RickJ
    RickJ's Avatar Become A Pro!
    Betpoints: 66

College basketball theory

I have been on this forum posting picks for about 3 years now but as some of you might know I have been running a blog for about 4 years now putting out daily picks. All have been free since I do this merely as a hobby.

I would like to get some feed back from all of you regarding my response to this email I posted on my blog this morning. I know there are some top handicappers here and always looking to get some insights.

Here is what I posted this morning------

I received the following email yesterday :

"Can you help me understand your logic behind the Wright State Pick. I am a fairly serious winning small stakes CBB player and I am interested in your methodology if you would be willing to share."

My Response:

I really wont divulge my exact methods but can make the following comments:

This is the first year I have been playing college baskets using this method. There are so far then only 96 plays and we are hitting 63.5%. Statisically it means very little. Once we get up to 1000 plays then maybe the numbers start meaning something and at 5000 you will get a pretty good idea how valid the method is.

So with that caveat this is the first season I have completely ignored what the public is doing in ncaa baskets and also have eliminated short dogs from consideration no matter how good they look to me. A short dog as I define it is +1.5 to +6.5. With the nature of the scoring in the end game a pick that is a short dog to win has to end up with things going perfect for you at the end of the game.