A's Fan
    A's Fan's Avatar Become A Pro!
    Betpoints: 72

betting nfl pinnacle lines, but with 5% back on losses=+ev?

quick question, i figure someone is math savvy enough to figure out this simple question I have. I have the oppurtunity to bet using pinnacle nfl lines ( so 8 cent lines) -104/-104 etc, however if i am a loser on the week I get back 5% of losses. Would this make all of wagers have an expected value of +1%, if not what is my ev here?

Points awarded for the answer thanks.

subs
    subs's Avatar Become A Pro!
    Betpoints: 969

hi - ok i am no expert at all, but if you are betting -104 on a 50% outcome:

50% of the time you will win 100 and 50% you will lose 104 so for every 100 you bet you expect to lose $2 (not $4).

so if you bet $1000 you should lose $20. you get back 5% of this that will be $1. so no you will be $19 down. you get a 5% rebate on loses NOT on total amount wagered.

sorry buddy. go to politics sub forum, find the charity thread and donate the points there.
    Last edited by subs; 12-04-10 at 05:06 AM.

A's Fan

thanks, donation made to charity thread, can anyone else confirm/deny above is correct

A's Fan

the poster "takeit" responded to me with this, so now Im really unsure, anyone else know for sure one way or another?

"let's take a look at it the long way.

if you made 100 bets at $100 per bet at -104, just flipping a coin you'd expect to win 50 of them and lose 50 of them. so after 100 bets you'd win $5000 (50 x $100) and lose $5200 (50 x -$104) for a net loss of -$200. you wagered $10,400.

if you get back 5% of your losses (including juice?) then you'd get back $260. so it looks like you'd be up $60 over 100 wagers for a net profit of 60c per wager. .60c/$104=.00576% or a little over 1/2 of 1% positive ev."

Jontheman
    Jontheman's Avatar Become A Pro!
    Betpoints: 4073