snakedrew
    snakedrew's Avatar Become A Pro!
    Betpoints: 66

Australian Gambling Off Shore Online

As an Australian gambling with an Australia book (Sportsbet), I understand Australians don't pay tax on any winnings. A real bonus no? Which again, from what I understand you US guys have trouble trying to skirt?

I'm getting more serious and looking for a serious book. Either 5dimes or Pinny and just wondering what the play is when (if haha) winnings get withdrawn, as the book is off shore will I have to claim tax on that? Or because I'm an Australia resident it's all cool? Because Australian books from my experience (Betfair AU & Sportsbet) pay out reasonably quickly and with no trouble at all, but dealing with an offshore book has me sweating a bit. Any insight here would be much appreciated chaps.

Hareeba!
    Hareeba!'s Avatar Become A Pro!
    Betpoints: 20580

Quote Originally Posted by snakedrew View Post
    As an Australian gambling with an Australia book (Sportsbet), I understand Australians don't pay tax on any winnings. A real bonus no? Which again, from what I understand you US guys have trouble trying to skirt?

I'm getting more serious and looking for a serious book. Either 5dimes or Pinny and just wondering what the play is when (if haha) winnings get withdrawn, as the book is off shore will I have to claim tax on that? Or because I'm an Australia resident it's all cool? Because Australian books from my experience (Betfair AU & Sportsbet) pay out reasonably quickly and with no trouble at all, but dealing with an offshore book has me sweating a bit. Any insight here would be much appreciated chaps.
    No problems at all on the tax front if you're Australian unless you're classified as a professional gambler which is extremely unlikely. In any event it's not up to the online bookmakers to get involved. It remains strictly an issue between you and the ATO.