Why did they take the TD from Carolina?

Collapse
X
 
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts
  • seaborneq
    SBR Posting Legend
    • 09-08-06
    • 22556

    #1
    Why did they take the TD from Carolina?
    CBS said there was a 1 yard TD run by Hoover. I need this game.
  • Bluehorseshoe
    SBR Posting Legend
    • 07-13-06
    • 15018

    #2
    Because a fumble can't score a TD.
    Comment
    • Justin7
      SBR Hall of Famer
      • 07-31-06
      • 8577

      #3
      At least not on fourth down.
      Comment
      • InThisMoment
        SBR Wise Guy
        • 09-02-09
        • 615

        #4
        It's called the Dave Casper rule, or sometimes known as the "Heidi" rule.

        A team that recovers a fumble on 4th down past the point it was fumbled will have the ball revert back to the point it was fumbled unless the player who fumbled it recovers.

        Hoover was stuffed on 4th down at the goal line, fumbled in the end zone and it was recovered by teammate King. Ball goes back to the 1, since it was 4th down and no first down or TD, Skins ball.
        Comment
        • smitch124
          SBR Posting Legend
          • 05-19-08
          • 12566

          #5
          Also I'm convinced that the CBS updaters are FORCED to drink heavily before coming into work...
          Comment
          • seaborneq
            SBR Posting Legend
            • 09-08-06
            • 22556

            #6
            Originally posted by smitch124
            Also I'm convinced that the CBS updaters are FORCED to drink heavily before coming into work...
            They do a good job of it...................drinking that is.
            Comment
            • ronjon619
              SBR MVP
              • 09-06-09
              • 3675

              #7


              I was at that game.
              Comment
              • LT Profits
                SBR Aristocracy
                • 10-27-06
                • 90963

                #8
                Originally posted by seaborneq
                CBS said there was a 1 yard TD run by Hoover. I need this game.
                Hoover fumbled before breaking the plane of the goal line. Now a Carolina player recovered in end zone, but since it was a fourth down play, only the player that fumbled is allowed to recover for the offense. Thus, ball was turned over to Washington at spot of the fumble (which led directly to safety two plays later).
                Comment
                • yisman
                  SBR Aristocracy
                  • 09-01-08
                  • 75682

                  #9
                  NFL.com completely screwed it up.

                  4-1-WAS 1(9:06) B.Hoover up the middle for 1 yard, TOUCHDOWN.
                  Washington Redskins 0:44
                  1-10-WAS 1(9:05) J.Campbell up the middle to WAS 3 for 2 yards (H.Thomas).
                  2-8-WAS 3(8:21) C.Portis right end tackled in End Zone for -3 yards, SAFETY (T.Davis).


                  They still showed it as a TD for Carolina 10 minutes after the play, although the score at the top was correct.
                  [quote=jjgold;5683305]I win again like usual
                  [/quote]

                  [quote=Whippit;7921056]miami won't lose a single eastern conference game through end of season[/quote]
                  Comment
                  • jackpot269
                    SBR Posting Legend
                    • 09-24-07
                    • 12842

                    #10
                    Thats a bullsh!t rule
                    Comment
                    • LT Profits
                      SBR Aristocracy
                      • 10-27-06
                      • 90963

                      #11
                      Originally posted by jackpot269
                      Thats a bullsh!t rule
                      No it makes perfect sense, it prevents someone who is getting tackled short of the first down on fourth down from fumbling intentionally.
                      Comment
                      • zubzub
                        SBR Wise Guy
                        • 09-09-09
                        • 714

                        #12
                        Originally posted by InThisMoment
                        It's called the Dave Casper rule, or sometimes known as the "Heidi" rule.

                        A team that recovers a fumble on 4th down past the point it was fumbled will have the ball revert back to the point it was fumbled unless the player who fumbled it recovers.

                        Hoover was stuffed on 4th down at the goal line, fumbled in the end zone and it was recovered by teammate King. Ball goes back to the 1, since it was 4th down and no first down or TD, Skins ball.
                        Damn, good explanation brother. I want the under so with Carolina at the ONE I went away feeling "****it" I can't watch, what horror, then when I came back there was a safety.

                        So naturally I was thinking totally wtf, thats a wierd wierd flopped thang man
                        Comment
                        • madmaxx
                          SBR MVP
                          • 03-14-07
                          • 3289

                          #13
                          Originally posted by jackpot269
                          Thats a bullsh!t rule
                          well it prevents hoover going down and dropping the ball forward on purpose...
                          Comment
                          Search
                          Collapse
                          SBR Contests
                          Collapse
                          Top-Rated US Sportsbooks
                          Collapse
                          Working...