dmm
    dmm's Avatar Become A Pro!
    Betpoints: 4116

How many people use code in betting?

Just wondering how many posters here use code in their betting process. Either for modeling/statistics, scraping, placing bets automatically, etc. My background is programming and software, so I tend to view sports betting as a math/code problem.

semibluff
    Thanks for all the fish.
    semibluff's Avatar Become A Pro!
    Betpoints: 18989

I'm not 'technical' enough to scrape odds. I still copy/paste odds from several sites onto Excel sheets. I'm proficient enough to write formulae into Excel so it'll reproduce the data in horizontal or box layouts rather than vertical lines of data. I can also write formulae to convert the data proportionally or as needed. For example a soccer match with a 105% book price on the 1, X, 2 outright might have a 126% book on correct scores for the 3 outcomes. Theoretically books should have the total percentage for correct score outcomes on 1 at 120% of their 105% book price. For example a home team with a 50% chance would have a 52.5% as an outright on a 105% book. Converting that to correct scores should see that 52.5% become 63% on the higher juice correct score book price. However, books always have more juice on the correct scores for the underdog so the original 50% favourite might only show at 58% on the correct score market. It can be useful to re-adjust odds back into proportional alignment for scores, totals, and handicap purposes. I've written formulae and screen layouts on Excel to do that. That's about as far as my 'coding' skills go.

KVB
    It's not what they bring...
    KVB's Avatar SBR PRO
    Betpoints: 7576

We've been trying to evolve into more of a machine learning environment.

It's the next step or evolution in modeling. It's always so static though, and so massaging the stats and inputs to account for a more dynamic market environment is what I bring to the table.

Always learning though, we never know enough.