tukkk
    ★★★★★
    tukkk's Avatar Become A Pro!

Simplish math problem calculating stdev in a dice game

Im not good at math, I need your help to improve a bit.

So this morning i thought id try my memory a bit and think of a simple game to calculate some simpler things like edge, kelly, ev, eg, and sigma .

So i thought of an unfair dice game:
    - even odds are offered
    - i win if i roll a 3 or 4 or 5 or 6
    - i lose if i roll a 1 or 2

And i thought of getting the most money out of it obv
    ---
    I got the things i wanted quick and solid :
    -edge 33.(3)%
    -kelly 33.(3)%
    -EV 11.(1)%
    -EG 5.83%
    -variance 88.(8)%
    -sigma 94.28%
    ---
    But then i thought of the game for 100 samples and when Im thinking of sigma, there appears to be a small problem for me :

expected return(n=100) = 1.0583^100 = ~289%
    sigma(n=100) = squareroot(100) x sigma = 942.8% yes, but when i start thinking moneywise, i get stuck :

After 100 dice rolls the bankroll should be 289 units give or take 1 stdev of ???
    The problem is how do I compute the mean bet size?

tukkk
    ★★★★★

To be correct, the expected return 289x which is 28900% to be exact.

But the question still is : how do i calculate bet size in variance/standard deviation formulas, when im dealing with kelly betting in this dice game

ws
    ws's Avatar Become A Pro!

Quote Originally Posted by tukkk View Post
    To be correct, the expected return 289x which is 28900% to be exact.

But the question still is : how do i calculate bet size in variance/standard deviation formulas, when im dealing with kelly betting in this dice game
    I think it's easier to think in terms of the logarithm of your bankroll.
    Let v(k) denote your bankroll after the k-th bet and v(0) your starting capital.
    Since you're betting 1/3 of your bankroll, v(k+1)=v(k)(1 - 1/3 + X_k * 2/3), where X_k ~ Bern(2/3)
    In terms of logarithms you get ln[v(k+1)]-ln[v(k)] = ln(1 - 1/3 + X_k*2/3)