Tbone7678
    Tbone7678's Avatar Become A Pro!
    Betpoints: 400

Paying Uncle Sam??

I am fairly new to betting offshore. I have been "lucky" the past two months, I have received check/paper payouts the past two months of low 4 figures for each check. I actually want to cash out again this month of another low 4 figure amount. My question is, with 3, 4 figure payouts in the past 3 months does anyone have advice on what I should do about Uncle Sam's share. If I do pay the 30% do I report it as sports betting, or do I just not report it? I am worried that cashing 3 months in a row throw up a red flag. Please give me advice.

TR88
    TR88's Avatar Become A Pro!

No idea

I have never bet real money

betpoints all I bet

chemicalbrother
    Under the Influence
    chemicalbrother's Avatar Become A Pro!

anyone that tells you to not pay taxes is wrong.

if you've cashed out 3 months in a row for low 4-figures, report it and pay your taxes.

BrickJames
    Action
    BrickJames's Avatar SBR PRO
    Betpoints: 8914

You need a federal tax id #. Just close your eyes and pay. Then you will be in the clear.

Tbone7678
    Tbone7678's Avatar Become A Pro!
    Betpoints: 400

Thanks for the advice.

BrickJames- I do have a federal tax id # so I will go that route. Thanks again for the advice.

Is it 30% I should pay??

milwaukee mike
    milwaukee mike's Avatar SBR PRO
    Betpoints: 7585

the income gets added to your income on your annual 1040 tax return and state tax return. losses get reported up to winnings on schedule a of the federal return (if you itemize).

you don't just "pay in" a flat amount.

i really really really hope you aren't doing your own taxes if you have to ask a simple question like this.

Monitor-Tan
    Tony Romo of Daily Fantasy
    Monitor-Tan's Avatar Become A Pro!
    Betpoints: 428