samdapatriotsfan
    samdapatriotsfan's Avatar Become A Pro!
    Betpoints: 1040

Got laid off yesterday...what do I do?

I am a technical support engineer with over 11 years of experience and, surprise, my director called me in yesterday to tell me that my position is being moved to India. This is not the first time this has happened to me but hopefully it will be the last. They offered me a small severance if I sign a disclosure saying that I will not sue them...for any reason.

This has piqued my interest. Why would I have to sign something saying I will not sue? What are they worried about? I have never been asked to sign anything like this before. I kind of think it may have something to do with the fact that I am the only black man in the company. But I hate playing the race card so I have to believe that is not it. However I am failing to see any other reasons for asking me to sign such a document.

I have until the beginning of February to sign or reject the offer.

Any ideas/advice on what they may be getting at or why they would ask me to sign this?

William Walters
    William Walters's Avatar Become A Pro!
    Betpoints: 233

Great.........yet another toll free customer service number where I can't understand a motha-fukkin thing they are saying to me!

Tough break pal. Can't offer up any good advice..........never been down that road.

dom75
    dom75's Avatar Become A Pro!
    Betpoints: 511

I would reject the offer. I have been laidoff twice by the same company and will soon be laidoff again in a month or two. It is my understanding that if you take the severance pay then you can not get unemployment benefits. Look into it deeper as I am not completely sure.

EmpireMaker
    EmpireMaker's Avatar SBR PRO
    Betpoints: 669

consult a lawyer
    clearly they weren't thinking about you when they decided to move your job to India
    do what's best for you
    Nomination(s):