I am STILL confused about that @$#!'n end of the Pitt/SD game, anyone get it?

Collapse
X
 
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts
  • Capybara
    SBR Posting Legend
    • 08-17-08
    • 11803

    #1
    I am STILL confused about that @$#!'n end of the Pitt/SD game, anyone get it?
    I've made my peace with my $250 loss instead of $225 win, but every time I think I understand, I read something confusing again!

    As I see it, the SECOND of the three passes WAS forward, so the play dies, right? So why now are the refs apologizing and saying they got it wrong??!! I thought I finally UNDERSTOOD!!
  • Richkas
    SBR Posting Legend
    • 02-03-08
    • 19396

    #2
    Refs blew the call. Live with it. Thats old news.
    Comment
    • dwaechte
      SBR Hall of Famer
      • 08-27-07
      • 5481

      #3
      Because the forward pass didn't hit the ground, the play was not automatically dead. The ref got confused thinking the forward pass hit the ground, but it was a lateral(the 3rd pass) that hit the ground.
      Comment
      • yisman
        SBR Aristocracy
        • 09-01-08
        • 75682

        #4
        ^ yes
        [quote=jjgold;5683305]I win again like usual
        [/quote]

        [quote=Whippit;7921056]miami won't lose a single eastern conference game through end of season[/quote]
        Comment
        • Capybara
          SBR Posting Legend
          • 08-17-08
          • 11803

          #5
          Originally posted by dwaechte
          Because the forward pass didn't hit the ground, the play was not automatically dead. The ref got confused thinking the forward pass hit the ground, but it was a lateral(the 3rd pass) that hit the ground.
          Okay, except I don't know why the play wouldn't die even if a 2nd forward pass DOESN'T hit the ground... it should die either way or not die either way -- seems to me it shouldn't change depending on if it's caught or not.

          But thanks!
          Comment
          • Sinister Cat
            SBR MVP
            • 06-03-08
            • 1090

            #6
            It didn't die because that's not the rule. The ball isn't dead when there's an illegal forward pass that's caught. There's still an opportunity for the defensive team to gain an advantage with the play and decline the penalty:

            Comment
            • LT Profits
              SBR Aristocracy
              • 10-27-06
              • 90963

              #7
              A FORWARD pass that hits the ground kills the play. A lateral that hits the ground is a live ball. In this case, the first pass was ruled to be forward and was caught, The ball was then lateraled and hit the ground. Thus, it should have been a live play.

              However, the refs got confused and ruled the play as if it was the forward pass that hit the ground.
              Comment
              • MoneySportsGuy
                SBR MVP
                • 12-09-07
                • 4891

                #8
                I heard on my sports radio today that bookies made a statement saying on that one play it went $64 million in bets in their favor. What happend in that play?
                Comment
                Search
                Collapse
                SBR Contests
                Collapse
                Top-Rated US Sportsbooks
                Collapse
                Working...