ohdear
    ohdear's Avatar Become A Pro!

Blindly beating the closing number = profitable?

I'm new to sports betting and before I signed up with 5Dimes, I tinkered around with *********s..

The unique thing about this site is that they let you cancel your bets after you make them, as long as it is before the game has started. This allows the bettor to always beat the closing number.

For instance, you grab Philly at -4 on Tuesday, and by Sunday they are -3. You can cancel your Philly -4 and switch to -3 Philly.

Another example would be grabbing Philly at -4 on Tuesday, and by Sunday they are -5. You hold on to your Philly -4 and beat the closing number.

My question is, if you did this with...say...20 games per day, and beat the closing number, would you make a profit in the long run even if you had NO clue about the teams you're betting on?

I couldn't name you one player on Georgia Tech's basketball team, but if I have them at +12.5 and by game-time they are +11, will I profit long-term?
    Last edited by SBR Lou; 01-12-09 at 09:29 PM. Reason: removed cent sports link

Vesuvius
    Vesuvius's Avatar Become A Pro!
    Betpoints: 78

Of course you would but what's the catch?

What is this cent sports?

Vesuvius
    Vesuvius's Avatar Become A Pro!
    Betpoints: 78

haha I just read about cent sports, very funny...no wonder no one uses it.

in conclusion, no REAL book will let you cancel your bet.

ohdear
    ohdear's Avatar Become A Pro!

yeah it's obviously not for serious bettors or anything, but once you get a decent balance you can win $10 per game.

in THEORY, if you were to bet 25-30 games a day, even betting $11 to win $10 on every bet would give a decent profit over the long run if you can beat the closing number by a point or so i think?

LT Profits
    LT Profits's Avatar Become A Pro!
    Betpoints: 5179