marky85marky
    marky85marky's Avatar Become A Pro!

Winning percentages

I'm new to sport betting but from what I've read it seems like its possible to win long term. You need just 52.5% to break even which seems doable. Having said that, what sort of percentages have people seen long term? And I don't mean special plays that are released a few times per year. I'm sure it's possible to have a high % if you are very selective. But say if you were looking at having 2,000 plays per year, are there many people out there who can pick 55% plus?

BrianLaverty
    BrianLaverty's Avatar Become A Pro!

Very, very few

Hareeba!
    Hareeba!'s Avatar Become A Pro!
    Betpoints: 20525

Winning % is totally meaningless without being related to the odds you are getting.

I get nowhere near 50% strike rate but still make money.

indio
    indio's Avatar Become A Pro!
    Betpoints: 3954

Bankroll management is even more important. There are a lot of people who pick more even odds winners that losers who go broke constantly. That's why it's hard to be a winning gambler. You have to have the talent to recognize plays with an edge (and put the time in to research where needed), and have the discipline to religiously practice sound money management. Then if you are one of the few who can do both consistently, you have to maintain outlets where you can wager and collect your monies efficiently and hassle free. This is almost impossible in the United States unless you're properly connected.