RMStanley
    RMStanley's Avatar Become A Pro!
    Betpoints: 114

Real Time Exercise: SHOULD I HEDGE (MEM @ WAS)??? Your input is requested!!!

I struggle with this concept…. At halftime it's Memphis 50, Washington 45.

I have Grizzlies -1.5 for $1500 to win $1354

If I have an opinion on the 2nd half, it's that it ends EVEN and Grizzlies win by 5 by a score of 100-95.

2H lines are up and it's a PICKEM.

GRIZZLIES 2H is 0 and WIZARDS 2H is 0.

I have an MBA (but I'm in sales so it's not like I'm good at cost/benefits) and I can't figure this out. If I'm long-term player, should I hedge? And if so… by how much?

RMStanley

Is there a site or a tool that you can use to run these scenarios? If not why doesn't somebody make one?

RMStanley

wow - god forbid we have meaningful discussion and try to learn something.

Git Lo
    Git Lo's Avatar SBR PRO
    Betpoints: 13401

If you think it could come down to the last possession and it very well can, Wizards are actually pretty decent, then hedge. You should ditch using terms like long-term short term for individual games where you are not, imo, guaranteed an opportunity to hedge. It looks like you are given an opportunity to hedge. You can choose Wizards straight up, Memphis could only win by 1 and you could win the Wizards bet but lose the original Grizzlies bet.

Git Lo
    Git Lo's Avatar SBR PRO

You could also win both as well, Memphis wins by 2 but Wizards score more points in the 2nd half (very tight spread and hard to hit but seems like its worth it.)
    IE
    Right now its Grizzlies 50 Wizards 45
    Score ends Grizzlies 100 Wizards 98
    2nd Grizzlies score 50 Wizards score 54 (you win both)

You need to verify this though but I believe this is how 2nd halves work. but this seems like a possible scenario.

RMStanley

Quote Originally Posted by Git Lo View Post