alpha968
    alpha968's Avatar Become A Pro!

Thoughts on a betting strategy to those mathematically inclined

Firstly, my apologies to those of you that are advanced bettors - I'm sure this is fairly basic as things go. I'm still relatively new to betting and I'd like to get your opinion on it.

I frequently notice a pretty large disparity (3-5 points) in where the spread starts (generally on Monday mornings) and where the spread ends up (usually right before game time). For instance, imagine the following hypothetical Stanford v USC scenario :

Stanford is -1 on Monday morning - and I buy in with $110 dollars (the book I use pays out $100 for a $110 bet)
    However, before game time Stanford has moved to -4.5, and I place an equivalent $110 bet for USC (at +4.5)

So if Stanford wins by more than 1 or USC loses by less than 4.5, I make a $10 loss. However, if Stanford wins by between 1 and 4.5, I make a $200 profit. Mathematically speaking, if there is a greater than 5% chance of that occurring, that is a bet I should make. Correct?

Is that line of reasoning accurate? And if so, do you guys know of any way I could go about modeling what the likelihood is of a score falling within a particular range?

Thanks and apologies if I'm making an extremely elementary mistake.

BettingWizard
    BettingWizard's Avatar Become A Pro!
    Betpoints: 102

3 and 4 are key numbers so yeah you would profit in the long run. Even if it was just +3.5 you would still have a nice edge

dozer
    dozer's Avatar Become A Pro!

not a bad way of betting.....will never lose a lot really, and when you win you double up, but those wins may only happen a few times a month....... basically if can hit 1/20 games like this you will be ahead.......definately doable.....just wont win/lose much over a years time. maybe a good way to bet for degens or those that blow.

BernardMadoff
    Sam Hurd +3000
    BernardMadoff's Avatar Become A Pro!
    Betpoints: 280