mikmak
    mikmak's Avatar Become A Pro!
    Betpoints: 239

I'm looking for a resource to really take my capping to a new level

Hi all. I'm new to SBR. I've been doing a bit of lurking the past couple days and it seems like we have some very knowledgeable people on the board. I'm a casual bettor for the most part. I usually come out ahead on the year but I am very much a feel bettor that also relies on statistical mismatches and situation plays. I play NFL, CFB, and CBB and win at a 52-53% clip normally with some good seasons and some not so good seasons. So basically, I win enough of the time to have the vig eat up most of my potential profits. I'm not necessarily looking to quit my job and cap full time but I don't mind putting in the work to be a better player.

What I'm looking for is some type of tutorial to get me started in coming up with a power rating system for teams and then apply that to a system to handicap my lines ahead of time as apposed to looking at my book's lines and doing my reactionary analysis from there. I'm not a math genius but I'm a computer tech and am certainly good with math and I'm not afraid of learning knew things. I just don't know where to start and I want to do this "the right way", if there is such a thing.

Any input from some of the veterans to help this casual bettor become more of an intermediate capper and possibly a sharp at some point down the road would be greatly appreciated.

statnerds
    Put me in coach
    statnerds's Avatar Become A Pro!
    Betpoints: 103

1. welcome to SBR

2. you need to decide which camp you are in. i am in the camp that subscribes to EMT. Efficient Market Theory. Basically just about 100% of knowable information about an event (any game) is known and baked into the price. Everyone has access to the same information you do. Unless you are going to use a novel or unique approach, you are wasting time trying to cap games.

3. i love your approach of seeking to get better.

GL

SBR Annie