TU
    TU's Avatar Become A Pro!
    Betpoints: 42

Books to assist with building models

Everyone,
    I'm just getting started with attempting to build models for handicapping. I just got the following books:

Conquering Risk
    Basketball on Paper
    Weighing the odds in Sports Betting
    Mathletics

I was curious if there were any other books that you guys would recommend. Thanks a bunch.

Justin7
    Justin7's Avatar Become A Pro!
    Betpoints: 1506

If you're looking at baseball, "The Book" (Tango/Lichtman/Dolphin) has a lot of interesting info. It basically tells you how to build a live-betting spreadsheet for in-game MLB betting.

I hope you enjoy Conquering Risk

TU

Quote Originally Posted by Justin7 View Post
    If you're looking at baseball, "The Book" (Tango/Lichtman/Dolphin) has a lot of interesting info. It basically tells you how to build a live-betting spreadsheet for in-game MLB betting.

Thanks. I will order that one too. I'm more into basketball but was curious about baseball. I'm not sure I want to deal with football.

Conquering Risk is the one that seems the most interesting so far. Just getting into the modeling section. It's exciting looking into this even though some of it seems confusing. I have a finance degree so some of it comes easy but seeing some of the formulas you guys throw around in here is troubling. I guess I just have more time to spend to catch up.

Thanks.

CaptainHindsight
    CaptainHindsight's Avatar Become A Pro!

Hey Justin - saw your review on amazon for Mathletics. Is there enough handicapping/modeling info in there to make it a purchase for those wanting to use it strictly for wagering? I'd imagine most info is found in other books (like Conquering Risk).

Justin7

Quote Originally Posted by CaptainHindsight View Post