No coincidences
    Baseball at The Corner
    No coincidences's Avatar Become A Pro!
    Betpoints: 16541

My take on the World Series

I'm no expert gambler or analyst. This is just my opinion on the World Series matchup -- take it or leave it.

I have a lot of respect for San Francisco as a Tiger fan. They do a lot of the little things that Detroit doesn't: manufacture runs, play small ball when necessary, and their bullpen is outstanding. The Tigers have a big offensive edge, and if there's a starting staff better than the Giants' right now, it's Detroit's. Just outstanding pitching matchups across the board in this one. Two best starting staffs in baseball.

I don't see Detroit winning in a runaway like some people seem to be assuming. The Tigers are incredibly talented on paper, but they are inconsistent defensively, on the basepaths and in the bullpen. Bochy is an outstanding manager -- arguably the best in the game today -- and he'll find a way to nickel and dime the Tigers when necessary. I don't assume the time off is helping Detroit either; it didn't in '06 and I hope the momentum isn't sucked out of their clubhouse in similar fashion here. Rest is great, but I'm not convinced basically a full week off benefits them much.

Bottom line: I think Detroit holds a strong edge offensively, and a slight edge with starting pitching (mostly because Lincecum is a shell of his former self now). Bullpen and defense go to SF (bullpen big-time). Managerial edge to the Giants, though not huge. Baserunning and small-ball tactics in SF's corner.

Series seems like a toss-up to me; this was the matchup I wanted to see from an objective standpoint, but speaking as a fan, the Tigers would've been better off against the Cardinals.

CollegeOverUnder
    DJ COOPER
    CollegeOverUnder's Avatar Become A Pro!
    Betpoints: 217