Login Search

John Morrison 2013-14 NBA Thread

Last Post

Quote Originally Posted by Maxi_EV View Post
Hey tonywayne

Can't handle downswings?
Get a regular job!

Or go back to school to study some simple maths. You might learn interesting things about probabilities, ROI, expected value, VARIANCE, standard deviation, LONG TERM expectations & Risk of Ruin.

Good Luck!
I'm a professional accountant and statistical analyst. I'm not questioning the "stats" of any of the systems in this thread. The betting & the systems are at least consistent in their picks. My issue is with the blind scheduling of the JM system, and with the results of the Wallco system. I think some simple tweaks are in order - EVERY system can use a little nudging from time to time to make sure it's keeping up with the game & the books.

You want to talk risk of ruin? What would these guys do if Vegas decided to start moving spreads by 1 1/2 points because they were losing too many games? With a blind system (JM), as a bettor, you end up ruined because you didn't recognize the shift and make the necessary adjustment. Wallco's & others reactions tell me they have far too much pride/ego to actually do anything about losing money. They will shrug, soldier on, and keep citing a 10+ year average. Smart & sharp bettors make adjustments. Plain & simple.

Who said I'm on a downswing? I'm following these threads, not currently betting these systems. Chase systems, especially, interest me. I just wanted to have some dialogue to find out if anyone is actually at the wheel or not. It doesn't sound like it.

Quote Originally Posted by tonywayne View Post