BigdaddyQH
    BigdaddyQH
    BigdaddyQH's Avatar Become A Pro!
    Betpoints: 8638

Is USC's HC Helton In Trouble?

Let me start by saying that I am a USC fan and grad. Having said that there is absolutely no excuse for that total embarassment and lack of effort they put up against Alabama. Sure 'Bama is the defending champions and loaded again, but they simply are not that good. USC gave up.

Now I understand that this is just game 1, but a disturbing trend has developed. Since Clay Helton was named "Head Coach", shaking the "interim" label, USC has lost three straight games. For the players in here, they have now failed to cover 5 out of their last 6 games.

Now here is the main rason why Helton is in hot water, whether he knows it or not. Former Athletic Director Pat Haden appointed Helton to the job. He "hired" him if you will. Rumor control said that Haden was not in good health and just wanted to get the Head Coaching situation resolved as soon as he could. He really did not look for anyone else. Helton's problem is that Haden is no longer the A.D. Lynn Swan is the USC AD now and he has absolutely no reason to give Helton another season if USC does not improve in a major hurry and challenge for the Pac 12 title. USC still has games at Stanford and Washington, and at home against Oregon not to mention playing the entire Pac 12 West and closing out the season at home against Notre Dame. It will take a major miracle for USC to survive the rest of their schedule without at least 3 more losses. 8-4 does not cut it at USC.

Next season USC hosts Western Michigan and Texas in weeks one and three. A conference away game splits those two games. They go to Notre Dame, but get Stanford and UCLA at home. They swap Oregon and Washington for Oregon State and Washington State. Now that is a schedule that a new HC can really sink his teeth into, especially with a seasoned QB.

Seattle Slew
    Seattle Slew's Avatar SBR PRO
    Betpoints: 9450