how come spiking the ball is not intentional groudning?
isn't it inside the pocket?
I.R.B
SBR MVP
08-12-08
3209
#2
Good question..
Comment
mmike032
SBR Hall of Famer
09-11-08
8905
#3
million dollar question here
Comment
EaglesPhan36
SBR Aristocracy
12-06-06
71662
#4
You sound like my Dad. Can't wait till Thanksgiving. I'll be thinking about this thread when he lets loose with his first - WHY ISN'T THAT GROUNDING?! call.
Comment
VegasDave
SBR Hall of Famer
01-03-07
8056
#5
"Intentional grounding will be called when a passer, facing an imminent loss of yardage due to pressure from the defense, throws a forward pass without a realistic chance of completion."
Since the QB isn't in danger of being sacked, he isn't intentionally grounding the ball to avoid a sack, so its okay
Comment
madmaxx
SBR MVP
03-14-07
3289
#6
it is the same thing, you lose the down and the ball is placed at the spot you ground it
Comment
dwaechte
SBR Hall of Famer
08-27-07
5481
#7
.
Comment
rm18
SBR Posting Legend
09-20-05
22291
#8
Originally posted by madmaxx
it is the same thing, you lose the down and the ball is placed at the spot you ground it
no it goes to the line of scrimmage, and grounding is 10 yards or spot of foul
Comment
Brock Landers
SBR Aristocracy
06-30-08
45359
#9
its allowed in the rules, remember hearing this before
Comment
pico
BARRELED IN @ SBR!
04-05-07
27321
#10
Originally posted by madmaxx
it is the same thing, you lose the down and the ball is placed at the spot you ground it
i guess they just give it a fancy name to make the play sounds smarter.
Comment
madmaxx
SBR MVP
03-14-07
3289
#11
because you'd have to be at least 10 yards back to be called for grounding to be significant
Comment
madmaxx
SBR MVP
03-14-07
3289
#12
no QB runs back more than 2 yards to spike the ball, if he ran back to the endzone and threw the ball in the ground it would still be a spike but probably called grounding....
Comment
madmaxx
SBR MVP
03-14-07
3289
#13
Originally posted by VegasDave
"Intentional grounding will be called when a passer, facing an imminent loss of yardage due to pressure from the defense, throws a forward pass without a realistic chance of completion."
Since the QB isn't in danger of being sacked, he isn't intentionally grounding the ball to avoid a sack, so its okay
so if the center decides to fall on the ground as soon as the ball is snapped and the nose tackle is an inch away from killing the QB and he throws it into the ground, that spike turns into grounding?
Comment
VegasDave
SBR Hall of Famer
01-03-07
8056
#14
To repeat, here is the full rule; Intentional Grounding of Forward Pass
Intentional grounding of a forward pass is a foul: loss of down and 10 yards from previous spot if passer is in the field of play or loss of down at the spot of the foul if it occurs more than 10 yards behind the line or safety if passer is in his own end zone when ball is released.
Intentional grounding will be called when a passer, facing an imminent loss of yardage due to pressure from the defense, throws a forward pass without a realistic chance of completion.
Intentional grounding will not be called when a passer, while out of the pocket and facing an imminent loss of yardage, throws a pass that lands at or beyond the line of scrimmage, even if no offensive player(s) have a realistic chance to catch the ball (including if the ball lands out of bounds over the sideline or end line).
Comment
robzilla
SBR MVP
10-25-07
3556
#15
because the Center is in the area of the pass. He is eligable to make a catch. It's only intentional grounding if there isnt a receiever in the area.
Comment
VegasDave
SBR Hall of Famer
01-03-07
8056
#16
Originally posted by madmaxx
so if the center decides to fall on the ground as soon as the ball is snapped and the nose tackle is an inch away from killing the QB and he throws it into the ground, that spike turns into grounding?
By the book, yes.
Comment
pico
BARRELED IN @ SBR!
04-05-07
27321
#17
Originally posted by robzilla
because the Center is in the area of the pass. He is eligable to make a catch. It's only intentional grounding if there isnt a receiever in the area.
so qb is throwing hte ball to center whe he grounds the ball
Comment
madmaxx
SBR MVP
03-14-07
3289
#18
the center is not an elligible receiver
Comment
LT Profits
SBR Aristocracy
10-27-06
90963
#19
Spiking the ball is totally legal because intentional grounding can only be called if the quarterback is trying to avoid a sack.
Comment
madmaxx
SBR MVP
03-14-07
3289
#20
Originally posted by VegasDave
By the book, yes.
no longer being an asshole to you but with all your knowledge and game break downs and all this why dont you wager on games instead of spending all this time writing newsletters, getting me banned from SBR chat cause i hurt your feelings, etc....just to hope someone replies to your threads and videos.........
seriously just wondering whats the point to do all this if you arent gambling and aren't in desperate need of attention?
Comment
tomcowley
SBR MVP
10-01-07
1129
#21
It's specifically allowed.
Note 3: A player under center is permitted to stop the game clock legally to save time if immediately upon receiving the snap he begins a continuous throwing motion and throws the ball directly forward into the ground.
Comment
yisman
SBR Aristocracy
09-01-08
75682
#22
bump
[quote=jjgold;5683305]I win again like usual
[/quote]
[quote=Whippit;7921056]miami won't lose a single eastern conference game through end of season[/quote]