jbrent95
    jbrent95's Avatar Become A Pro!
    Betpoints: 1450

Any advice for a mySQL newb?

I've decided to take the time and put in the effort to learn some mySQL and mySQL Workbench basics. Co you have any advice as to how to get started, or can you recommend a tutorial or reference?

I've started with a copy of Baseball Hacks and a beginning mySQL reference book, but I don't seem to be getting very far.

splash
    splash's Avatar Become A Pro!

What are you trying to do with it? I started learning about 6 months ago. I'm lucky in that I see real life practical applications of MSSQL at work, so that helps. The best way to learn is to build or get a hold of a database and practice pulling the data you need.
    Points Awarded:

jbrent95 gave splash 2 SBR Point(s) for this post.

jgilmartin
    jgilmartin's Avatar Become A Pro!

Quote Originally Posted by splash View Post
    The best way to learn is to build or get a hold of a database and practice pulling the data you need.
    This. It is a little bit confusing at first, but what I did was first did the actual database creation (i.e. setting up the table and fields) using phpmyadmin. Then, I read and followed the tutorial at http://www.tizag.com/mysqlTutorial/ to learn how to connect to the database. From there I just looked up whatever I wanted to do in the Tizag tutorial.

Two resources that helped a lot:
    http://www.pantz.org/software/mysql/mysqlcommands.html - Has some more advanced code examples
    http://csv2sql.evandavey.com/ - Converts a CSV file into SQL statements
    Points Awarded:

jbrent95 gave jgilmartin 10 SBR Point(s) for this post.

Optional
    Optional's Avatar Moderator
    Betpoints: 9216

There are about 50 self paced free training courses here: scriptschool.com

Got me started from zero knowledge to creating php/mysql database driven websites in no time.
    Points Awarded:

jbrent95 gave Optional 10 SBR Point(s) for this post.

Flight
    Update your status