Nfl upholds Monday night decision

Collapse
X
 
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts
  • Vegas39
    BARRELED IN @ SBR!
    • 09-22-11
    • 30686

    #71
    Comment
    • DrStale
      SBR Hall of Famer
      • 12-07-08
      • 9692

      #72
      Originally posted by Dark Horse
      If with religion you mean belief system, your belief system is your religion. Again, it matters not what it is. You believe in it, you are loyal to it, would defend it, and yet have no proof of it, other than that, at one point or another, you chose to believe in it. Self-hypnosis. What if there were a snapping of fingers that broke the hypnosis?
      Comment
      • meader99
        SBR MVP
        • 10-30-10
        • 4223

        #73
        Originally posted by Monitor-Tan
        In this case the ruling doesn't matter on who has the better possession. They were both in the air, while both in the air, evne though GB defender actually caught the ball first and looked like Tate just kind of touched the ball when coming down, NFL rule book actually states that while players are in the air, no player is considered to have possession. So by the time they both hit the ground, even though GB had the ball on his chest, Tate also had the ball with both hands and came down. So even though the ball is by the packers defenders because they came down together with both with their hands on it, it's considered a simultaenous catch. Which goes to the receiver.

        NFL just made an offiicial ruling, and the REGULAR refrees took a look and also agreed that it was the right call.


        "The NFL Officiating Department reviewed the video today and supports the decision not to overturn the on-field ruling following the instant replay review."

        The problem is more of that offensive PI not being called more then anything.
        If the defender caught the ball "first," then how can there be simultaneous possession? Can't be done. That's why it's a terrible call. One guy actually caught the ball, and then got a reach around for his troubles. Simultaneous possession means neither player had control of the ball. This was clearly not the case as Jennings caught the ball at it's highest point and possessed it by himself.
        Comment
        • Monitor-Tan
          SBR MVP
          • 02-20-11
          • 4460

          #74
          Yeah and NFL has stated that per rule, when both players are in the air, no one is considered to have possession, so it's considered simultaneous if they both have their hands on the ball and land..

          If say they weren't in the air and it happened, then that would be correct.
          Comment
          • Smoke
            SBR Aristocracy
            • 10-09-09
            • 48111

            #75
            Good call by the nfl
            Comment
            • SaMSoLeeT
              SBR Sharp
              • 10-31-11
              • 425

              #76
              If you Gus didnt notice,Tate didnt even catch the ball, he caught the person that caught the ball that's why it counted as a catch. Lol
              Comment
              • SoonerC
                SBR Sharp
                • 12-03-11
                • 437

                #77
                Originally posted by Monitor-Tan
                Yeah and NFL has stated that per rule, when both players are in the air, no one is considered to have possession, so it's considered simultaneous if they both have their hands on the ball and land..

                If say they weren't in the air and it happened, then that would be correct.
                Dude, you are on an island by yourself on this one. If you have ever been more wrong about anything someone should have put you out of your misery by now.
                Comment
                • Monitor-Tan
                  SBR MVP
                  • 02-20-11
                  • 4460

                  #78
                  Originally posted by SoonerC
                  Dude, you are on an island by yourself on this one. If you have ever been more wrong about anything someone should have put you out of your misery by now.
                  You do know they said that on nfl.com when their ruling came out.. So then I'M NOT WRONG, NFL is wrong. I'm only relaying what NFL has stated. So I can't see any reason to argue, unless you are to tell me NFL is wrong..

                  That's what they stated on their site earlier, and the regular refs who reviewed the tap also agreed on the call..

                  Some people will say of course that's what the NFL will say, agree or disagree, I really don't care.

                  These refs have been terrible with calls for the last 2 weeks, I'm just relaying what they stated on their site earlier today.
                  Comment
                  • Monitor-Tan
                    SBR MVP
                    • 02-20-11
                    • 4460

                    #79
                    This is what is stated on the NFL website on the ruling :

                    A player (or players) jumping in the air has not legally gained possession of the ball until he satisfies the elements of a catch listed here.

                    Since both players were in the air, the both legally DID NOT have possession.
                    Comment
                    • meader99
                      SBR MVP
                      • 10-30-10
                      • 4223

                      #80
                      Originally posted by Monitor-Tan
                      This is what is stated on the NFL website on the ruling :

                      A player (or players) jumping in the air has not legally gained possession of the ball until he satisfies the elements of a catch listed here.

                      Since both players were in the air, the both legally DID NOT have possession.
                      You are correct...Only Jennings had possession.
                      Comment
                      • TexansFan
                        SBR MVP
                        • 09-06-06
                        • 3367

                        #81
                        Originally posted by Monitor-Tan
                        In this case the ruling doesn't matter on who has the better possession. They were both in the air, while both in the air, evne though GB defender actually caught the ball first and looked like Tate just kind of touched the ball when coming down, NFL rule book actually states that while players are in the air, no player is considered to have possession. So by the time they both hit the ground, even though GB had the ball on his chest, Tate also had the ball with both hands and came down. So even though the ball is by the packers defenders because they came down together with both with their hands on it, it's considered a simultaenous catch. Which goes to the receiver.

                        NFL just made an offiicial ruling, and the REGULAR refrees took a look and also agreed that it was the right call.


                        "The NFL Officiating Department reviewed the video today and supports the decision not to overturn the on-field ruling following the instant replay review."

                        The problem is more of that offensive PI not being called more then anything.
                        You couldn't be more wrong. Just stop.
                        Comment
                        • Monitor-Tan
                          SBR MVP
                          • 02-20-11
                          • 4460

                          #82
                          Originally posted by TexansFan
                          You couldn't be more wrong. Just stop.
                          Prove it
                          Comment
                          • nic9212
                            SBR MVP
                            • 03-19-12
                            • 1536

                            #83
                            I had a chat with the help desk at 5Dimes. He said all day long people been asking for a refund and he expected much more the next 2 days. lol
                            Comment
                            • GamblerSpirit
                              SBR MVP
                              • 11-18-11
                              • 4085

                              #84
                              Originally posted by Monitor-Tan
                              Prove it
                              You dont need 20/20 vision to see the picture that CLEARLY shows the ball in the DB's hands. Its posted earlier in the thread.
                              Comment
                              Search
                              Collapse
                              SBR Contests
                              Collapse
                              Top-Rated US Sportsbooks
                              Collapse
                              Working...