cschoeny
    cschoeny's Avatar Become A Pro!

Newbie Questions for MMA Betting

Hey guys,

So I'm new to betting online and UFC on Fuel TV 1 will be my first time. I have a few questions.

1) Obviously the odds makers have a much more difficult time predicting the fights than an NBA game, and thus the lines move a lot leading up to a fight. I'm having extreme difficulty predicting which way the lines will move. And I'm wondering if in general it is better to bet on a fight early or wait until the day of and get reduced lines at 5dimes.

For example, right now at 5Dimes Struve is at +120, and I have no idea how much or which way the line will move before the fight. If the line is +120 heading into fight day, how much will the reduced juice increase it? +130 perhaps? If it is something small like this it doesn't seem like waiting is worth it.

2) In your personal experience, does a large move in a line from the opening odds to fight night odds mean that the odds makers initial line was off, or that it's possible to get a really good deal come fight day. For instance, Aaron Simpson started off at -185 and is now at -120, obviously most of the action has been placed against him, but were the odds makers really that far off to begin with?

3) How long before the fights are the other main card fights put up. I'm wondering when I can expect the initial odds for UFC 144 besides the 2 main events.

Thanks for any responses.

ddream1
    ddream1's Avatar Become A Pro!