ThePhenom00
    ThePhenom00's Avatar Become A Pro!

best book to read for beginner poker player

I am new at poker and am curious what book you recommend for a beginning poker player wanting to learn to play no limit texas holdem

mrmarket
    Update your status
    mrmarket's Avatar Become A Pro!

Getting Started in Hold'em by Ed Miller.

Anything else pales in comparison.

mikemca
    Update Status
    mikemca's Avatar Become A Pro!
    Betpoints: 98

Harrington on Hold Em is the consensus choice for learning NLHE Tournament strategy.It is where the Green,Yellow,and Red zone theory originated and is a strategy most successful tournament players employ.Basically its how many blinds you have relative to the tournament structure dictate what hands you should play by which zone you fall in.
    However I would recommend a poker coach because a book just can't give you the tools for your specific personality.

OTL
    OTL's Avatar Become A Pro!
    Betpoints: 5277

I like Brunson's Super System. Other books teach players to play ABC poker, which may be fine for grinding out micro-limits online, but you're going to get robbed blind by the more advanced players once you start playing at higher stakes.

shady610
    shady610's Avatar Become A Pro!
    Betpoints: 8603

phil helmuth. play poker like the pros...

it was good for me because it didnt focus and straiight strategy as much as it did style. it takes different styles and identifys them.

Congruency
    Congruency's Avatar Become A Pro!

sklansky: no limit holdem theory and practice

a bit hard to read since all sklansky books are like that but i do think this is your best option, GL

Kaladarus
    Kaladarus's Avatar Become A Pro!

Quote Originally Posted by mikemca View Post