left so abruptly, so you better be ready to answer it; and with a good response. Always keep it positive-"I found a better opportunity" etc. When interviewing you don't know exactly what your duties will be at the new job, so you also don't know if saying you do not like doing a certain task is also part of this job, which you may want to land

2) Be ready for the stupid corporate questions:
    "Tell me about a time something went wrong and how you fixed it"
    "Tell me about a time you didn't get along with someone and how it was resolved"
    "Tell me about your successes"
    etc.
    The bigger companies use these and even though they can be quite silly, they may be the only questions you may be asked. So have discrete examples and nail these while the other candidates falter. For example, GM and National Grid used these when I interviewed. Having concrete examples for these simple questions is key. Sometimes you can get a copy of the questions from HR.

3) Even if you are applying for a job where you need to come in and make a lot of changes, do not forget you are entering a company who does things for a reason. MY BIG THING THAT ALWAYS NAILS THE INTERVIEW: