hurricane1091
    hurricane1091's Avatar Become A Pro!
    Betpoints: 6469

When you start lifting I recommend you go 3 times a week M-W-F just to get started. Would do chest/tri, back/bi, legs/shoulders in that order for a few months doing 4 exercises were body part and 3-4 sets of 8-12 reps for each. Definitely do as much free-weight lifts as you can and don't neglect benching, leg press, etc. I'm far from an expert and I still drink beers and eat wings so I'll never be perfect but I've been done the path and have experienced things first hand in terms of what works and does not work and mistakes I made that I wish I hadn't. The most important thing for you right now is cardio and diet though which you seem to be doing well with. Good luck OP.

BIG
    BIG's Avatar Become A Pro!
    Betpoints: 151

Thanks man appreciate the info. I definitely dont wanna waste a shit load of time and effort doing the wrong things.

hurricane1091
    hurricane1091's Avatar Become A Pro!
    Betpoints: 6469

I feel ya. I was just happy to finally get myself in there and lifting weights but I was doing it wrong for awhile. I did not buy into the 1g of protein per target body weight thing and was taking in like 100g a day tops. I was not benching and was using mostly machines. Once I started taking 180-200g of protein and starting doing incline/decline/flat bench, and free weights for a lot of things I really started to see some results. Again I just wish I started while I was heavy. You don't need to worry about doing it now, you're doing a great job as it is. But you've already proven you can lose the weight so once you get to 300 lbs I'd start to consider adding in weights and continue to lose fat. You'll be a beast it's going to be awesome.

BIG

Quote Originally Posted by hurricane1091 View Post