SportsPedagogy
    SportsPedagogy's Avatar Become A Pro!
    Betpoints: 266

England/Belgium Both Teams to Score -192

I was looking at previous championships and third places matches in world cup history and noticed that the championships tend to end in low scoring draws and the third places matches tend to be high scoring. I am no soccer expert but I imagine thats because players dont try too hard in the third place match. That being said, a quick history of the third place match:

2014: Netherlands 3-0 Brazil
    2010: Uruguay 2-3 Germany
    2006: Germany 3-1 Portugal
    2002: South Korea 2-3 Turkey
    1998: Holland 1-2 Croatia
    1994: Sweden 4-0 Bulgaria
    1990: Italy 2-1 England
    1986: Belgium 2-4 France
    1982 - Poland 3-2 France
    1978 - Brazil 2-1 Italy
    1974 - Brazil 0-1 Poland
    1970 - Uruguay 0-1 Germany
    1966 - Portugal 2-1 Soviet Union
    1962 - Chile 1-0 Yugoslavia
    1958 - West Germany 3-6 France
    1954 - Uruguay 1-3 Austria
    1938 - Sweden 2-4 Brazil
    1934 - Germany 3-2 Austria

Interesting to note, English Striker Harry Kane has 6 goals and Belgium Striker Romelu Lukaku has 4 goals, putting them at the top of the leader board to win the gold boot. It looks like its Kanes to lose, but if Lukaku scores first, it could become very interesting.

I am interested in what the people who follow national soccer a lot more than me have to think.

FootyPicks1
    As He Faced The Sun He Cast No Shadow
    FootyPicks1's Avatar Become A Pro!
    Betpoints: 969

I’d personally wait for the line ups, some over here in England believe Harry Kane was injured during the Croatia game, it should be high scoring, being a meaningless game but like I said, I’d wait for team news.

SportsPedagogy

Quote Originally Posted by FootyPicks1 View Post