dude_bg
    dude_bg's Avatar Become A Pro!
    Betpoints: 190

Creating betting models?

I have been following NBA for many years (i do have bit over the average knowledge) This is my first year betting basketball. I saw a lot of people having betting models they follow. I would be happy for any hints how to make one and back test it in someway. I am not expecting someone to reveal his secrets, but i would appreciate any guidance

demens
    Square -910
    demens's Avatar Become A Pro!
    Betpoints: 1258

Yeah, good luck with that. Noone wants to share shit around here. Plus there aren't too many that are even worth listening too in the NBA section. You're better off searching through the thinkthank section.

dude_bg

Quote Originally Posted by demens View Post
    Yeah, good luck with that. Noone wants to share shit around here. Plus there aren't too many that are even worth listening too in the NBA section. You're better off searching through the thinkthank section.
    Thanks for this, this section seems very useful.

demens
    Square -910

Quote Originally Posted by dude_bg View Post
    You might want to check this link out for some ideas.
    http://www.rawbw.com/~deano/methdesc.htm

Lots of people recommend the book in the SBR Store too.

ManBearPig
    ManBearPig's Avatar Become A Pro!

There's no easy way but step 1 is figure out what to store and how to store it. Depending on your skill level this could be a database or a simple excel SS.

From there you start by trying to form some type of hypothesis and then try to break it. I recently came across this post and it is an approach that I've been trying stick to and this best best sums it up.