A baseball rule that still drives me crazy....guys, please weigh in...

Collapse
X
 
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts
  • Leo Bello
    SBR Sharp
    • 09-23-11
    • 267

    #1
    A baseball rule that still drives me crazy....guys, please weigh in...
    This is the rule that I don't quite understand. It is the law in 99% of books (though not all—so maybe I'm 99% stupid). If betting the total in baseball, the game must go 9 innings for action. Listen, if the total posted is 7, and I bet under 7, and after the first complete inning the score is 5-3, then as far as I'm concerned, I lost. Whether the game continues, whether the pitcher's mound is swallowed up by the earth, or whatever else might occur, all criteria involving whether that game will go under the 7 have been satisfied. Ain't nothing gonna happen to change that outcome!!! The game went over and will stay over from now until kingdom come. Now, if a guy bets over the total, that's different. He needs 9 (or 8½) innings for a legitimate decision.

    Another thing, I don't care if you deal with the stupidest bettors on the face of the earth. If the over and under on a baseball game was listed as 7, and the game ended 18-10 in the 6th inning due to rain, an office will have 32 bettors calling in who bet 'under 7' explaining to the poor clerks words to the effect, "Hey, this is #37 calling in to just make you aware that I bet that game 'under the 7' that ended up 18-10 because of the weather, and I just wanted to remind you guys that the game doesn't count because it didn't go 9 innings." To which he will hear, "Thanks, 37, for callin' and lettin' us know."

    Help me out baseball bettors.
Search
Collapse
SBR Contests
Collapse
Top-Rated US Sportsbooks
Collapse
Working...