makera
    makera's Avatar Become A Pro!
    Betpoints: 30

Horse racing betting question

Hi all! I bet on horses for the first time yesterday. I bet straight "WIN" bets, 2-3 horses in each race. One of my bets won in every race. So I thought, great, today is a profitable day!

I used MyBookie.ag. But when I checked my balance there, I saw that I lost slightly more than 1 unit. Obviously, I was surprised. So, I talked to their support and it turns out that if you win a bet, you don't get your stake back. Just the net difference. Their support's exact quote was:

"Horse betting is different, it is like the lottery, you buy a ticket to win a certain amount, but you do not get back what you paid for the ticket."

It seems very strange to me. Is it the way it really works? If yes, what's the point risking betting on horses with such small returns? Or I don't understand something. I'm new to horse betting. Your help will be much appreciated!
    Last edited by makera; 08-24-20 at 12:50 PM.

littlekona
    littlekona's Avatar Become A Pro!
    Betpoints: 5828

The CS Agent is an Idiot as most 1st line CS reps are. On win bets you know pretty close to what your getting back based on the odds. You do also ALWAYS on WIN PLACE SHOW bets get back at a min what you paid for the individual win bet as $2.10 is the min return on any bet $2 Wager. The Issue is your betting 2-3 horses win per race and it seems you caught the low priced favorite every time. So if you bet 3 horse $2 each for $6 total and catch the $4 winning favorite in every race you losing. My advise is if you are betting 2-3 horses a race make sure they are at least 2-1 odds + so you break even if that one wins.

Go Check out the horse posts as there are few really good horse players that post picks at SBR. ALSO one last word of advise STAY FAR WAY FROM MYBOOKIE they are trash book. Use BOL Heritage or Bookmaker they are all 100 times better

makera

Quote Originally Posted by littlekona View Post