milwaukee mike
    milwaukee mike's Avatar SBR PRO
    Betpoints: 7585

**milwaukee mike's free tax advice column

here's a winner for tonight (to keep this in player's talk where it belongs) - texas rangers-144

ok as some of you might know i am a cpa (for 17 years now).

since the board has been friendly and helpful lately, i thought i'd offer my services for simple questions/issues.

if you have a question about something tax-related throw it out here or give me a pm

acl123
    syndicate
    acl123's Avatar Become A Pro!

Is there a loop hole that allows me to cash out my 401K penalty free?

milwaukee mike

Quote Originally Posted by acl123 View Post
    Is there a loop hole that allows me to cash out my 401K penalty free?
    i assume you're under 59 1/2 years old, so there is not only an income tax on the withdrawal there is also a 10% early withdrawal penalty (and 3.33% wisconsin penalty here)

other than exclusions like first time homebuyer, medical expenses, college costs (and those have serious restrictions) the best way is to call it a series of periodic payments.

based on your life expectancy you can take out a portion each year penalty free. but you have to run the numbers based on life expectancy and take out the same amount each year.
    Points Awarded:

acl123 gave milwaukee mike 2 SBR Point(s) for this post.

milwaukee mike

the other alternative is to take out a 401k loan, in which you can get up to 50% of your retirement funds now, and then pay yourself back over time.
    that way it isn't subject to income tax OR penalty.

even if you avoid the penalty, it's often a really bad idea to take out retirement money. chances are, at retirement, there might be little or no taxes on the distributions.

acl123
    syndicate
    acl123's Avatar Become A Pro!

Quote Originally Posted by milwaukee mike View Post